23. ilb 06. – 16.09.2023

Giulia Caminito

Giulia Caminito was born in Rome in 1988 and grew up in Anguillara Sabazia on Lago di Bracciano. She studied political philosophy and made her debut in 2016 with the novel »La grande A« [tr: The Big A], which is loosely based on Caminito’s own family history and takes place during the Italian colonial period.

The titular A stands for Africa on the one hand, and on the other for Adi, an Italian adventurer who opened a bar in the port of the Eritrean city of Assab. Her daughter Giada, the novel’s narrator, was left behind with relatives in Milan and does not arrive in Africa until she is a teenager.

Rich in metaphors, lively and without any exoticism, Caminito lets her main character describe this world, which is still very foreign to her at first. Giada falls in love, marries, has a child, then separates again. At the end of the colonial period, her return to the homeland becomes inevitable. The novel has won several awards in Italy.

This was followed by the collection of short stories »Guardavamo gli altri ballare il tango« [2017; tr: We Watched Others Dance The Tango] and the fairy tale »La ballerina e il marinaio« [2018; tr: The Dancer and the Sailor].

She published the novel »Un giorno verrà« [tr: A Day Will Come] in 2019. Two unequal brothers are at the center of the story: Lupo is a staunch anarchist, Nicola more timid and hesitant. The novel weaves together the dramatic story of Lupo and Nicola’s family and their village with world events at the beginning of the 20th century. The »SZ« stated that »With her figurative language and lyrical comparisons, Giulia Caminito sets her own accent.«

Caminito’s third novel »L’acqua del lago non è mai dolce« [2021; tr: The Water of the Lake is Never Sweet] tells of a family in precarious circumstances. Set in the early 1990s, Gaia lives with her parents and siblings in a twenty-square-meter room on the outskirts of Rome. The energetic mother manages to find social housing even further out. Convinced that education is the only way to a better future for her daughter, she sends Gaia to a good school in Rome and makes sure she keeps studying. But despite her success at school – she even eventually makes her way to university – Gaia remains an outsider. And even her hopes for social advancement are ultimately not fulfilled. Over time, her vulnerability turns to anger – with devastating consequences.

The novel was shortlisted for the Italian literary prize Premio Strega in 2021, won the alternative Premio Strega Off and the prestigious Premio Campiello prize, and became a bestseller in Italy. It has been translated into over twenty languages.

In addition to her work as a writer, Giulia Caminito also works as an editor and proofreader. She lives in Rome.

Date: 2022

23. ilb 06. – 16.09.2023

Giulia Caminito

Giulia Caminito wurde 1988 in Rom geboren und wuchs in Anguillara Sabazia am Lago di Bracciano auf. Sie studierte Politische Philosophie und debütierte 2016 mit dem Roman »La grande A« [Ü: Das große A], der lose auf Giulia Caminitos eigener Familiengeschichte basiert und während der italienischen Kolonialzeit spielt. Das titelgebende A steht dabei einerseits für Afrika, andererseits für Adi, eine italienische Abenteurerin, die im Hafen der eritreischen Stadt Assab eine Bar eröffnet hat. Ihre Tochter Giada, Erzählerin des Romans, wurde bei Verwandten in Mailand zurückgelassen und kommt erst als Jugendliche nach Afrika.

Metaphernreich, lebendig und ohne jeglichen Exotismus lässt Giulia Caminito ihre Hauptfigur diese für sie anfangs noch sehr fremde Welt schildern. Giada verliebt sich, heiratet, bekommt ein Kind, trennt sich wieder. Mit dem Ende des Kolonialismus wird die Rückkehr ins Heimatland unvermeidlich. Der Roman wurde in Italien mehrfach ausgezeichnet.

Es folgten die Kurzgeschichtensammlung »Guardavamo gli altri ballare il tango« [2017; Ü: Wir haben anderen beim Tangotanzen zugesehen] und das Märchen »La ballerina e il marinaio« [2018; Ü: Die Tänzerin und der Matrose]. 2019 erschien der Roman »Un giorno verrà« [dt. »Ein Tag wird kommen«, 2020].

Zwei ungleiche Brüder stehen im Mittelpunkt des Geschehens: Lupo ist ein überzeugter Anarchist, Nicola eher ängstlich und zaudernd. Der Roman verknüpft die dramatische Geschichte von Lupos und Nicolas Familie und ihres Dorfs mit dem Weltgeschehen zu Beginn des 20. Jahrhunderts. »Mit ihrer bildhaften Sprache und den lyrischen Vergleichen setzt Giulia Caminito einen eigenen Akzent«, urteilte die »Süddeutsche Zeitung«.

Caminitos dritter Roman »L’acqua del lago non è mai dolce« [2021; dt. »Das Wasser des Sees ist niemals süß«, 2022] erzählt von einer Familie in prekären Verhältnissen. Anfang der 1990er-Jahre lebt Gaia mit ihren Eltern und ihren Geschwistern in einem zwanzig Quadratmeter großen Zimmer am Stadtrand von Rom. Der tatkräftigen Mutter gelingt es, weiter außerhalb der Stadt eine Sozialwohnung zu finden. Überzeugt, dass Bildung der einzige Weg zu einer besseren Zukunft für ihre Tochter ist, schickt sie Gaia auf eine gute Schule in Rom und hält sie zum Lernen an. Doch trotz ihrer schulischen Erfolge – sie besucht schließlich sogar die Universität – bleibt Gaia eine Außenseiterin. Und auch die Hoffnung auf einen sozialen Aufstieg erfüllt sich letztlich nicht. Mit der Zeit wandelt sich ihre Verletzlichkeit in Wut – mit verheerenden Folgen.

Der Roman stand 2021 auf der Shortlist des italienischen Literaturpreises Premio Strega, gewann den alternativen Premio Strega Off sowie den renommierten Publikumspreis Premio Campiello und avancierte in Italien zum Bestseller. Er wurde in über zwanzig Sprachen übersetzt.

Neben ihrer Tätigkeit als Schriftstellerin arbeitet Giulia Caminito auch als Herausgeberin und Lektorin. Sie lebt in Rom.