23. ilb 06. - 16.09.2023

Everett Glenn

Everett Glenn was born in Cleveland, Ohio in 1985. He began drawing as a child and was supported by his teachers because, according to his own account, he was otherwise a very impetuous boy. This is how his first comics came into being. His mother died when he was only sixteen and he was sent to a home for boys. He attended the Cleveland School of the Arts, a high school with an artistic focus, and was adopted into the principal’s family when he was eighteen. He then joined the Navy, where he was able to continue drawing.

Glenn spent many years in New York, selling his comics in the underground and indie scenes. His path eventually led him to Leipzig; comic artist Ralph Niese, who died in 2020, was his mentor. Glenn lost his wife Camino, with whom he had commuted between Vienna and Berlin, in 2021.

Everett Glenn began keeping graphic-novel-style diaries at an early age. Hiding his personal experiences behind action scenes thus became a method. Stylistically, he is indebted to the ligne claire of Franco-Belgian comics from the 1980s, but a variety of other influences are also recognizable, for example those of Ralph Bakshi and his adult cartoons from the 1970s.

In his debut, »Unsmooth #1« [2020], Glenn puts his alter ego in the spotlight. As an aspiring artist struggling with self-doubt and ambivalence about the art scene, he joins a gang of small-time gangsters and becomes entangled in their criminal enterprises. According to »The Comic Journal«, »It is a complex meditation on masculinity, race, class, the art world and the act of cartooning, dressed up to look like a stylish thriller, and drawn with heaps of confidence and skill.« The follow-up volume, »Unsmooth #2: BAM« [2021], is the prequel to the debut. In a formally experimental and multi-layered approach, Glenn explores the feeling of existential fear.

Glenn has been a regular cartoonist for »The New Yorker« since 2020. He lives in Berlin.

Date: 2022

23. ilb 06. – 16.09.2023

Everett Glenn

Everett Glenn wurde 1985 in Cleveland, Ohio geboren. Er begann bereits als Kind zu zeichnen und wurde darin, da er laut eigener Aussage ansonsten ein sehr ungestümer Junge war, auch von seinen Lehrer:innen unterstützt. So entstanden seine ersten Comics. Seine Mutter starb, als er erst sechzehn war, und er kam in ein Heim für Jungen. Er besuchte die Cleveland School of the Arts, eine Highschool mit künstlerischem Schwerpunkt, und wurde mit achtzehn von der Schulleiterin in ihre Familie aufgenommen. Anschließend ging er zur Navy, wo ihm seitens der Ausbilder erlaubt wurde, weiter zu zeichnen.

Everett Glenn verbrachte viele Jahre in New York und verkaufte seine Comics in der Underground- und Indie-Szene. Sein Weg führte ihn schließlich nach Leipzig; der im Jahr 2020 verstorbene Comiczeichner Ralph Niese war sein Mentor. 2021 verlor Glenn seine Frau Camino, mit der er zwischen Wien und Berlin gependelt war.

Everett Glenn begann früh, ein Tagebuch im Graphic-Novel-Stil zu führen. Seine persönliche Geschichte hinter Actionszenen zu verstecken wurde dabei zur Methode. Stilistisch ist er der Ligne claire frankobelgischer Comics der 1980er-Jahre verpflichtet, aber auch vielfältige andere Einflüsse sind erkennbar, beispielsweise die von Ralph Bakshi und seinen Zeichentrickfilmen für Erwachsene aus den 1970er-Jahren.

In seinem Debüt »Unsmooth #1« [2020] lässt Glenn sein Alter Ego auftreten. Als aufstrebender Künstler, der mit Selbstzweifeln zu kämpfen hat und der Kunstszene ambivalent gegenübersteht, schließt er sich einer Bande von Kleinganoven an und wird in deren kriminelle Machenschaften verstrickt. »Eine komplexe Meditation über Männlichkeit, race, class, die Kunstwelt und den Akt des Zeichnens, die wie ein stylisher Thriller daherkommt und mit viel Selbstvertrauen und Können gezeichnet ist«, urteilte »The Comic Journal«. Der Folgeband »Unsmooth #2: BAM« [2021] stellt die Vorgeschichte zum Debüt dar. Formal experimentell und vielschichtig angelegt, erforscht Glenn darin das Gefühl der existenziellen Angst.

Seit 2020 ist Everett Glenn regelmäßig als Cartoonist für »The New Yorker« tätig. Er lebt in Berlin.

Stand: 2022