22. ilb 07. - 17.09.2022

Gulraiz Ahmed Sharif

Gulraiz Sharif was born in Norway in 1984 to Pakistani parents and works in Oslo as a primary school teacher.

In 2020, he released »Hør her’a!« [tr: Listen Up!], his debut novel. The main character is fifteen-year-old Mahmoud Marouf, who looks forward to summer vacations with mixed feelings. Not having school is a good thing. But while many of his Norwegian classmates go on trips, Mahmoud’s family – his parents are from Pakistan, he himself was born in Norway – can’t afford to go away. So Mahmoud, cheeky mouth, golden heart, squats on the bench outside their apartment block with his one-eyed friend Arif from Somalia. When Mahmoud’s family gets a visit from Uncle Ji from Pakistan for two months, the summer break picks up after all. Mahmoud is allowed to play tour guide for his uncle, who becomes so enthusiastic about Norway that he decides to immediately apply for asylum. But that’s not so easy in the Norway of 2020 … Meanwhile, Ali, Mahmoud’s little brother, isn’t behaving quite as his uncle would like or as is generally expected of a Pakistani boy. Ali plays with Barbies, watches Bollywood romances with his mother, and Disney princess Elsa is his hero. One night, he confides in Mahmoud that he would rather be a girl. Soon the whole family knows about his desire, and the conservative Muslim father in particular has his problems with it. But Mahmoud is a good son and a great big brother. He doesn’t allow the family to lose its cohesion.

Gulraiz Sharif gives his first-person narrator an original, distinctive voice. »Researched to the point of obscenity, Mahmoud throws around empty phrases and dirty language, while at the same time showering his little brother with affection. Emotionally and linguistically, the 15-year-old swings violently back and forth – which is typical for his age, but reads extraordinarily funny to outsiders«, according to Deutschlandfunk. The fact that topics such as racism and classism are joined by that of identity has also been received positively by critics. The »Zeit« summarized the work by stating that »›Ey hör mal‹ is in the tradition of Scandinavian literature that has a high proportion of reality, is tough and socially critical, but at the same time creates a positive utopia. Gulraiz Sharif is a very Norwegian author.«

»Hør her’a!« was awarded the debut prize for children’s and young adult literature by the Norwegian Ministry of Culture. A film adaptation of the novel is currently being planned. Gulraiz Sharif lives in Oslo.

Date: 2022

22. ilb 07. - 17.09.2022

Gulraiz Ahmed Sharif

Gulraiz Sharif wurde 1984 als Kind pakistanischer Eltern in Norwegen geboren und arbeitet in Oslo als Grundschullehrer.

2020 legte er mit »Hør her’a!« [dt. »Ey hör mal!«, 2022] seinen Debütroman vor. Hauptfigur ist der fünfzehnjährige Mahmoud Marouf, der den Sommerferien mit gemischten Gefühlen entgegenblickt. Keine Schule zu haben ist schon mal gut. Aber während viele seiner norwegischen Mitschüler:innen verreisen, kann Mahmouds Familie – seine Eltern stammen aus Pakistan, er selbst wurde in Norwegen geboren – sich das nicht leisten. Also hockt Mahmoud, große Klappe, goldenes Herz, zusammen mit seinem einäugigen Freund Arif aus Somalia auf der Bank vor ihrem Wohnblock. Als Mahmouds Familie für zwei Monate Besuch von Onkel Ji aus Pakistan bekommt, nehmen die Ferien doch noch Fahrt auf. Mahmoud darf für seinen Onkel den Stadtführer spielen, und der ist so begeistert von Norwegen, dass er am liebsten sofort Asyl beantragen würde. Doch das ist im Norwegen des Jahres 2020 nicht so einfach … Derweil verhält sich Ali, Mahmouds kleiner Bruder, nicht ganz so, wie der Onkel es gerne hätte oder wie es gemeinhin von einem Pakistani-Jungen erwartet wird. Ali spielt mit Barbies, schaut mit seiner Mutter Bollywood-Romanzen, die Disney-Prinzessin Elsa ist seine Heldin. Eines Nachts vertraut er Mahmoud an, dass er lieber ein Mädchen wäre. Bald weiß die ganze Familie von dem Wunsch, und vor allem der konservative muslimische Vater hat damit seine Probleme. Doch Mahmoud ist ein guter Sohn und ein toller großer Bruder. Er lässt nicht zu, dass die Familie ihren Zusammenhalt verliert.

Gulraiz Sharif verleiht seinem Ich-Erzähler eine originelle, unverwechselbare Stimme. »Forsch bis zur Unflätigkeit schmeißt Mahmoud mit Floskeln und Fäkalbegriffen um sich, um gleichzeitig den kleinen Bruder mit Zärtlichkeiten zu überschütten. Emotional wie sprachlich schwankt der 15-Jährige heftig hin und her – was typisch ist für das Alter, sich für Außenstehende aber außerordentlich witzig liest«, so der Deutschlandfunk. Dass sich zu Themen wie Rassismus und Klassismus auch das der Identität gesellt, wurde von der Kritik ebenfalls positiv hervorgehoben. »›Ey hör mal‹ steht in der Tradition einer skandinavischen Literatur, die einen hohen Realitätsanteil hat, hart und sozialkritisch ist, aber gleichzeitig eine positive Utopie entwirft. Gulraiz Sharif ist ein sehr norwegischer Autor«, resümierte die »Zeit«.

»Hør her’a!« wurde mit dem Debütpreis für Kinder- und Jugendliteratur des norwegischen Kulturministeriums ausgezeichnet. Eine Verfilmung des Romans für das Kino ist in Planung. Gulraiz Sharif lebt in Oslo.

Stand: 2022