Irene Solà

Portrait Irene Solà
Irene Solà [© Oscar Holloway]

Irene Solà was born in 1990 in Malla, a small village in the province of Barcelona. She studied fine arts in Barcelona and Reykjavík and completed a master’s degree in literature, film, and visual culture at the University of Sussex.

In 2012 she published the poetry collection »Bèstia« [Eng. »Beast«, 2017], which was awarded the Premi Amadeu Oller Prize. With dark, sensual, and precise images, Irene Solà explores themes such as gender, identity, sexuality, and multiple forms of desire. In 2017, she released »Els dics« [tr: The Dikes], her first experimental novel consisting of several interwoven stories. The main character is Ada, a young woman who returns to her hometown in rural Catalonia after three years in London. The novel has been well received by critics. »El País« highlighted that »What triumphs throughout the story is the joy of narration, the joy of discovering what happens when the act of narration takes place.« »Els dics« was awarded the Premi Documenta, which has been awarded to emerging Catalonian authors since 1980.

In 2019, Irene Solà’s second novel »Canto jo i la muntanya balla« [Eng. »When I Sing, Mountains Dance«, 2022] was published. The story is set in a Catalan village in the Pyrenees; however, Solà once again dispenses with a linear narrative and experiments with time jumps between alternating narrative perspectives. Thus, the death of the young father and farmer Domènec by lightning is first described from the point of view of the thunderstorm, before his wife, his children and the villagers later have their say. The author also gives voice to animals, plants, and mountains. In lyrical prose, playfully and imaginatively fleshed out, the novel tells of the time before and after Domènec’s death, while also incorporating the history and mythology of the region. The »SZ« praised the work by stating that »This book is a true wonder. A many-voiced choral song, so full of imagination and life that one feels enveloped and enchanted while reading, as if transported to another plane of reality.«

Irene Solà has received several fellowships. In 2018 she was invited as an International Fellow to the Alan Cheuse International Writers Center at George Mason University in Virginia, USA, and in 2019 she was selected for the Art Omi: Writers program [formerly known as Ledig House] in New York. »Canto jo i la muntanya balla« was awarded the Premi Anagrama de novel·la in 2019 and the European Union Prize for Literature in 2020. The novel is currently available in more than twenty languages worldwide.

The author lives near Barcelona.

Date: 2022

22. ilb 07. - 17.09.2022

Irene Solà

Irene Solà wurde 1990 in Malla geboren, einem kleinen Dorf in der Provinz Barcelona. Sie studierte Bildende Kunst in Barcelona und Reykjavík und absolvierte einen Master in Literatur, Film und Visueller Kultur an der University of Sussex.

2012 veröffentlichte sie den Gedichtband »Bèstia« [Ü: Bestie], der mit dem Premi Amadeu Oller ausgezeichnet und ins Englische übersetzt wurde. Mit düsteren Bildern, sinnlich und präzise erkundet Irene Solà darin Themen wie Geschlecht, Identität, Sexualität und vielfältige Formen des Begehrens. 2017 legte sie mit »Els dics« [Ü: Die Dämme] ihren ersten, experimentell angelegten Roman vor, der aus zahlreichen miteinander verwobenen Geschichten besteht. Hauptfigur ist Ada, eine junge Frau, die nach drei Jahren in London in ihren Heimatort im ländlichen Katalonien zurückkehrt. Der Roman wurde von der Kritik positiv aufgenommen. »Was in der ganzen Geschichte triumphiert, ist die Freude am Erzählen, die Freude an der Entdeckung dessen, was passiert, wenn der Akt des Erzählens stattfindet«, hob »El País« hervor. »Els dics« wurde mit dem Premi Documenta ausgezeichnet, der seit 1980 jährlich an eine:n Nachwuchsautor:in katalanischer Sprache vergeben wird.

2019 erschien Irene Solàs zweiter Roman »Canto jo i la muntanya balla« [dt. »Singe ich, tanzen die Berge«, 2022]. Schauplatz des Geschehens ist ein katalanisches Bergdorf in den Pyrenäen; Solà verzichtet jedoch erneut auf eine lineare Erzählweise und experimentiert mit Zeitsprüngen und wechselnden Erzählperspektiven. So wird der Tod des jungen Familienvaters und Bauern Domènec durch Blitzschlag zunächst aus Sicht des Gewitters geschildert, bevor später seine Frau, seine Kinder und die Dorfbewohner zu Wort kommen. Auch Tieren, Pflanzen und Bergen verleiht die Autorin eine Stimme. In einer lyrischen Prosa, spielerisch und fantasievoll ausgestaltet, erzählt der Roman von der Zeit vor und nach Domènecs Tod und lässt dabei auch die Geschichte und Mythologie der Region mit einfließen. »Dieses Buch ist ein wahres Wunder. Ein vielstimmiger Chorgesang, so voller Imagination und Leben, dass man sich im Lesen eingehüllt und verzaubert fühlt, wie in eine andere Ebene der Realität entführt«, befand die »SZ«.

Irene Solà erhielt mehrere Stipendien, so wurde sie 2018 als International Fellow an das Alan Cheuse International Writers Center der George Mason University in Virginia, USA, eingeladen und 2019 für das Programm Art Omi: Writers [früher bekannt als Ledig House] in New York ausgewählt. Für »Canto jo i la muntanya balla« wurde sie 2019 mit dem Premi Anagrama de novel·la und 2020 mit dem Literaturpreis der Europäischen Union ausgezeichnet. Der Roman wird derzeit weltweit in über zwanzig Sprachen übersetzt.

Die Autorin lebt in der Nähe von Barcelona.

Stand: 2022