23. ilb 06. - 16.09.2023

Jay Bernard

Jay Bernard was born in the London Borough of Croydon in 1988. They appeared at BFI Flare and the London LGBTQ film festival as a film programmer and also worked at the research library and archive of the Statewatch civil liberties agency.

Jay Bernard’s first collection of poems »Surge« [2019] is based on the so-called New Cross Fire events: On January 18, 1981, thirteen Black teenagers died at a birthday party when a fire engulfed the house at 439 New Cross Road in southeast London. The cause of the fire was never properly investigated. Jay Bernard seizes upon this incident to tell of the long history of racism in Britain that eventually led to protests against police discrimination. To examine the tension between public narrative and private truths, they also explored the archives of the George Padmore Institute for the background on the Grenfell Tower fire tragedy, the Windrush scandal, and Brexit. The archival content is bolstered by questions of origin and belonging, and the categorization into national, local, and ethnic identities that, combined with violence, make being at home impossible. In addition, some poems in the collection reference Black Diaspora scholars such as C. L. R. James, Édouard Glissant, and Aimé Césaire and their transatlantic discourse on racism. Later on, the motifs of eroticism and sexuality emerge, and the first-person narrator experiences increasing self-awareness and liberates themself to become a self-aware individual: »I am from here, I am specific to this place, I am haunted by this history but I also haunt it back.«

The poetry collection was nominated for the 2019 T. S. Eliot Prize, the 2019 Costa Poetry Award, the 2020 Dylan Thomas Prize, and the 2020 RSL Ondaatje Prize, and won the 2020 Sunday Times Young Writer of the Year Award. In their previous publications, the interdisciplinary discourses »Your Sign is Cuckoo, Girl« [2008] and »English Breakfast« [2013], Jay Bernard addresses LGBT identities. »The Red and Yellow Nothing« [2016], a retelling of the story of Sir Morien, a Black Knight of the Round Table, was nominated for the Ted Hughes Award.

Jay Bernard’s short film »Something Said« was screened internationally and won the Best Experimental and Best Queer Short Film awards respectively at the Leeds International Film Festival. Among other awards, Jay Bernard received the 2017 Ted Hughes Award for New Poetry for the multimedia performance piece »Surge: Side A«. In 2018, they were elected a Fellow of the Royal Society of Literature. Jay Bernard lives in London and will be a guest of the DAAD Artists’ Programme in 2022.

23. ilb 06. – 16.09.2023

Jay Bernard

Portrait Jay Bernard
Jay Bernard [© Lemn Sissay]

Jay Bernard wurde 1988 im Londoner Bezirk Croydon geboren. Als Filmkurator:in war xier bei BFI Flare, dem Londoner LGBTQ-Filmfestival, tätig und arbeitete zudem bei der Forschungsbibliothek und dem Archiv der Bürgerrechtsagentur Statewatch.

Jay Bernards erste Gedichtsammlung »Surge« [2019; Ü: Schwall] basiert auf den sogenannten New-Cross-Fire-Ereignissen: Am 18. Januar 1981 kamen dreizehn Schwarze Teenager bei einer Geburtstagsparty ums Leben, als ein Brand das Haus in der New Cross Road 439 im Südosten Londons erfasste. Die Brandursache wurde nie richtig aufgeklärt. Jay Bernard griff diesen Vorfall auf, um von der langen Geschichte des Rassismus in Großbritannien zu erzählen, die schließlich in Proteste gegen die Diskriminierung der Polizei mündeten. Um den Spannungsbogen zwischen öffentlichem Narrativ und privaten Wahrheiten auszuloten, forschte xier zudem im Archiv des George Padmore Institute nach den Hintergründen der Brandtragödie des Grenfell Tower, des Windrush-Skandals und des Brexit. Die Ebene der Archivinhalte wird erweitert durch Fragen nach Herkunft und Zugehörigkeit sowie der Kategorisierung in nationale, lokale und ethnische Identitäten, die in Kombination mit Gewalt ein Zuhausesein unmöglich machen. Darüber hinaus nehmen einige Gedichte der Sammlung Bezug auf Denker der Schwarzen Diaspora wie C. L. R. James, Édouard Glissant und Aimé Césaire und ihren transatlantischen Diskurs über Fragen des Rassismus. Später tauchen die Motive Erotik und Sexualität auf, und das lyrische Ich erfährt eine zunehmende Selbstdefinition und befreit sich zum selbstbewussten Individuum: »I am from here, I am specific to this place, I am haunted by this history but I also haunt it back.«

Der Gedichtband war nominiert für den T. S. Eliot Prize 2019, den Costa Poetry Award 2019, den Dylan Thomas Prize 2020 und den RSL Ondaatje Prize 2020 und wurde ausgezeichnet mit dem Sunday Times Young Writer of the Year Award 2020. In xies vorangegangenen Publikationen, den interdisziplinären Streitschriften »Your Sign is Cuckoo, Girl« [2008] und »English Breakfast« [2013] widmete sich Jay Bernard LGBT-Identitäten. »The Red and Yellow Nothing« [2016], eine Nacherzählung der Geschichte von Sir Morien, einem Schwarzen Ritter der Tafelrunde, war für den Ted Hughes Award nominiert.

Jay Bernards Kurzfilm »Something Said« wurde international aufgeführt und gewann beim Leeds International Film Festival den Preis für den besten experimentellen bzw. den besten queeren Kurzfilm. Neben anderen Auszeichnungen erhielt Jay Bernard 2017 den Ted Hughes Award für neue Poesie für die Multimedia-Performance-Arbeit »Surge: Side A«. 2018 wurde xier zum Fellow der Royal Society of Literature gewählt. Bernard lebt in London und ist 2022 zu Gast beim Künstlerprogramm des DAAD.

Stand: 2022