23. ilb 06. – 16.09.2023

Elisa Shua Dusapin

Portrait Elisa Shua Dusapin
Elisa Shua Dusapin [© Romain Guélat]

Elisa Shua Dusapin was born in France in 1992 to a French father and a South Korean mother and grew up in Paris, Seoul, and Porrentruy, a town in the Swiss canton of Jura. She studied at the Swiss Literature Institute in Biel and presented her debut novel, »Hiver à Sokcho« [Eng. »Winter in Sokcho«, 2020], in 2016.

In the South Korean coastal town of Sokcho, a French comic artist and the narrator of the novel meet. He is a guest at the boarding house where she works. He is seeking silence and inspiration in the barren landscape. She supports her single mother and dreams of a life in France, where her father comes from. Through conversations and walks through the wintry no-man’s land near the North Korean border, the two become closer to each other step by step, sentence by sentence. With clear, concentrated language and a great deal of sensitivity, Elisa Shua Dusapin’s first novel tells a story of hope, longing, and tenderness. The jury of the Robert Walser Prize, which she was awarded in 2016, declared the novel »a small masterpiece«. The English translation received the prestigious US National Book Award in the Translated Literature category in 2021.

Elisa Shua Dusapin’s second novel »Les Billes du Pachinko« [2018; Eng. »The Pachinko Parlour«, 2022] is again narrated by a young woman. Claire’s grandparents live in Tokyo, where her grandfather runs a pachinko parlor. The war drove them from their home in Korea to Japan; they have not been back home since. Now Claire is trying to convince her grandparents to take a trip back to revisit their roots. Once again characterized by a sober writing style, the novel makes the ambivalent family relationships as palpable as the atmosphere in the different places. It was awarded a Swiss Literature Award in 2019.

Her most recent publication, »Vladivostok Circus« [2020], follows the story of Nino, Anton, and Anna, three circus artists, as they prepare for an international competition in Vladivostok. The goal is to perform four triple somersaults on the Russian barre. To achieve this, Anna must be able to rely completely on Nino and Anton. Narrated by the costume designer Nathalie, this novel, like its two predecessors, highlights a unique set of relationships. »Le Figaro« declared that »each of her words contains a world…The author’s style is as beautiful as the relationships she describes. She remains true to herself and allows cultures and continents to embrace each other in a poetic way. A sublime spectacle.«

The author lives near Porrentruy, Switzerland.

Date: 2022

23. ilb 06. - 16.09.2023

Elisa Shua Dusapin

Elisa Shua Dusapin wurde 1992 als Tochter eines Franzosen und einer Südkoreanerin in Frankreich geboren und wuchs in Paris, Seoul und Porrentruy, einem Ort im Schweizer Kanton Jura, auf. Sie studierte am Schweizerischen Literaturinstitut in Biel und legte 2016 mit »Hiver à Sokcho« [dt. »Ein Winter in Sokcho«, 2018] ihr Romandebüt vor.

Im südkoreanischen Küstenort Sokcho treffen ein französischer Comiczeichner und die Erzählerin des Romans aufeinander. Er ist Gast der Pension, in der sie arbeitet, und sucht in der kargen Landschaft nach Stille und Inspiration. Sie unterstützt ihre alleinstehende Mutter und träumt von einem Leben in Frankreich, woher ihr Vater stammt. Mit Gesprächen und Spaziergängen durch das winterliche Niemandsland nahe der nordkoreanischen Grenze nähern die beiden sich Schritt für Schritt, Satz für Satz einander an. Mit einer klaren, konzentrierten Sprache und viel Feingefühl erzählt Elisa Shua Dusapin in ihrem Erstling von Hoffnung, Sehnsucht und Zärtlichkeit. »Ein kleines Meisterwerk«, urteilte die Jury des Robert-Walser-Preises, mit dem der Roman 2016 ausgezeichnet wurde. Die englische Version erhielt 2021 den renommierten US-amerikanischen National Book Award in der Kategorie Übersetzte Literatur.

Elisa Shua Dusapins zweiter Roman »Les Billes du Pachinko« [2018; Ü: Die Pachinko-Kugeln] erzählt wieder von einer jungen Frau. Claires Großeltern leben in Tokio, ihr Großvater betreibt dort eine Pachinko-Spielhalle. Ursprünglich stammen sie aus Korea. Der Krieg hat sie nach Japan getrieben; seitdem waren sie nicht mehr in ihrer Heimat. Nun versucht Claire, ihre Großeltern zu einer Reise zurück zu ihren Wurzeln zu überzeugen. Erneut durch einen nüchternen Schreibstil gekennzeichnet, lässt der Roman die ambivalenten Familienbeziehungen ebenso spürbar werden wie die Atmosphäre an den unterschiedlichen Orten. Er wurde 2019 mit dem Schweizer Literaturpreis ausgezeichnet.

Zuletzt erschien »Vladivostok Circus« [2020; Ü: Zirkus Wladiwostok]: Nino, Anton und Anna, drei Zirkusartist:innen, bereiten sich in Wladiwostok auf einen internationalen Wettbewerb vor. Vier Dreifachsaltos auf dem russischen Barren sind das Ziel. Dafür muss Anna sich voll und ganz auf Nino und Anton verlassen können. Erzählt von der Kostümschneiderin Nathalie, beleuchtet dieser Roman wie schon seine beiden Vorgänger ein einzigartiges Beziehungsgefüge. »Jedes ihrer Worte enthält eine Welt«, urteilte »Le Figaro«. »Der Stil der Autorin ist genauso schön wie die Beziehungen, die sie beschreibt. Sie bleibt sich selbst treu und lässt Kulturen und Kontinente einander auf poetische Weise umarmen. Ein erhabenes Schauspiel.«

Die Autorin lebt in der Nähe von Porrentruy, Schweiz.

Stand: 2022