22. ilb 07. - 17.09.2022

Haytham El-Wardany

Haytham El-Wardany was born in Cairo in 1972. After publishing a short story collection with five other authors in 1995, his short story collection »The Unfinished Literature Club«, which won the Egyptian Sawiris Cultural Award, was published in 2003. »Waking Dream« earned him the Cairo International Book Fair Prize in 2012. He contributed the handbook of essays »How to Disappear« to the »Kafyfa ta« [tr: How To] series, edited by Maha Maamoun and Ala Younis, in 2013. The volume contains a series of exercises that focus on the function of listening – because while speakers draw all the attention to themselves, listeners can fade into the background. It explores not only how to disappear, but also how to reappear, listen to your inner voice, change your frequency, or join a group. The appendix, under keywords such as »inner peace« or »ecstasy«, deals with some of the sounds that occur in bourgeois households or, on the contrary, are banned from them.

»The Book of Sleep«, which he had been working on since spring of 2013, when protests against the then President Mohammed Mursi were growing louder in Egypt, was published in 2017. The book deals with the questions of what sleep is, how the seemingly unproductive state of sleeping can be thought of as an action, and who we ourselves are while we sleep. El-Wardany uses resources and forms of poetry, philosophical reflection, political analysis, and classical storytelling to create a fragmentary text that circles but does not constrict its subject. »My concern was not to create a literary product in the conventional sense, but to try and use literature as a methodology for thinking«, he explains. His most recent publication, the short story collection »Irreparable« [2020], earned El-Wardany the Cairo International Book Fair Prize once again.

In addition to writing, he also appears as a translator and has translated texts by Walter Benjamin, among others, into Arabic. He has lived in Berlin since 1999 and has organized writing workshops in Arabic for writers who have fled to Berlin to escape the consequences of the failed revolutions in their home countries.

Date: 2022

22. ilb 07. - 17.09.2022

Haytham El-Wardany

Haytham El-Wardany wurde 1972 in Kairo geboren. Nach einem Kurzgeschichtenband, den er 1995 mit fünf weiteren Autoren veröffentlicht hatte, erschien 2003 sein Kurzgeschichtenband »The Unfinished Literature Club«, der mit dem ägyptischen Sawiris Cultural Award ausgezeichnet wurde. Für »Waking Dream« erhielt er 2012 den Cairo International Book Fair Prize für die beste Kurzgeschichtensammlung. In der von Maha Maamoun und Ala Younis herausgegebenen Reihe »Kayfa ta« [How to] veröffentlichte er die essayistische Handreichung »How to Disappear« [2013]. Der Band enthält eine Reihe von Übungen, in deren Fokus die Funktion des Zuhörens steht – denn während Sprecher:innen alle Aufmerksamkeit auf sich ziehen, können Zuhörer:innen in den Hintergrund treten. Erkundet wird nicht nur, wie man verschwindet, sondern auch, wie man wieder auftaucht, auf seine innere Stimme lauscht, die eigene Frequenz ändert oder sich einer Gruppe anschließt. Der Anhang behandelt unter Stichworten wie »Innerer Frieden« oder »Ekstase« einige Geräusche, die in bürgerlichen Haushalten vorkommen oder im Gegenteil aus diesen verbannt werden.

2017 erschien »The Book of Sleep«, an dem er seit Frühjahr 2013 geschrieben hatte, als in Ägypten die Proteste gegen den damaligen Staatspräsidenten Mohammed Mursi immer lauter wurden. Das Buch beschäftigt sich mit den Fragen, was Schlaf ist, wie der unproduktiv scheinende Zustand des Schlafens als Handlung gedacht werden kann und wer wir selbst sind, während wir schlafen. Haytham El-Wardany nutzt Mittel und Formen der Poesie, der philosophischen Reflexion, der politischen Analyse und des klassischen Erzählens, um einen fragmentarischen Text entstehen zu lassen, der sein Thema umkreist, aber nicht einengt. »Mir ging es nicht darum, ein literarisches Produkt im herkömmlichen Sinne zu schaffen, sondern zu versuchen, Literatur als Denkmethode zu nutzen«, so der Autor. Zuletzt erschien der Kurzgeschichtenband »Irreparable« [2020], für den Haytham El-Wardany erneut den Cairo International Book Fair Prize erhielt.

Neben seiner schriftstellerischen Tätigkeit tritt er auch als Übersetzer in Erscheinung und übertrug u. a. Texte von Walter Benjamin ins Arabische. Er lebt seit 1999 in Berlin und organisierte hier u. a. Schreibworkshops in arabischer Sprache für Schriftsteller:innen, die vor den Folgen der gescheiterten Revolutionen in ihren Heimatländern nach Berlin geflohen sind.

Stand: 2022