David Van Reybrouck

Portrait David Van Reybrouck
David Van Reybrouck [© Lenny Oosterwijk]

The Dutch-speaking Belgian author, historian, and archaeologist David Van Reybrouck was born in Bruges in 1971. He studied archaeology and philosophy in Leuven, obtained a master’s degree in archaeology from Cambridge University, and completed his PhD at Leiden University in 2000. Initially, he worked for the Archives of European Archaeology and as a cultural historian at the University of Leuven. He was also editor of the journal »Archaeological Dialogues« and participated in various anthropological exhibition projects.

In 2001, Van Reybrouck made his debut as an author with »De Plaag« [tr: The Plague], which weaves together the themes of South Africa, entomology, and Maeterlinck in a mixture of biography, autobiography, and reporting. The book was nominated for various prizes and won several awards, and Van Reybrouck himself adapted it for the stage. After the success of his second play, »N«, about an encyclopaedist in Africa, he ended his academic career in 2005 to devote himself entirely to writing. He published his first novel »Slagschaduw« [2007; tr: Cast Shadows] two years later. This was followed by the provocative non-fiction book »Pleidooi voor populisme. Pamflet« [2008; tr: A Plea for Populism], which addresses the underrepresentation of less educated groups in politics. Van Reybrouck achieved greater fame with his work »Congo. Een geschiedenis« [2010; Eng. »Congo: The Epic History of a People«, 2014], which he worked on for six years. In a composition of observations, journalistic distance, archive material, and interviews with over 500 Congolese individuals, he describes the history of the Congo from its colonial past to the present. The work received several awards, such as the AKO Literatuurprijs, the Prix Médicis essai, the NDR Kultur Sachbuchpreis, and the Premio Kapuściński.

Van Reybrouck is an advocate for the lottery as a way to save democracy, which he explained in his 2013 appeal »Tegen Verkiezingen« [tr: Against Elections]. In »Revolusi. Indonesië en het ontstaan van de moderne wereld« [2020; tr: Revolusi: Indonesia and the Birth of the Modern World] he again applies the same principles used in his Congo book and combines historical interpretation and interviews with survivors to explore Indonesia’s path to independence. In his essay »Zink« [2016; tr: Zinc], which won the European Book Prize, he details the history of the micronation of Neutral Moresnet.

Van Reybrouck also writes poetry and founded the Brussels Dichterscollectief with Peter Vermeersch in 2009. His play »Missie« [tr: Mission] was shown at the Haus der Berliner Festspiele and at the Wiener Festwochen, »Para« has also been seen on stages internationally.

He is honorary chairman of PEN Vlaanderen, director of G1000, a platform for democratic innovation in Belgium, and chairman of FIDE [Federation for Democratic Innovation Europe]. In autumn 2021, he was a visiting professor at the Hannah Arendt Center, Bard College, New York. The author received an honorary doctorate from the University of Saint Louis in Brussels and lives in Brussels and Amsterdam.

Date: 2022

23. ilb 06. – 16.09.2023

David Van Reybrouck

Der niederländischsprachige belgische Autor, Historiker und Archäologe David Van Reybrouck wurde 1971 in Brügge geboren. Er studierte Archäologie und Philosophie in Leuven, erwarb einen Master in Archäologie an der Universität Cambridge und promovierte 2000 an der Universität Leiden. Zunächst arbeitete er für die Archives of European Archaeology und als Kulturhistoriker an der Universität Leuven. Außerdem war er Herausgeber der Zeitschrift »Archaeological Dialogues« und beteiligte sich an diversen anthropologischen Ausstellungsprojekten.

2001 debütierte Van Reybrouck als Autor mit »De Plaag« [Ü: Die Pest], das die Themen Südafrika, Insektenkunde und Maeterlinck in einer Mischung aus Biografie, Autobiografie und Reportage zusammenspinnt. Das Buch wurde für verschiedene Preise nominiert und mehrfach ausgezeichnet sowie durch Van Reybrouck selbst für die Bühne adaptiert. Nach dem Erfolg seines zweiten Stücks »N« über einen Enzyklopädisten in Afrika beendete er 2005 seine akademische Karriere, um sich ganz dem Schreiben zu widmen. Zwei Jahre später erschien sein erster Roman »Slagschaduw« [2007; Ü: Schlagschatten]. Es folgte das provozierende Sachbuch »Pleidooi voor populisme. Pamflet« [2008; dt. »Für einen anderen Populismus. Ein Plädoyer«, 2017], das die Unterrepräsentation von bildungsferneren Schichten in der Politik thematisiert. Größere Bekanntheit erlangte Van Reybrouck mit »Congo. Een geschiedenis« [2010; dt. »Kongo. Eine Geschichte«, 2012], an dem er sechs Jahre arbeitete. In einer Komposition aus Beobachtungen, journalistischer Distanz, Archivmaterial und Interviews mit über 500 Kongoles:innen schildert er die Geschichte des Kongo von der Kolonialzeit bis zur Gegenwart. Das Werk wurde u. a. mit dem AKO Literatuurprijs, dem Prix Médicis essai, dem NDR Kultur Sachbuchpreis und dem Premio Kapuściński ausgezeichnet.

Sein Plädoyer für demokratische Innovation veröffentlichte Van Reybrouck, der sich als Aktivist für das Losverfahren zur Rettung der Demokratie einsetzt, in »Tegen Verkiezingen« [2013; dt. »Gegen Wahlen. Warum Abstimmen nicht demokratisch ist«, 2016]. In »Revolusi. Indonesië en het ontstaan van de moderne wereld« [2020; Ü: Revolusi. Indonesien und der Ursprung der modernen Welt] verwendete er erneut das Prinzip aus seinem Kongo-Buch, historische Interpretation und Interviews mit Überlebenden zu kombinieren, um von Indonesiens Weg in die Unabhängigkeit zu erzählen. In seinem mit dem Preis des Europäischen Buches ausgezeichneten Essay »Zink« [2016; dt. 2017] schildert er die Geschichte der Mikronation Neutral-Moresnet.

Van Reybrouck schreibt auch Gedichte und gründete 2009 mit Peter Vermeersch das Brussels Dichterscollectief. Sein Theaterstück »Missie« [Ü: Mission] wurde im Haus der Berliner Festspiele und bei den Wiener Festwochen gezeigt, »Para« war ebenfalls international auf Bühnen zu sehen.

Er ist Ehrenvorsitzender des PEN Vlaanderen, Direktor des G1000, einer Plattform für demokratische Innovation in Belgien, und Vorsitzender der FIDE [Federation for Democratic Innovation Europe]. Im Herbst 2021 war er Gastprofessor am Hannah Arendt Center, Bard College, New York. Der Autor erhielt die Ehrendoktorwürde der Brüsseler Universität Saint Louis und lebt in Brüssel und Amsterdam.

Stand: 2022