23. ilb 06. – 16.09.2023

Jan Wagner

Jan Wagner was born in Hamburg in 1971 and grew up in Ahrensburg in Schleswig-Holstein. He wrote his first poems at the age of 14, after exploring world literature from the classics to the present in his parents’ extensive library. Wagner began his studies in English literature in Hamburg, continued them for a year at Trinity College in Dublin, and completed them with a master’s degree at the Humboldt-Universität in Berlin.

While still a student, he published the magazine »Die Außenseite des Elementes« [tr: The Element’s Exterior] together with Thomas Girst. The literary and graphic loose-leaf collection, which was modeled on Marcel Duchamp’s »Box in a Suitcase«, was discontinued in 2003 due to financial reasons. In addition, Wagner also began translating English-language poetry while at university.

He published his first volume of poetry, »Probebohrung im Himmel« [tr: Test Drilling in the Sky], in 2001. As a poet, Wagner draws from classical forms and adapts them to his own work with sublime ease and elegance. To Wagner, poems are something essential, vital. In an interview, he commented that »Perhaps one no longer even expects that people who write poetry exist at all. […] The truth is that there are many poets, especially younger ones, who write excellent poems. So poetry is something very much alive.« In addition to his devotion to nature, which is always countered in his texts with harsh realities of life, he also enters a dialogue with poets from the past, such as in his text »der mann wird einem baume gleich« [tr: the man becomes like a tree] from his volume »Australien« [2010; tr: Australia], in which he quotes the hymnwriter Paul Gerhardt. In the poems compiled in »Regentonnenvariationen« [2014; tr: Rain Barrel Variations], Wagner again directs his attention towards nature. In the relationship between mankind and nature, the roles are often reversed – mankind does not subjugate nature but is observed and sometimes even marginalized by it. Wagner received the Leipzig Book Fair Prize for this volume in 2015. His most recent volume of essays was published in 2021 under the title »Der glückliche Augenblick« [tr: The Happy Moment].

Jan Wagner’s poems have been translated into more than forty languages. He is a member of the German Academy for Language and Literature, the Bavarian Academy of Fine Arts, the Mainz Academy of Sciences and Literature, the Free Academy of Arts in Hamburg and the German P.E.N. Among many other awards, he has been honored with the Anna Seghers Prize, the Georg Büchner Prize, and an honorary doctorate from Universität Bielefeld. Among the many poets translated by Jan Wagner are Matthew Sweeney, Robin Robertson, Charles Simic, James Tate, Margaret Atwood, Ted Hughes, Dylan Thomas and Sujata Bhatt. He also writes radio plays and is the editor of anthologies of young German-language and European poetry.

Jan Wagner lives in Berlin.

Date: 2022

Jan Wagner

Portrait Jan Wagner
Jan Wagner [© Nadine Kunath]

Jan Wagner wurde 1971 in Hamburg geboren und wuchs in Ahrensburg in Schleswig-Holstein auf. Mit 14 Jahren schrieb er seine ersten Gedichte, die Weltliteratur von den Klassikern bis zur Gegenwart entdeckte er vermittels der reichen Bibliothek seiner Eltern. Sein Studium der Anglistik begann Wagner in Hamburg, setzte es über ein Jahr am Trinity College in Dublin fort und schloss es an der Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin ab.

Schon während des Studiums gab er zusammen mit Thomas Girst die Literaturschachtel »Die Außenseite des Elementes« als literarische und grafische Loseblattsammlung heraus, bis das Projekt, das Marcel Duchamps »Schachtel im Koffer« zum Vorbild hatte, 2003 aus finanziellen Gründen eingestellt werden musste. Außerdem begann Wagner mit dem Übersetzen englischsprachiger Lyrik.

Sein erster eigener Gedichtband »Probebohrung im Himmel« erschien 2001. Als Lyriker greift Wagner zum Teil auf klassische Formen zurück und passt sie mit sublimer Leichtigkeit und Eleganz den Erfordernissen eigener Inhalte an. Gedichte sind für ihn etwas Essenzielles, Lebensnotwendiges. »Vielleicht rechnet man gar nicht mehr damit, dass überhaupt Menschen existieren, die Gedichte schreiben. […] Die Wahrheit ist, dass es eine Vielzahl von Dichterinnen und Dichtern, gerade jüngere, gibt, die hervorragende Gedichte schreiben. Dichtung ist also etwas höchst Lebendiges«, sagte er in einem Interview. Neben seiner thematischen Zuwendung zur Natur, die in seinen Texten auch immer mit rauer Lebenswirklichkeit konterkariert wird, begibt er sich auch in einen Dialog mit Dichtern der Vergangenheit, wie beispielsweise in seinem Text »der mann wird einem baume gleich« aus seinem Band »Australien« [2010], in dem er den Kirchenlieddichter Paul Gerhardt zitiert. In den Gedichten des Bandes »Regentonnenvariationen« [2014] lenkt Wagner sein Augenmerk wiederum auf die Natur. Im Verhältnis zum Menschen sind die Rollen oft vertauscht – der Mensch macht sie sich nicht untertan, sondern wird von ihr beobachtet und manchmal sogar an den Rand gedrängt. Für diesen Band erhielt Wagner 2015 den Preis der Leipziger Buchmesse. Zuletzt erschien sein Essayband »Der glückliche Augenblick« [2021].

Jan Wagners Gedichte wurden in über vierzig Sprachen übersetzt. Er ist Mitglied in der Deutschen Akademie für Sprache und Dichtung, der Bayerischen Akademie der Schönen Künste, der Akademie der Wissenschaften und der Literatur Mainz, der Freien Akademie der Künste in Hamburg sowie des P.E.N.-Zentrums Deutschland. Neben vielen anderen Auszeichnungen wurde er mit dem Anna Seghers-Preis, dem Georg-Büchner-Preis sowie der Ehrendoktorwürde der Universität Bielefeld geehrt. Zu den von Jan Wagner übersetzten Lyriker:innen gehören Matthew Sweeney, Robin Robertson, Charles Simic, James Tate, Margaret Atwood, Ted Hughes, Dylan Thomas, Sujata Bhatt u. a. Er schreibt außerdem Hörspiele und ist Herausgeber von Anthologien junger deutschsprachiger und europäischer Lyrik.

Jan Wagner lebt in Berlin.

Stand: 2022