23. ilb 06. – 16.09.2023

Michel Faber

Michel Faber was born in The Hague in 1960. When he was seven years old, he moved with his parents to Australia, where he grew up on the outskirts of Melbourne. After high school he studied Dutch, philosophy, rhetoric, and English at the University of Melbourne until 1980. He then did various odd jobs before training to be a nurse. In 1993 he emigrated to Scotland and settled near the city of Inverness. The death of Faber’s second wife in 2014 was the impulse for his poetry collection »Undying« (2016). Faber had previously taken part in several short story competitions in the 1990s. The Edinburgh-based publisher Canongate Books took interest in him and has published Faber’s works in the United Kingdom ever since.

In 1998 Faber made his début with the short story collection »Some Rain Must Fall«. His first novel »Under the Skin« (2000) combines elements of science fiction with those of the horror and thriller genres and is set in the Scottish Highlands, where an alien in human form is searching for male henchmen to drug and send to her home planet. The book has been translated into more than ten languages and helped Faber make his international breakthrough. This was followed by the novel »The Hundred and Ninety-Nine Steps« (2001), which tells the story of a young archaeologist who has been plagued by nightmares since the death of her boyfriend and who joins an excavation in Whitby to distract herself. There she meets a man who is currently restoring an 18th-century manuscript, the content of which is mysteriously linked to her nightmares. Faber’s novel »The Courage Consort« (2002) is dedicated to vanities in the cultural industry. After twenty years of preparatory work, the sweeping novel »The Crimson Petal and the White« (2003) was published in 2002. It takes place in London in the 1870s and deals with the rise and fall of a 19-year-old prostitute named Sugar. Faber describes life in Victorian London in a detailed, sensual, and socially critical way. In his most recent novel »The Book of Strange New Things« (2014), a young pastor takes on a special task: he is to go to a distant planet as a missionary. While he is converting aliens, he learns about apocalyptic phenomena such as natural disasters and civil war on Earth from his wife’s weekly e-mails.

Faber has received numerous awards for his work, including the Neil Gunn Prize, the Macallan Prize, and the Saltire First Book of the Year Award. His works »Under the Skin« and »The Crimson Petal and the White« have been adapted to film.

23. ilb 06. – 16.09.2023

Michel Faber

Michel Faber wurde 1960 in Den Haag geboren. Als er sieben Jahre alt war, zog er mit seinen Eltern nach Australien, wo er am Rand von Melbourne aufwuchs. Nach der Schulzeit studierte er bis 1980 an der University of Melbourne Niederländisch, Philosophie, Rhetorik und Englisch. Danach hatte er verschiedene Gelegenheitsjobs, bevor er sich zum Krankenpfleger ausbilden ließ. 1993 wanderte er nach Schottland aus und lebte fortan nahe der Stadt Inverness. Fabers zweite Frau starb 2014, was der Anlass für seine Gedichtsammlung »Undying« (2016) war. Zuvor hatte sich Faber in den neunziger Jahren an mehreren Kurzgeschichtenwettbewerben beteiligt. Der in Edinburgh ansässige Verlag Canongate Books wurde auf ihn aufmerksam und publiziert seither Fabers Werke in Großbritannien.

1998 debütierte Faber mit dem Kurzgeschichtenband »Some Rain Must Fall« (Ü: Regen muss fallen). Seine erste Romanveröffentlichung »Under the Skin« (2000; dt. »Die Weltenwanderin«, 2000) kombiniert Elemente des Science-Fiction mit solchen des Horror- und Thriller-Genres und spielt in den schottischen Highlands, wo eine Außerirdische in menschlicher Gestalt auf der Suche nach männlichen Anhaltern unterwegs ist, die sie unter Drogen setzt und auf ihren Heimatplaneten schickt. Das Buch wurde in mehr als zehn Sprachen übersetzt und verhalf Faber zum internationalen Durchbruch. Es folgte der Roman »The Hundred and Ninety-Nine Steps« (2001; dt. »Hundertneunundneunzig Stufen«, 2005), der von einer jungen Archäologin erzählt, die seit dem Tod ihres Freundes von Albträumen geplagt wird und sich zur Ablenkung einer Ausgrabung in Whitby anschließt. Dort trifft sie einen Mann, der gerade ein Manuskript aus dem 18. Jahrhundert restauriert, dessen Inhalt auf mysteriöse Weise mit ihren Albträumen zusammenhängt. Fabers Roman »The Courage Consort« (2002; dt. »Die Unvollendete«, 2004) widmet sich den Eitelkeiten im Kulturbetrieb. Nach zwanzig Jahren Vorarbeit erschien 2002 der umfangreiche Roman »The Crimson Petal and the White« (dt. »Das karmesinrote Blütenblatt«, 2003). Er spielt im London der 1870er Jahre und handelt von Aufstieg und Fall einer 19-jährigen Prostituierten namens Sugar. Detailliert, sinnlich und sozialkritisch beschreibt Faber das Leben im viktorianischen London. In seinem jüngsten Roman »The Book of Strange New Things« (2014; dt. »Das Buch der seltsamen neuen Dinge«, 2018) übernimmt ein junger Pastor eine besondere Aufgabe: Er soll einen fernen Planeten missionieren. Während er Seelsorge für Außerirdische betreibt, erfährt er aus den wöchentlichen E-Mails seiner Frau von apokalyptischen Erscheinungen wie Naturkatastrophen und Bürgerkrieg auf der Erde.

Für sein Werk wurde Faber mit zahlreichen Preisen geehrt, darunter dem Neil Gunn Prize, dem Macallan Prize und dem Saltire First Book of the Year Award. Seine Werke »Under the Skin« und »The Crimson Petal and the White« wurden verfilmt.