23. ilb 06. – 16.09.2023

Georg Stefan Troller

Portrait Georg Stefan Troller
© Norbert Schmidt

Georg Stefan Troller was born in Vienna in 1921 and served an apprenticeship as a bookbinder. At sixteen, shortly after the November pogroms, he fled Nazi persecution via Czechoslovakia to France, carrying Karl Kraus’ »The Last Days of Mankind« in his luggage. He obtained an American visa in Marseille in 1941. In the U.S., he was drafted into military service in 1943 and arrived in Germany as a young GI in a team of German-speaking prisoner interrogators. He then studied English and drama at the University of California in Los Angeles, among other institutions, and began working as a reporter for newspapers and radio.

Troller became famous with the WDR television magazine »Pariser Journal«, which he hosted and produced over fifty episodes between 1962 and 1971, often going against the station’s conventions. He later reflected on his involvement, stating that »This program is what made me a human being in the first place«. Among those interviewed were countless celebrities as well as »eccentrics, strays, womanizers«. According to Troller’s autobiography » Selbstbeschreibung« (1988/2009; tr: Self Description), which he later filmed himself, he focused on »the wild, bourgeois Paris, the living city«. He approached them in a uniquely determined way. With biographically based urgency and direct, often existential questions, he elicited from them their respective truths. Equally characteristic are his polished comments, often imbued with ironic humour, which also characterized his later portrait series »Personenbeschreibung« (tr: Description of People). The tireless investigator described himself as a »human admirer, human capturer, human explorer« and, has been often described as a »man-eater«, who views his work as connected with the existential fear of persecution. As he writes in the portrait volume »Lebensgeschichten« (2007): »This passionate handling of language, where else does it come from but from the painful youthful experience of expulsion, not only from the homeland, but also from its linguistic space. And from the almost grotesque longing for German words, over years of emigration«.

In addition to several documentary films, he has written numerous screenplays, including Axel Corti’s trilogy »Wohin und zurück« (Eng. »Welcome in Vienna«) and Robert Schindel’s adaptation of the novel »Gebürtig« (tr: By Birth), as well as several volumes about Paris and his encounters with celebrities and artists. He has repeatedly received the Grimme Prize and the Golden Nymph of the Monte Carlo Television Festival and has also been honoured with the Erich Salomon Prize (1975), the Television Film Prize of the German Academy of Performing Arts (1986), the Federal Cross of Merit (2002), the Schiller Prize of the City of Mannheim (2012), and the Honourary Prize of the German Documentary Film Award (2021), among others. Troller has lived in Paris since 1949.

22. ilb 07. - 17.09.2022

Georg Stefan Troller

Georg Stefan Troller wurde 1921 in Wien geboren und machte eine Lehre als Buchbinder. Mit sechzehn, kurz nach den Novemberpogromen, floh er vor der nationalsozialistischen Verfolgung über die Tschechoslowakei nach Frankreich, im Gepäck Karl Kraus’ »Die letzten Tage der Menschheit«. 1941 erhielt er in Marseille ein amerikanisches Visum. In den USA wurde er 1943 zum Militärdienst eingezogen und kam als junger GI in einem Team von deutschsprachigen Gefangenenvernehmern nach Deutschland. Anschließend studierte er Anglistik und Theaterwissenschaften u. a. an der University of California in Los Angeles und begann als Reporter für Zeitungen und den Rundfunk zu arbeiten.

Berühmt wurde Troller mit dem WDR-Fernsehmagazin »Pariser Journal«, das er über fünfzig Folgen hinweg zwischen 1962 und 1971, oft entgegen den Konventionen des Senders, moderierte und produzierte. »Diese Sendung hat mich überhaupt erst zum Menschen gemacht«, resümierte er später. Unter seinen Gesprächspartner*innen waren zahllose Berühmtheiten ebenso wie »Exzentriker, Streuner, Mädchenaufreißer« – »das wilde unbürgerliche Paris, das lebendige«, so Troller in seiner Autobiografie, der (später selbst verfilmten) »Selbstbeschreibung« (1988/2009). Ihnen näherte er sich auf einzigartig-eigenwillige Weise. Mit biografisch begründeter Dringlichkeit und direkten, oft existenziellen Fragen entlockte er ihnen ihre jeweiligen Wahrheiten. Ebenso charakteristisch sind seine geschliffenen, oftmals von ironischem Humor durchdrungenen Kommentare, die auch seine spätere Porträt-Reihe »Personenbeschreibung« prägten. Als »Menschenbewunderer, Menschenerfasser, Menschenerforscher« und viel zitiert auch als »Menschenfresser« bezeichnete sich der unermüdliche Dokumentarist, der seine Arbeit mit der existenziellen Angst der Verfolgung verbunden sieht: »Dieser passionierte Umgang mit Sprache, woher kommt er denn anders als aus schmerzlicher Jugenderfahrung der Vertreibung, nicht nur von der Heimat, sondern auch ihrem Sprachraum. Und aus der geradezu grotesken Sehnsucht nach deutschen Worten, über Jahre der Emigration hinweg«, schreibt er in dem Porträtband »Lebensgeschichten« (2007).

Neben etlichen Dokumentarfilmen verfasste er zahlreiche Drehbücher (u. a. für Axel Cortis Trilogie »Wohin und zurück« und Robert Schindels Romanverfilmung »Gebürtig«) sowie mehrere Bände über Paris und seine Begegnungen mit Prominenten und Künstler*innen. Wiederholt erhielt er den Grimme-Preis sowie die Goldene Nymphe des Fernsehfestivals von Monte Carlo und wurde zudem u. a. mit dem Erich-Salomon-Preis (1975), dem Fernsehfilmpreis der Deutschen Akademie der Darstellenden Künste (1986), dem Bundesverdienstkreuz (2002), dem Schillerpreis der Stadt Mannheim (2012) und dem Ehrenpreis des Deutschen Dokumentarfilmpreises (2021) geehrt. Troller lebt seit 1949 in Paris.