Herta Müller

Portrait Herta Müller
Herta Müller [© Ali Ghandtschi]

Herta Müller was born in 1953 in Nitzkydorf in the Banat region of Romania and grew up as part of the German-speaking minority there. She studied German and Romanian literature in Timisoara and initially worked as a translator. Because she refused to cooperate with the Romanian Securitate secret service, she was dismissed. Her entry into the writing profession was also made difficult. Her debut »Niederungen« [1982; Eng. »Nadirs«, 1999], which depicts the life of the Banat Swabians in Romania, was heavily censored; after she applied to leave the country, she was banned from traveling and publishing. In 1987, Herta Müller moved to the Federal Republic of Germany. She subsequently took on numerous guest lectureships and was a writer in residence at various international institutions.

Herta Müller is considered one of the most important contemporary writers. In her works, she repeatedly circles around the effects of the communist dictatorship on the individual and describes people who, deprived of their dignity, live in fear. One example of this is her most successful novel to date, »Atemschaukel« [2009; Eng. »The Hunger Angel«, 2012], which describes the deportation of a young man – a character based on the poet Oskar Pastior, who died in 2006 and with whom Herta Müller was a close friend – to a Soviet labor camp. The novel refers to the fate of tens of thousands of Romanian Germans, including Herta Müller’s mother, who were deported to the USSR in January 1945 to perform forced labor. »With its dense network of motifs, the novel creates an intensity and presence that have no equal in contemporary German-language literature. A manifesto of memory and language, whose complex relationship it bears poignant witness to. A masterpiece«, was the verdict of Michael Lentz in the »FAZ«.

In the year of its publication, Herta Müller was awarded the Nobel Prize for Literature. Her autobiographically tinged novel »Herztier« [1994; Eng. »The Land of Green Plums«, 1996], about four young Romanians trying to escape the Ceaușescu regime in the 1980s, and »Mein Vaterland war ein Apfelkern« [2014; tr: My Homeland was an Appleseed], in which Herta Müller describes her own life journey in conversation with Angelika Klammer, also received much positive feedback. The »NZZ« pointed out that »As in Herta Müller’s narrative books, her language, with its idiosyncratic, precise formulations and images in which imagination and reality are one, can also be found here.«

The author is also known for her collages, for which she assembles words and images cut out of newspapers and magazines in postcard format. Her most recent publication was »Der Beamte sagte« [2021; tr: The Civil Servant Said], an entire narrative created in this way.
In 2022, Herta Müller was admitted to the Order Pour le mérite for Sciences and Arts. She lives in Berlin.

Date: 2022

Herta Müller

Portrait Herta Müller
Herta Müller [© Ali Ghandtschi]

Herta Müller wurde 1953 in Nitzkydorf in der Region Banat, Rumänien, geboren und wuchs als Teil der dortigen deutschsprachigen Minderheit auf. Sie studierte Germanistik und Rumänische Literatur in Temeswar und war zunächst als Übersetzerin tätig. Weil sie die Zusammenarbeit mit dem rumänischen Geheimdienst Securitate verweigerte, wurde sie schikaniert und verleumdet, verlor ihr Büro und schließlich ihre Stelle. Ihr Debüt »Niederungen« [1982] welches das Leben der Banatschwaben in Rumänien schildert, wurde stark zensiert. 1987 siedelte Herta Müller in die Bundesrepublik Deutschland über. In der Folge übernahm sie zahlreiche Gastdozenturen und war als Writer in Residence an internationalen Institutionen zu Gast.

Herta Müller gilt heute als eine der bedeutendsten Schriftstellerinnen der Gegenwart. In ihren Werken umkreist sie immer wieder die Auswirkungen der kommunistischen Diktatur auf das Individuum und beschreibt Menschen, die, ihrer Würde beraubt, in Angst leben. Beispielhaft hierfür ist ihr bislang erfolgreichster Roman »Atemschaukel« [2009], der die Deportation eines jungen Mannes – als Figur angelehnt an den 2006 verstorbenen Lyriker Oskar Pastior, mit dem Herta Müller eng befreundet war – in ein sowjetisches Arbeitslager schildert. Der Roman nimmt Bezug auf das Schicksal Zehntausender Rumäniendeutscher, darunter auch Herta Müllers Mutter, die im Januar 1945 in die UdSSR verschleppt wurden, um dort Zwangsarbeit zu leisten. »Mit seinem dichten Motivnetz schafft der Roman eine Intensität und Präsenz, die ihresgleichen in der zeitgenössischen deutschsprachigen Literatur nicht haben. Ein Manifest der Erinnerung und der Sprache, deren komplexes Verhältnis es auf ergreifende Weise bezeugt. Ein Meisterwerk«, urteilte Michael Lentz in der »FAZ«. Im Jahr der Veröffentlichung wurde Herta Müller mit dem Nobelpreis für Literatur ausgezeichnet.

Viel positive Resonanz erhielten auch ihr autobiografisch gefärbter Roman »Herztier« [1994], der von vier jungen Rumänen handelt, die in den 1980er-Jahre dem Ceaușescu-Regime zu entkommen versuchen, und »Mein Vaterland war ein Apfelkern« [2014], in dem Herta Müller im Gespräch mit Angelika Klammer ihren eigenen Lebensweg schildert. »Es ist, wie in den erzählenden Büchern Herta Müllers, auch hier ihre Sprache mit den eigenwilligen, genauen Formulierungen und Bilder, in denen Vorstellung und Realität eins sind«, hob die »NZZ« hervor.

Die Autorin ist außerdem bekannt für ihre Collagen, für die sie aus Zeitungen und Zeitschriften ausgeschnittene Wörter und Bilder auf Postkartenformat zusammenstellt. Zuletzt erschien mit »Der Beamte sagte« [2021] eine ganze Erzählung, die auf diese Weise entstanden ist.
2022 wurde Herta Müller in den Orden Pour le mérite für Wissenschaften und Künste aufgenommen. Sie lebt in Berlin.

Stand: 2022