23. ilb 06. – 16.09.2023

Ingrid de Kok

Portrait Ingrid de Kok
© Poetry-Africa

Ingrid de Kok was born in 1951 in Johannesburg, and she grew up in the gold mining town Stilfontein, in South Africa.  At the age of 12, she, with her parents moved back to Johannesburg, where she first studied English and Political Sciences at the University of Witwatersrand and then at the University of Cape Town. In 1977, de Kok emigrated to Canada, where she studied at Queen’s University in Kingston, and in 1984 she returned to South Africa.  There she became active in a pedagogical foundation, setting up university courses for black students who at the time were excluded from the »white« universities.  Currently, she is an Associate Professor in the field of adult education, planning and coordinating numerous cultural programs and seminars in her job at the Centre for Extra-Mural Studies at the University of Cape Town.

Her engagement in the field of cultural education is also evident – admittedly in a subtler form – in her literary work, in which she tackles the possibilities of shaping the future through dealing with the past and taking stock of the present. »Transfer« (1997), the second of her three poetry volumes to date, contrasts the political changes of South Africa in the first section of the book with the second, containing a personal, specifically feminine view of experiences, in which love and familiar relationships take a central role.  However, de Kok in no way places the ugliness of politics in opposition to an idyll of the familiar: each relates to the other.  In addition, she succeeds in maintaining a cautious optimism in the future, which can be seen in her skillfull poems, even when describing horror.  In free as well as formal verse, with many internal and occasional end rhymes, de Kok succinctly gives form to manifestations of evil and the incomprehensibility of pain.  »There is still lyric poetry after Auschwitz, and on the cusp of a new century, facing backwards to the barbarism of South Africa’s recent apartheid past while eyeing the ongoing catastrophe of the AIDS epidemic, Ingrid de Kok’s flawless lines and un-illusioned observation suggest that without such stubborn hope the terrible beauty of tragic events is lost and we are left with meaningless, inexplicable calamity«, writes the critic Simon Lewis.  The title of de Kok’s latest poetry volume, »Terrestrial Things« (2002) alludes to a poem by Thomas Hardy, in which the possibility of grounds for hope is posited, even when the »terrestrial things« don’t seem to offer any reason for hope at all.

De Kok’s poetry has been translated into several languages and has appeared in various national and international newspapers and anthologies. For her work she has been awarded fellowships abroad and prizes, such as the Dalro Poetry Award and the Herman Charles Bosman Award for English Literature.  She is also the editor of several scholarly books and anthologies, a member of various poetry juries, and the author of critiques and articles. De Kok lives in Kapstadt.

© international literature festival berlin

Ingrid de Kok

Portrait Ingrid de Kok
© Poetry-Africa

Ingrid de Kok wurde 1951 im südafrikanischen Johannesburg geboren und wuchs in der Goldgräberstadt Stilfontein auf. Im Alter von zwölf Jahren zog sie mit ihren Eltern zurück nach Johannesburg, wo sie an der Universität von Witwatersrand und an der Universität von Kapstadt Englisch und Politikwissenschaft studierte. 1977 wanderte de Kok nach Kanada aus. Sie setzte ihre Studien an der Queen’s University in Kingston fort und kehrte 1984 wieder nach Südafrika zurück. Dort war sie für eine pädagogische Stiftung tätig. Sie initiierte Kurse für schwarze Studenten, die damals von den »weißen« Universitäten ausgeschlossen waren. Zurzeit lehrt de Kok als Extraordinarius am Zentrum für außeruniversitäre Studien der Universität von Kapstadt, wo sie zahlreiche Kulturprogramme und Seminare auf dem Feld der Erwachsenenbildung plant und koordiniert.

Ihr Engagement im kulturpädagogischen Bereich zeigt sich – freilich in subtiler Form – auch in ihrem dichterischen Werk, das mit der Durcharbeitung der Vergangenheit und Bestandsaufnahmen der Gegenwart die Möglichkeiten der Zukunftsgestaltung auslotet. »Transfer« (1997; Ü: Übergang), der zweite ihrer drei bislang erschienenen Gedichtbände, kontrastiert den politischen Wandel Südafrikas im ersten Teil des Buches mit einer im zweiten Teil folgenden sehr persönlichen, spezifisch weiblichen Erfahrungswelt, in der Liebe und familiäre Beziehungen im Mittelpunkt stehen. Doch de Kok setzt keinesfalls dem Hässlichen der Politik eine Idylle des Familiären entgegen: Beides ist miteinander verbunden. Zusätzlich gelingt es ihr, in der kunstvollen, sorgfältigen Darstellung gerade des Schrecklichen ein vorsichtiges Zukunftsvertrauen zu bewahren. In sowohl freien als auch rhythmisierten Versen mit häufigen Binnen- und gelegentlichen Endreimen, notiert de Kok lapidar Erscheinungsformen des Bösen und gibt der Unfassbarkeit des Schmerzes eine Form. »Es gibt immer noch Lyrik, auch nach Auschwitz, und wenn man – an der Schwelle eines neuen Jahrhunderts – auf die Unmenschlichkeit der jüngsten südafrikanischen Vergangenheit der Apartheid zurückblickt und die Katastrophe der AIDS-Epidemie betrachtet, deuten Ingrid de Koks makellose Zeilen und illusionslose Beobachtungen an, dass ohne eine sture Hoffnung die schreckliche Schönheit tragischer Ereignisse verlorengeht und wir in sinnlosem, unerklärlichem Elend dastehen«, schreibt der Kritiker Simon Lewis. Der Titel ihres letzten Gedichtbandes »Terrestrial Things« (2002; Ü: Irdische Dinge) spielt auf ein Gedicht von Thomas Hardy an, in dem ebenfalls die Möglichkeit erwogen wird, es gebe Grund zur Hoffnung, auch wenn die »irdischen Dinge« für diese Annahme keinen Anlass geben.

De Koks Gedichte wurden in mehrere Sprachen übersetzt und erschienen in verschiedenen nationalen und internationalen Zeitungen und Anthologien. Für ihr Werk wurde die Dichterin mit Auslandsstipendien und Preisen wie dem Dalro Poetry Award oder dem Herman Charles Bosman Award für englische Literatur ausgezeichnet. Sie ist außerdem Herausgeberin mehrerer wissenschaftlicher Bücher und Anthologien, Mitglied verschiedener Jurys sowie Autorin von Rezensionen und Artikeln. De Kok lebt in Kapstadt.

© internationales literaturfestival berlin