23. ilb 06. – 16.09.2023

Eddy van Vliet

Eddy van Vliet was born in 1942 in Antwerp.  The writer, who also worked as a lawyer in his home town, was one of the best known Flemish contemporary literary figures.  Already at the age of 22 he wrote his debut with the poetry volume ‘Hed lied van ik’. Since then he published more than a dozen poetry volumes, including ‘Due’ (1967), ‘Het grote verdriet’ (1974), ‘Jaren na maart’ (1983) and ‘De toekomstige dief’ (1991).  He became known outside Belgium when, in 1967, he became the first Fleming to receive the Dutch ‘Reina Prinsen Geerligs Prijs’. He was also awarded the ‘Ark-Prijs van het Vrije Woord’ (1969), the ‘Jan Campert Prijs’ (1974) and the ‘Belgium State Prize for Poetry’ (1989). Van Vliet’s poems have been translated into many European languages.

Van Vliet also made a name for himself as an essayist, for example with the much discussed volume ‘Poêzie: een pleiooi’. In ‘Vader’ (2001) Eddy van Vliet involves himself with the adventure of the long poem and manages this ‘tour de force’ with style. For his only prose work ‘Een lekker hapje voor Winston’ (1996) his colleague, the internationally acclaimed romancier and lyric poet Hugo Claus, contributed the illustrations.

Eddy van Vliet’s poetry is often described as down to earth and with a vigorous sense of purpose.  The vulnerability of human existence, the longing for security, the resistance against alienation and death are all central themes of his works. At the latest with his poetry volume ‘Zoals in een fresco de kleur’ (1996) Eddy van Vliet found an almost classical, symbolic tone which, according to critics, represented a high point for Flemish-Dutch contemporary literature.  Eddy van Vliet passed away in Antwerp in 2002.

© international literature festival berlin

23. ilb 06. – 16.09.2023

Eddy van Vliet

Eddy van Vliet wurde 1942 in Antwerpen geboren. Der nebenbei als Rechtsanwalt in seiner Heimatstadt arbeitende Dichter war einer der international bekanntesten flämischen Gegenwartsliteraten. Bereits im Alter von 22 Jahren debütierte er mit dem Lyrikband »Hed lied van ik«. Seither hat er mehr als ein Dutzend Gedichtbände veröffentlicht, darunter »Due« (1967), »Het grote verdriet« (1974), »Jaren na maart« (1983) und »De toekomstige dief« (1991). Als er 1967 als erster Flame den renommierten niederländischen »Reina Prinsen Geerlings Prijs« erhielt, wurde er auch außerhalb Belgiens bekannt. Daneben wurde er mit dem »Ark-Prijs van het Vrije Woord« (1969), dem »Jan Campert Prijs« (1974) und dem »Belgischen Staatspreis für Poesie« (1989) ausgezeichnet. Van Vliets Gedichte sind in zahlreiche europäische Sprachen übersetzt worden.

Auch als Essayist machte sich Vliet einen Namen, so z.B. mit dem viel diskutiertem Band »Poêzie: een pleiooi«. In »Vader« (2001) ließ sich Eddy van Vliet auf das Abenteuer des Langgedichts ein und bewältigte diese »tour de force« mit Bravour. Zu seinem einzigen Prosaband »Een lekker hapje voor Winston« (1996) steuerte sein Kollege, der weltberühmte Romancier und Lyriker Hugo Claus, die Illustrationen bei.

Eddy van Vliets Lyrik wurde immer wieder als zupackend, schnörkellos und sozial engagiert beschrieben. Die Verletzbarkeit der menschlichen Existenz, die Sehnsucht nach Sicherheit, der Widerstand gegen Entfremdung und Tod waren die großen Themen seines Werkes. Spätestens mit dem Gedichtband »Zoals in een fresco de kleur« (1996) fand Eddy van Vliet einen geradezu klassisch anmutenden, symbolistischen Ton, der nach Kritikermeinung einen Höhepunkt der flämisch-niederländischen Gegenwartsliteratur darstellte. Eddy van Vliet starb 2002 in Antwerpen.

© internationales literaturfestival berlin