22. ilb 07. - 17.09.2022

Jānis Joņevs

Jānis Joņevs was born in Jelgava, southwest of Riga in 1980. He studied cultural studies in Riga and made his debut in 2013 with the autobiographically inspired coming-of-age novel »Jelgava 94« [Eng. »Doom 94«, 2018], which became a bestseller in Latvia and won several awards.

The novel takes place on April 5, 1994, the day Nirvana frontman Kurt Cobain took his own life. The young people in the Latvian provincial town of Jelgava are not unaffected by this event. 14-year-old Janis, the novel’s narrator, joins the alternative metal subculture and dabbles in rebelliousness, doing all the things that others in the scene do. He attends concerts, gets drunk, starts smoking, starts a band even though he doesn’t really know how to play the guitar, grows his hair out, and wears ripped jeans and T-shirts with band logos. The novel is not, however, limited to its humorous depiction of teenage life and the search for identity typical of that age. With a multitude of cultural, historical, and literary allusions and philosophical observations, it also narrates the country’s history: At the time, Latvia had just regained its independence from the Soviet Union, resulting in economic and social upheaval. »Joņevs is the first writer to evoke the memories of that time through a full-fledged literary account«, said the jury of the European Union Prize for Literature, which the novel won in 2014.

»Jelgava 94« has been translated into several languages and was filmed in 2019, directed by Janis Abele. In 2014, Jānis Joņevs published the children’s book »Slepenie svētki« [tr: Secret Feast]. The short story collection »Tīģeris« [tr: Tiger] was published in 2020 and was awarded the Latvian Literature Prize for the best prose work. Jānis Joņevs represents Latvia in the anthology »Le Grand Tour« [2022], for which the editor Olivier Guez asked one author from each EU member state to write a text about a place of European culture.

In addition to his writing activities, Jānis Joņevs also works as an advertising copywriter, cultural journalist, and translator from French. For example, he translated Ágota Kristóf’s »Le grand cahier« into Latvian. He has also participated in several theater productions as co-director and co-author. He lives in Riga.

Date: 2022

23. ilb 06. – 16.09.2023

Jānis Joņevs

Jānis Joņevs wurde 1980 in Jelgava südwestlich von Riga geboren. Er studierte Kulturwissenschaften in Riga und debütierte 2013 mit dem autobiografisch inspirierten Coming-of-Age-Roman »Jelgava 94« [dt. »Jelgava 94«, 2022], der in Lettland zum Bestseller avancierte und mehrfach ausgezeichnet wurde.

Das Romangeschehen setzt am 5. April 1994 ein, dem Tag, an dem Nirvana-Frontmann Kurt Cobain sich das Leben nahm. Die Jugendlichen in der lettischen Provinzstadt Jelgava lässt dieses Ereignis nicht unberührt. Der 14-jährige Janis, Erzähler des Romans, schließt sich der alternativen Metal-Subkultur an und versucht sich im Rebellentum, indem er all die Dinge tut, die auch die anderen in der Szene tun. Er besucht Konzerte, betrinkt sich, beginnt zu rauchen, gründet eine Band, obwohl er nicht wirklich weiß, wie man Gitarre spielt, lässt sich die Haare wachsen und trägt zerrissene Jeans und T-Shirts mit Bandlogos. Der Roman erschöpft sich jedoch nicht in der humorvollen Schilderung eines Teenagerlebens und der für dieses Alter typischen Suche nach der eigenen Identität. Mit einer Vielzahl kultureller, historischer und literarischer Anspielungen und philosophischer Beobachtungen erzählt er auch die Landesgeschichte mit: Zu der damaligen Zeit hatte Lettland gerade seine Unabhängigkeit von der Sowjetunion wiedererlangt, was wirtschaftliche und soziale Umwälzungen zur Folge hatte. »Joņevs ist der erste Schriftsteller, der die Erinnerungen an diese Zeit durch eine vollwertige literarische Darstellung wachruft«, so die Jury des Literaturpreises der Europäischen Union, mit dem der Roman 2014 ausgezeichnet wurde.

»Jelgava 94« wurde in mehrere Sprachen übersetzt und 2019 unter der Regie von Janis Abele fürs Kino verfilmt. 2014 veröffentlichte Jānis Joņevs das Kinderbuch »Slepenie svētki« [Ü: Heimliches Festmahl]. 2020 erschien die Kurzgeschichtensammlung »Tīģeris« [Ü: Tiger], die mit dem lettischen Literaturpreis für das beste Prosawerk ausgezeichnet wurde. In der Anthologie »Le Grand Tour« [2022], für die der Herausgeber Olivier Guez jeweils einen Autor, eine Autorin aus jedem Mitgliedstatt der EU um einen Text über einen Ort der europäischen Kultur bat, vertritt Jānis Joņevs Lettland.

Neben seiner schriftstellerischen Tätigkeit arbeitet Jānis Joņevs auch als Werbetexter, Kulturjournalist und Übersetzer aus dem Französischen. So übertrug er u. a. Ágota Kristófs »Le grand cahier« ins Lettische. Des Weiteren war er in der Rolle als Co-Regisseur und Co-Autor an mehreren Theaterproduktionen beteiligt. Er lebt in Riga.

Stand: 2022