23. ilb 06. – 16.09.2023

Ferit Edgü

Ferit Edgü was born in Istanbul in 1936.  He is one of the leading writers of contemporary Turkish literature and has been publishing poems, novellas, reviews and essays in avant-garde periodicals since 1952.

His first book, »Kaçkinlar« (t: The Departed), published in 1959, is an account of an adolescent in search of his identity.  Since then, Edgü has published four novels, one of which, »Bir Gemide« (1979, t: On a Boat), received the Sait Faik Award (the Turkish Prix de Goncourt) in 1979.

That same year, his book of essays entitled »Ders Notlarý« (1979; t: Course Notes) received an award from The Academy of the Turkish Language.  Edgü is also the author of a volume of poems, and of a book entitled »Yazmak Eylemi« (1980; t: The Act of Writing), which is a scholarly work on literary styles, and he has written several books of essays on contemporary art and artists.  He has also published the novels »Kimse« (1980; t: No-one), »Hakkâri’de Bir Mevsim« (t: A Season in Hakkâri), and »Eylülün Gölgesinde Bir Yazdý« (1988; t: Under the Shade of September).

A movie based on his novel »A Season in Hâkkari« was made, bearing the same title. The film, a Turkish-German co-production, received four awards including the Silver Bear at the 33rd Berlin Film Festival.  Despite the great success it enjoyed abroad (i.e. Grand Prix at the 1983 Bastia Festival, and Film of the Month in Germany in August 1983), the film remained banned in Turkey but the book ran six successive editions and remained on bestseller lists for a long time.  »A Season in Hakkâri« has been translated into French, German, Italian, Japanese and Chinese.

© international literature festival berlin

23. ilb 06. – 16.09.2023

Ferit Edgü

Ferit Edgü wurde 1936 in Istanbul geboren. Er ist einer der führenden Schriftsteller der zeitgenössischen türkischen Literatur. Seit 1952 veröffentlichte er Gedichte, Geschichten, Kritiken und Essays in Avantgarde-Zeitschriften.

Sein erstes Buch »Kaçkinlar« (Ü: Die Flüchtlinge) erzählt die Geschichte eines Jugendlichen, der auf der Suche nach seiner Identität ist. Es erschien 1959. Seitdem veröffentlichte Edgü vier Romane, von denen »Bir Gemide« (1979; Ü: Auf einem Boot) 1979 mit dem Sait-Faik-Preis (dem türkischen Prix Goncourt) ausgezeichnet wurde.

Im selben Jahr erhielt er für seinen Essayband »Ders Notlarý« (1979; Ü: Schulnoten) den Preis der Akademie der türkischen Sprache. Edgü ist Autor eines Lyrikbandes, veröffentlichte mit »Yazmak Eylemi« (1980; Ü: Der Akt des Schreibens) ein Lehrbuch über literarische Stile und viele weitere Essaybände über zeitgenössische Kunst und Künstler. Zudem verfasste er drei weitere Romane: »Kimse« (1980; Ü: Niemand), »Hakkâri’de Bir Mevsim« (1977; dt. »Ein Winter in Hakkari«, 1987) und »Eylülün Gölgesinde Bir Yazdý« (1988; dt. »Ein Sommer im Septemberschatten«, 1990).

Sein Roman »Ein Winter in Hakkari« wurde unter dem Titel »Eine Saison in Hakkari« verfilmt. Die türkisch-deutsche Koproduktion wurde mit vier Preisen ausgezeichnet, darunter der Silberne Bär der 33. Berliner Filmfestspiele. Trotz des großen Erfolgs, den der Film im Ausland hatte (Grand Prix beim Bastia Film Festival und Film des Monats in Deutschland im August 1983), blieb er in der Türkei verboten. Das Buch allerdings erschien in der Türkei in sechs Auflagen und hielt sich dort lange Zeit in den Bestsellerlisten. »Hakkâri’de Bir Mevsim« wurde ins Französische, Deutsche, Italienische, Japanische und Chinesische übersetzt.

© internationales literaturfestival berlin