23. ilb 06. – 16.09.2023

Eva Sichelschmidt

Portrait Eva Sichelschmidt
© Hartwig Klappert

Eva Sichelschmidt was born in 1970 in Wuppertal. She studied fashion design in Berlin and worked as a costume designer for movies and operas during the ‘90s. She has been a self-employed entrepreneur since 1997, and made a name for herself as the owner of »Whisky & Cigars« in Berlin-Mitte, where she also hosted a literary salon with readings, discussions and presentations featuring Katja Lange-Müller, Martin Mosebach and the late Alan Sillitoe, among others. Sichelschmidt is also the author of Fiona Bennett’s biography »Vom Locken der Federn« (2013; tr. The temptation of feathers), which tells of the famous milliner’s 25 years in the profession, myriad encounters with the stars and unconventional way of life.

Eva Sichelschmidt’s first novel »Die Ruhe weg« (2017; tr. The epitomy of calm) describes a couple’s midlife crisis. Initially 49-year-old Marlies moved to Berlin to live life to the full. Now, though, her surroundings have become bourgeois and joyless and she feels restless. Her husband used to play in a rock band but now has to earn a living by working as a session guitarist on a musical. When an affair crashes and burns, Marlies decides to leave it all behind and to start afresh in Italy. Sichelschmidt’s book is more than just a tale of a midlife crisis. It pointedly and humorously takes on the areas of Berlin which were still young and cool in the ‘90s, giving them a rather unflattering review; the creatives who moved in back then have since become stuck in their own middle-class conflicts. Critics have praised this aspect of the novel, among others. For example, Claudia von Duehren (»BZ«) writes, »This book has the potential to become the Bible of the cappuccino moms on Kollwitzplatz.«

Her novel “Bis wieder einer weint” tells the story of Wilhelm and Inga. They are a dream couple when they meet in the 1950s, but shortly after the birth of their second child, Inga dies of leukemia. The younger daughter is given to her grandparents, the older one stays with her father. In order to escape the constraints of family and church, the father builds a house miles away from the nearest neighbor. »A saga of the German Ruhr district, that, despite the panoramic scope, manages to get very close to its characters.« [WAZ]

Eva Sichelschmidt lives in Berlin and Rom.

22. ilb 07. - 17.09.2022

Eva Sichelschmidt

Eva Sichelschmidt, geboren 1970 in Wuppertal, studierte Modedesign in Berlin und war in den neunziger Jahren als Kostümbildnerin für Film und Oper tätig. Seit 1997 ist sie selbstständige Unternehmerin und Inhaberin von »Whisky & Cigars« in Berlin-Mitte, wo sie auch einen literarischen Salon mit Lesungen, Gesprächen und Vorträgen u. a. mit Katja Lange-Müller, Martin Mosebach und dem mittlerweile verstorbenen Alan Sillitoe ausrichtete. 2013 schrieb sie die Biografie von Fiona Bennett »Vom Locken der Federn«, in der die bekannte Hutdesignerin von 25 Jahren beruflicher Tätigkeit, zahlreichen Begegnungen mit Berühmtheiten sowie aus ihrem unkonventionellen Leben erzählt.

Eva Sichelschmidts erster Roman »Die Ruhe weg« (2017) zeigt die Krise eines Paares in mittleren Jahren. Die 49-jährige Marlies, die einst nach Berlin zog, um das Leben in vollen Zügen genießen, fühlt sich in ihrer mittlerweile verspießerten und freudlosen Umgebung unwohl. Ihr Mann, der früher in einer Rockband spielte, muss mittlerweile sein Geld als Aushilfsgitarrist in einer Musicalproduktion verdienen. Als ein Seitensprung mit einer Bruchlandung endet, beschließt Marlies, alles hinter sich zu lassen und in Italien einen Neuanfang zu wagen. Sichelschmidts Buch ist mehr als nur die Beschreibung einer Krise in mittleren Jahren. Pointiert und amüsant stellt es gleichzeitig den Biotopen der in den neunziger Jahren noch jungen und innovativen Szeneviertel von Berlin eine ungeschönte Diagnose. Die Kreativen, die damals hierher zogen, sind mittlerweile in kleinbürgerlichen Konflikten stecken geblieben. Die Kritik lobte u. a. auch diesen Aspekt des Romans: »Das Buch hat das Potenzial zur Bibel für die Latte-macchiato-Mütter vom Kollwitzplatz«, schrieb beispielsweise Claudia von Duehren (»BZ«).

Ihr Roman »Bis wieder einer weint« handelt von Wilhelm und Inga. Die beiden sind ein Traumpaar, als sie sich in den 1950er Jahren kennenlernen, doch kurz nach der Geburt des zweiten Kindes stirbt Inga an Leukämie. Die jüngere Tochter wird zu den Großeltern gegeben, die ältere bleibt beim Vater. Der baut sich, um familiären und freikirchlichen Zwängen zu entfliehen, ein Haus, kilometerweit vom nächsten Grundstück. »Eine Ruhrgebietssaga, der trotz des Panaromablicks das Kunststück gelingt, sehr nah an ihre Figuren heranzurücken.«[WAZ]

Eva Sichelschmidt ging diversen Tätigkeiten in Kunst, Literatur und Mode nach. Sie lebt in Berlin und Rom.