23. ilb 06. – 16.09.2023

Ilya Kaminsky

Poet, critic, translator, and poetry professor Ilya Kaminsky was born in Odessa, then Soviet Union, in 1977. After contracting mumps at the age of four, he became hard of hearing. In 1993, he immigrated to the United States with his family and settled in Rochester, New York. There, at the age of sixteen, Kaminsky received a hearing aid for the first time and from then on was able to experience the world acoustically. For his later writing, however, the childhood experience was formative: »I got to know the world through pictures. Writing is something visual for me.«

Kaminsky, who had already begun writing while at school, has been writing his poems in English since 1994. His first collection of poems, »Musica Humana« was published in 2002. He gained international fame with the book of poems »Dancing in Odessa« [2004], which has been translated into more than twenty languages. It is a book of memories of the city of his childhood and the individual people there, and a book of reflections on remembering as well as a processing of personal, family, and cultural history with references to Joseph Brodsky, Marina Tsvetaeva, Isaak Babel, Paul Celan, and others. In his history poem »Deaf Republic« [2019], written over the course of nearly ten years, Kaminsky tells of war, of violence, but also of solidarity: after the shooting of a deaf boy by soldiers, the inhabitants of the town of Vasenka, itself at war, gather and resist by pretending to be deaf. They write »No one can hear you« in chalk on the wall of the soldiers’ barracks. Against the backdrop of Russia’s war of aggression in Ukraine, the book seems prophetic today. But it also ironically highlights the supposedly safe position of the spectators, watching the war from afar.

Kaminsky’s honors include the Academy of American Poets Fellowship, the National Book Award, the Metcalf Award from the American Academy of Arts and Letters, the Whiting Award, and the Lannan Fellowship. The BBC named him one of twelve artists who changed the world in 2019. Kaminsky is an advocate for the translation of international literature in the United States. He has been poetry editor at »Words Without Borders« and »Poetry International« and has edited several anthologies of international poetry, including the »Ecco Anthology of International Poetry«, which is required reading at schools in the United States. He is also the editor of the »Poets in the World« book series. Kaminsky was a legal intern for San Francisco Legal Aid and the National Immigration Law Center. Recently, he volunteered as a court-appointed special advocate for orphaned children in Southern California. He currently holds the Bourne Chair in Poetry at the Georgia Institute of Technology and lives in Atlanta.

Date: 2022

22. ilb 07. - 17.09.2022

Ilya Kaminsky

Der Dichter, Kritiker, Übersetzer und Lyrik-Professor Ilya Kaminsky wurde 1977 in Odessa, damals Sowjetunion, geboren. Nach einer Mumps-Erkrankung mit vier Jahren wurde er schwerhörig. 1993 wanderte er mit seiner Familie in die USA aus und ließ sich in Rochester, New York, nieder. Dort bekam Kaminsky mit sechzehn Jahren erstmalig ein Hörgerät und nahm die Welt fortan auch akustisch wahr. Für sein späteres Schreiben war dennoch die kindliche Erfahrung prägend: »Ich habe die Welt durch Bilder kennengelernt. Schreiben ist für mich etwas Visuelles.«

Kaminsky, der bereits in der Schulzeit angefangen hatte zu schreiben, verfasst seit 1994 seine Gedichte in englischer Sprache. 2002 erschien seine erste Gedichtsammlung »Musica Humana«. Internationale Bekanntheit erlangte er mit dem in über zwanzig Sprachen übersetzten Gedichtband »Dancing in Odessa« [2004; dt. »Tanzen in Odessa«, 2017]. Es ist ein Buch der Erinnerungen an die Stadt seiner Kindheit und einzelne Menschen dort, und es ist ein Buch der Reflexionen über das Erinnern sowie eine Verarbeitung persönlicher, familiärer und kultureller Geschichte mit Bezügen zu Joseph Brodsky, Marina Zwetajewa, Isaak Babel, Paul Celan u. a. In seinem Geschichtspoem »Deaf Republic« [2019; dt. »Republik der Taubheit«, 2022], das im Laufe von fast zehn Jahren entstand, erzählt Kaminsky vom Krieg, von Gewalt, aber auch von Solidarität: Nach der Erschießung eines tauben Jungen durch Soldaten versammeln sich die Bewohner der Stadt Vasenka, die selbst Kriegsschauplatz ist, und leisten Widerstand, indem sie sich taub stellen. An die Wand der Soldatenbaracken schreiben sie mit Kreide: »Niemand kann euch hören.« Vor dem Hintergrund des russischen Angriffskriegs auf die Ukraine wirkt das Buch heute prophetisch. Doch wird auch die vermeintlich sichere Position der Zuschauer:innen, die aus der Ferne das Kriegsgeschehen beobachten, ironisch hervorgehoben.

Zu Kaminskys Ehrungen gehören das Academy of American Poets Fellowship, der National Book Award, der Metcalf Award der American Academy of Arts and Letters, der Whiting Award und das Lannan Fellowship. Die BBC kürte ihn zu einem von zwölf Künstlern, die 2019 die Welt verändert haben. Kaminsky setzt sich für die Übersetzung internationaler Literatur in den Vereinigten Staaten ein. Er war Lyrikredakteur bei »Words Without Borders« und »Poetry International« und hat mehrere Anthologien mit internationaler Lyrik herausgegeben, darunter den Band »Ecco Anthology of International Poetry«, der in den USA zur Schullektüre gehört. Zudem ist er Herausgeber der Buchreihe »Poets in the World«. Kaminsky war Rechtsreferendar für San Francisco Legal Aid und das National Immigration Law Center. Vor Kurzem engagierte er sich ehrenamtlich als vom Gericht bestellter Sonderanwalt für verwaiste Kinder in Südkalifornien. Derzeit hat er den Bourne-Lehrstuhl für Poesie am Georgia Institute of Technology inne und lebt in Atlanta.

Stand: 2022