22. ilb 07. - 17.09.2022

Haris Vlavianos

Haris Vlavianos was born in Rome in 1957. He studied economics and philosophy at the University of Bristol and political science and history at the University of Oxford, but language, heritage, and his present home make him a Greek author.

Readers with an interest in the field cannot fail to notice Vlavianos’s interest in the poetry of classic contemporary Greek writers such as Konstantinos Cavafis, George Seferis, and Nikos Karousos. Parallels between his verse and that of English-language poets he has translated, like Wallace Stevens and John Ashbery, are just as evident. Vlavianos is always able to maintain a balance between abstraction and sensuality, between rational reflection and creating a suggestive atmosphere. A frequent theme of his poetry is history [both as a concept and as a sequence of events]. His poems usually deal with the twists and turns in his family’s fortunes, which he consciously treats as archetypical examples of emotional dependency, loss, or betrayal. Eroticism and love, on the other hand, appear in his work both in their ambivalence and as the elemental root of happiness. Poetry itself and its endangered status are also a source of inspiration for him. Some of his poems refer directly to current philosophical discourse. Vlavianos expresses himself in a rare elegance of language, combining a basic commitment to formal transparency with a few selectively used syntactical and lexical violations. The sound of this language, despite the structural variety in his verse, gives the reader the impression of reading a stylistically unified body of work. Perhaps this special tone best attests to Vlavianos’s qualitative enrichment of European poetry.

His poetry collections include »O aggelos tis istorias« [1999; tr: The Angel of History] and »Meta to telos tis omorphias« [2003; tr: After the End of Beauty], both nominated for the Greek National Prize. He has also published numerous translations, most recently three collections by the American Nobel Prize winner Louise Glück, as well as works by T.S. Eliot, Emily Dickinson, and many others. In the 2014 autobiographical novel »To aima nero« [2014; tr: Blood into Water], in 45 prose miniatures of varying length, the author examines scenes of his life against the backdrop of settings such as Rome, São Paulo, or Athens and tells the archetypal story of injury and forgiveness. His most recent volume of poetry, »Aftoprosopografia tou lefkou« [2018; tr: Self-Portrait of White], won the National Poetry Prize, the Poetry Prize of the Academy of Athens, the Critic’s Poetry Prize, and the Readers’ Poetry Prize. His most recent work is »Tora tha miliso ego« [2021; tr: Now it’s my Turn to Speak], a dramatic monologue about his relationship with his sister, who died of an overdose three years earlier.

Haris Vlavianos lives in Athens, where he teaches history and history of ideas at the American College of Greece and creative writing at Patakis. He is the publisher of the acclaimed literary journal »Poiitiki« [Poetics].

Date: 2022

23. ilb 06. – 16.09.2023

Haris Vlavianos

Haris Vlavianos wurde 1957 in Rom geboren. Er studierte Wirtschaftswissenschaften und Philosophie in Bristol und Politikwissenschaften und Geschichte in Oxford. Herkunft, Sprache und Wohnort weisen ihn dennoch als griechischen Autor aus.

Kundigen Leser:innen kann Vlavianos’ Interesse an der Dichtung neugriechischer Klassiker wie Konstantinos Kavafis, Giorgos Seferis oder Nikos Karousos nicht entgehen. Mindestens ebenso deutlich sind die Korrespondenzen zwischen seiner Lyrik und den Werken angelsächsischer Autor:innen, die er übersetzt hat, wie Wallace Stevens oder John Ashbery. Dabei gelingt es Vlavianos stets, ein Gleichgewicht zwischen Abstraktion und Sinnlichkeit, zwischen von Rationalität geprägter Reflexion und der Schaffung einer suggestiven Atmosphäre zu wahren. Häufiges Thema ist die Geschichte – als Begriff wie als Folge von Ereignissen. Meist gehen Vlavianos’ Gedichte auch auf Wechselfälle im Leben seiner Familie zurück, die er als archetypische Beispiele von emotionaler Abhängigkeit, Verlust oder Verrat zu behandeln versteht. Dagegen erscheinen Erotik und Liebe in seinem Werk sowohl in ihrer Ambivalenz wie auch als Ursprung eines elementaren Glücksgefühls. Eine Inspirationsquelle ist auch die Dichtung selbst und ihr prekärer Status. Einige seiner Gedichte nehmen direkt auf aktuelle philosophische Diskurse Bezug. Vlavianos bedient sich einer äußerst eleganten Sprache, die eine grundsätzliche Festlegung auf formale Transparenz mit wenigen, gezielt eingesetzten syntaktischen und lexikalischen Normverstößen verbindet. Es ist der Klang dieser Sprache, der ungeachtet der strukturellen Vielfalt von Vlavianos’ Lyrik den Eindruck erweckt, einem stilistisch einheitlichen Werk zu begegnen. Und es mag dieser besondere Klang sein, der dazu berechtigen könnte, von einer qualitativen Bereicherung der europäischen Lyrik durch Vlavianos zu sprechen.

Zu Vlavianosʼ Gedichtbänden gehören die Titel »O aggelos tis istorias« [1999; dt. »Der Engel der Geschichte«, 2001] und »Meta to telos tis omorphias« [2003; dt. »Nach dem Ende der Schönheit«, 2007]. Mit beiden wurde er für den Griechischen Staatspreis nominiert. Daneben veröffentlichte er zahlreiche Übersetzungen, darunter jüngst drei Sammlungen der amerikanischen Nobelpreisträgerin Louise Glück sowie Werke von T. S. Eliot, Gedichte von Emily Dickinsons u. v. m. 2014 erschien der autobiografische Roman »To aima nero« [dt. »Blut ist Wasser«, 2017]. In 45 Prosaminiaturen von unterschiedlicher Länge lässt der Autor Schlüsselszenen seines Lebens vor dem Hintergrund verschiedener Schauplätze wie Rom, São Paulo oder Athen Revue passieren und erzählt die archetypische Geschichte von Verletzung und Vergebung. Sein jüngster Gedichtband »Aftoprosopografia tou lefkou« [2018; Ü: Selbstporträt in Weiß] gewann den National Poetry Prize, den Poetry Prize of the Academy of Athens, den Critic’s Poetry Prize und den Readers’ Poetry Prize. Zuletzt erschien von ihm »Tora tha miliso ego« [2021; Ü: Jetzt spreche ich], ein dramatischer Monolog über die Beziehung zu seiner suchtkranken Schwester, die drei Jahre zuvor an einer Überdosis starb.

Vlavianos lebt in Athen, wo er Geschichte und Ideengeschichte am American College of Greece sowie Kreatives Schreiben lehrt. Er ist außerdem Herausgeber der renommierten Literaturzeitschrift »Poiitiki« [Ü: Dichtung].

Stand: 2022