22. ilb 7. - 17.09.2022

Lina Itagaki

Lina Itagaki was born in 1979 in Kaunas, Lithuania. From 1997 to 1999 she studied English and literature at Vytautas Magnus University, then went to Japan and studied international economics in Tokyo until 2003. From 2005 to 2010 she worked at the Lithuanian branch office (TECMO KOEI Baltija) of the Japanese video games TECMO KOEI company in Vilnius as assistant manager and Japanese language translator. From 2010 she studied at the Vilnius Art Academy and received a bachelor’s degree in graphic art in 2014.

In 2017, together with the Lithuanian author and translator Jurga Vilė, she published her first graphic novel »Sibiro Haiku« (tr: Siberian Haiku), which won the grand prize at the book art competition in Lithuania and was voted the most beautiful book of 2017. The theme is the deportation of Lithuanians during the Soviet era, which also affected Itagaki’s grandfather. It took Itagaki about nine months to illustrate the story with the help of the author’s old family photos as well as other sources about life in Siberia. The subject of deportation is told on the basis of a specific family history: One day in 1941, a Lithuanian family was driven to the railway station by Russian soldiers and then deported to Siberia with many other families. There they live under difficult conditions, but an aunt has taken along a Japanese book of haikus with which she tries to make her environment a bit more cheerful. In the images, Itagaki also shows the few happy childhood moments in exile and alleviates the harshness and cruelty of the events with pastel colors.

The illustrator received awards for her artistic work at the 2015 Illustration and Books book art exhibition in Vilnius and at the 2015 COW International Design Festival Illustration in Ukraine. She participated in the project »Drawing the XXth Century. Comics on Lithuanian, Belarusian and German Family Stories« by Mawil, which was presented at the 2017 Comic Invasion Berlin. One of her comics was also published in the anthology »Redrawing Stories from the Past II« (2018), a project by comic artist Sascha Hommer and theorist Ole Frahm, the second part of which is devoted to migration and exile movements in Europe after the Second World War. Itagaki regularly participates in group exhibitions in Lithuania and abroad. She currently works as a freelance illustrator and designer, e.g. for the Klaipėda puppet theater, and works in the field of communication for the Klaipėda faculty at the Vilnius Academy of Arts. She lives in Vilnius and is working on new children’s book and comic projects.

22. ilb 07. - 17.09.2022

Lina Itagaki

Lina Itagaki wurde 1979 im litauischen Kaunas geboren. Von 1997 bis 1999 studierte sie Anglistik und Literatur an der Vytautas-Magnus-Universität, ging dann nach Japan und studierte bis 2003 in Tokio Internationale Wirtschaft. Von 2005 bis 2010 arbeitete sie in der litauischen Niederlassung des japanischen Computerspieleunternehmens TECMO KOEI in Vilnius als Assistant Manager und Übersetzerin aus dem Japanischen. Ab 2010 studierte sie an der Kunstakademie von Vilnius und erlangte 2014 einen Bachelor in Graphic Art.

Zusammen mit der litauischen Autorin und Übersetzerin Jurga Vilė veröffentlichte sie 2017 ihre erste Graphic Novel »Sibiro Haiku« (Ü: Sibirische Haikus), die beim Buchkunstwettbewerb in Litauen mit dem Hauptpreis ausgezeichnet und zum schönsten Buch des Jahres 2017 gewählt wurde. Thematisiert wird die Deportation von Litauern in der Zeit der Sowjetunion, von der auch Itagakis Großvater betroffen war. Für die Illustration der Geschichte brauchte Itagaki etwa neun Monate und nahm dabei alte Familienfotos der Autorin und andere Quellen über das Leben in Sibirien zu Hilfe. Das Thema Deportation wird anhand einer konkreten Familiengeschichte erzählt: Eines Tages im Jahr 1941 wird eine litauische Familie von russischen Soldaten zum Bahnhof getrieben und danach mit vielen anderen Familien nach Sibirien deportiert. Dort leben sie unter schwierigen Bedingungen, jedoch hat eine Tante ein japanisches Buch mit Haikus mitgenommen, mit dem sie ihre Umgebung ein wenig aufzumuntern versucht. Itagaki zeigt in den Bildern auch die wenigen glücklichen Kindheitsmomente in der Verbannung und mildert Härte und Grausamkeit des Geschehens durch Pastellfarben ab.

Für ihr künstlerisches Schaffen erhielt die Illustratorin Preise bei der Buchkunstausstellung Illustration and Books 2015 in Vilnius und beim COW International Design Festival Illustration 2015 in der Ukraine. 2017 wurde auf der Comic Invasion Berlin das Projekt »Drawing the XXth Century. Comics on Lithuanian, Belarusian and German Family Stories« von Mawil präsentiert, an dem sie beteiligt war. Einer ihrer Comics erschien außerdem im Sammelband »Redrawing Stories from the Past II« (2018), einem Projekt von Comic-Künstler Sascha Hommer und Theoretiker Ole Frahm, das sich im zweiten Teil den Migrations- und Fluchtbewegungen in Europa nach dem Zweiten Weltkrieg widmet. Itagaki beteiligt sich regelmäßig an Gruppenausstellungen in Litauen und im Ausland. Derzeit ist sie als freischaffende Illustratorin und Designerin, u. a. für das Puppentheater Klaipėda, und im Bereich Kommunikation an der Fakultät Klaipėda der Kunstakademie Vilnius tätig. Sie lebt in Vilnius und arbeitet an neuen Kinderbuch- und Comic-Projekten.