23. ilb 06. – 16.09.2023

Ingo Schulze

Portrait Ingo Schulze
© Ali Ghandtschi

Ingo Schulze, born in Dresden in 1962, studied classics and German language and literature in Jena before working as the dramatic arts advisor to the State Theatre in Altenburg. In 1990, he set up the »Altenburger Wochenblatt« and the »Anzeiger« in the east Thuringian city of Altenburg. In 1993, during a six-month residency in St. Petersburg – the setting of his first novel, »33 Augenblicke des Glücks« (1995; Eng. »33 Moments of Happiness«, 1998) – he founded the city’s first free advertising journal. His collection of short stories offers a kaleidoscopic panorama of the Russian metropolis set against the backdrop of the political changes of 1989.

Schulze reached an international audience through his »Simple Storys. Ein Roman aus der ostdeutschen Provinz« (1998; Eng. »Simple Stories: A Novel from the East German Provinces«, 1999). Without any »post fall-of-the-Wall whining«, as the »Stuttgarter Zeitung« enthused, the cracks that resulted from German reunification are portrayed in the biographies of many East Germans. In the fictional epistolary novel »Neue Leben« (2007; Eng. »New Lives: The Youth of Enrico Türmer in Letters and Prose«), set in the year 1990, the protagonist reports on his childhood in the GDR and his path from distraught writer to happy and reckless businessman. With »Handy – Dreizehn Geschichten in alter Manier« (2007; tr: Mobile phone: Thirteen stories in the old style), Schulze returned to writing short stories. At its center lie the shifts and cracks that arise in friendships and romantic relationships in Berlin, New York, Cairo and elsewhere. In his novel »Adam und Evelyn« (2008) the protagonists, whose names recall the myth of Adam and Eve, embark on a voyage to Lake Balaton just as the border to Hungary is opened in the summer of 1989. After the narrative volume »Orangen und Engel« (tr: Oranges and Angels), which was created in 2010 after a residence at Villa Massimo in Rome, Schulze investigated the causes of loss of democracy and social polarization in his essay »Unsere schönen neuen Kleider« (tr: Our Beautiful New Clothes«. The smear-novel »Peter Holtz. Sein glückliches Leben erzählt von ihm selbst« (2017; tr: Peter Holtz: His Happy Life as Told by Himself), and its critique of capitalism, reads as a parable of East German history from 1974 to 1998. Schulze’s most recent novel »Die Rechtschaffenen Mörder« (2020; tr: The Righteous Murderer), which was nominated for the Leipzig Book Prize, is about an antiquarian from Dresden who loses everything after reunification and becomes a reactionary. Schulze’s sophisticated narrative refuses to draw any clear conclusions: »From the beginning, an enlightening milieu study becomes a book that is less about telling a story than about correcting the stories set by the readers« (»DIE ZEIT«).

Schulze has received the aspekte Prize (1995), the Berlin Literature Prize (1998), the Leipzig Book Fair Prize (2007), the Premio Grinzane Cavour (2008), the Bertolt Brecht Prize of the City of Augsburg (2013), and the Werner Bergengruen Price (2019). His work has been translated into thirty languages. He has lived in Berlin since 1993.

23. ilb 06. – 16.09.2023

Ingo Schulze

Ingo Schulze, geboren 1962 in Dresden, studierte Klassische Philologie und Germanistik in Jena, bevor er als Dramaturg am Landestheater Altenburg tätig wurde. 1990 initiierte er in der ostthüringischen Stadt das »Altenburger Wochenblatt« und den »Anzeiger«. Während eines halbjährigen Aufenthalts in Sankt Petersburg 1993 gründete er das erste kostenlose Anzeigenblatt der russischen Stadt, die Schauplatz seines literarischen Debüts »33 Augenblicke des Glücks« (1995) werden sollte. Der Erzählband entfaltet ein kaleidoskopartiges Panorama der russischen Metropole vor dem Hintergrund des politischen und ökonomischen Umbruchs zu Beginn der neunziger Jahre.

International bekannt wurde Schulze durch »Simple Storys. Ein Roman aus der ostdeutschen Provinz« (1998). Ohne jegliche »Nachwendeweinerlichkeit«, wie die »Stuttgarter Zeitung« lobte, werden die von der Wiedervereinigung herrührenden Brüche in den Biografien vieler Ostdeutscher offengelegt. In »Neue Leben« (2005), einem fiktiven Briefroman, lässt er den Protagonisten 1990 über seine Jugend und frühen Erwachsenenjahre in der DDR und seinen Weg vom verzweifelten Schriftsteller zum so glücklichen wie rücksichtslosen Geschäftsmann berichten. Mit »Handy. Dreizehn Geschichten in alter Manier« (2007) kehrt Schulze zur literarischen Form der Kurzgeschichte zurück. Im Zentrum stehen die Verschiebungen und Risse in Freundschaften und Liebesverhältnissen in Berlin, New York, Kairo und an anderen Orten der Welt. In seinem Roman »Adam und Evelyn« (2008) reisen die auf den biblischen Mythos von Adam und Eva verweisenden Protagonisten im Sommer 1989 – just als Ungarn die Grenze öffnet – an den Balaton. Nach dem Erzählband »Orangen und Engel«, der 2010 nach einem Stipendien-Aufenthalt in der Villa Massimo in Rom entstand, erschien 2012 der Essay »Unsere schönen neuen Kleider«, in dem Schulze den Ursachen von Demokratieverlust und sozialer Polarisierung nachgeht. Der kapitalismuskritische Schelmenroman »Peter Holtz. Sein glückliches Leben erzählt von ihm selbst« (2017) liest sich als Parabel auf die ostdeutsche Geschichte von 1974 bis 1998. Schulzes jüngster, für den Leipziger Buchpreis nominierte Roman »Die rechtschaffenen Mörder« (2020) handelt von einem Dresdner Antiquar, der in der Nachwendezeit alles verliert und zum Reaktionär wird. Dabei verweigert Schulze vor allem durch eine ausgeklügelte Erzählstruktur eindeutige Schlüsse: »Aus einer einleuchtenden Milieustudie wird im Fortgang ein Buch, das weniger eine Geschichte erzählen als bei den Lesern festgesetzte Geschichten korrigieren will« (»DIE ZEIT«).

Schulze erhielt u. a. den aspekte-Preis (1995), den Berliner Literaturpreis (1998), den Preis der Leipziger Buchmesse (2007), den Premio Grinzane Cavour (2008), den Bertolt-Brecht-Preis der Stadt Augsburg (2013) und den Werner-Bergengruen-Preis (2019). Sein Werk wurde in dreißig Sprachen übersetzt. Seit 1993 lebt er in Berlin.