23. ilb 06. – 16.09.2023

Dan Sociu

The poet Dan Sociu was born in the Moldavian regional capital Botoşani in the far north east of Romania in 1978. He studied political science, philosophy, Romanian and Slavonic studies at Alexandru Ioan Cuza University in Jassy. He then worked there as a publisher’s reader and since 2005 has been working as an editor for a Bucharest publishing house.

Sociu belongs to the younger generation of poets, the so-called poets of »2000« who are often called representatives of »Miserabilism« by Romanian literary critics. This expression defines both a tendency to take on the pose of anti-hero and biographical writing which puts an emphasis on the banality of everyday life, allowing itself to be influenced by American popular literature. There is a definite rejection of any continuation of domestic traditions and the precious claim that literature is art is seen as grotesque or paradoxical: »i had / not yet seen any writers i thought they were all / dead, or even more than that.« In contrast, Sociu is committed to a dialogical poetics that is close to life, in which there are as many poetic subjects as existentially relevant meetings: »sometimes I feel that someone has died on me / in my head / then I embrace myself and wake up / and three days later / I spit out a frozen body / a tiny foetus / with lively blue / eyes / a small human with head in hands«.

At numerous readings in Romania and abroad Sociu has emerged as a charismatic poet, appreciated by the audience. At first he published cycles of poems and translations in Romanian literary journals. He has made a name for himself as a member of the Jassy literature group »Club 8«, which sets out to oppose the cultural establishment. In 2002 he made his literary début with the volume »borcane bine legate, bani pentru încă o săptămînă« (t: well sealed preserving jars, money for one more week) for which he was awarded the national prize to foster talent »Mihai Eminescu« in 2003. A year later he published his second volume of poems, »fratele păduche« (t: brother louse), and in 2005 he made a breakthrough with »cântece eXcesive« (t: eXcessive songs) which was awarded  Best Book of the Year by the Romanian writers’ association.

A selection of Sociu’s poems have been translated for German and English anthologies. Translations of his poems have also appeared in the Austrian literary magazine »Wienzeile«. He himself has also translated Charles Bukowski and published an anthology of poems by the author. Currently, Sociu is working on his first novel »Urbancolia«, which is to be published in 2008. He lives in Bucharest.

© international literature festival berlin

Dan Sociu

Portrait Dan Sociu
© Hartwig Klappert

Der Lyriker Dan Sociu wurde 1978 in der moldauischen Kreishauptstadt Botoşani, im äußersten Nordosten Rumäniens geboren. Er studierte Politologie, Philosophie, Rumänistik und Slawistik an der Alexandru-Ioan-Cuza-Universität in Iaşi. Anschließend arbeitete er im gleichen Ort als Verlagslektor und seit 2005 als Verlagsredakteur in Bukarest.
Sociu gehört zur jüngeren Lyrikergeneration der sogenannten »2000er«, die von der Literaturkritik Rumäniens gerne als Vertreter des »Miserabilismus« bezeichnet werden. Diese Gruppe charakterisiert eine Vorliebe für Antihelden sowie ein biografisches Schreiben, das die Banalität des Alltags in den Vordergrund stellt und Einflüsse der amerikanischen Pop-Literatur aufnimmt. Die Weiterführung eigener nationaler Traditionen wird entschieden abgelehnt und der hehre Kunstans pr uch von Literatur als groteske oder paradoxe Inszenierung empfunden: »ich hatte / noch nie schriftsteller gesehen ich hielt sie alle / für tot sogar mehr als das«. Sociu bekennt sich dagegen zu einer lebensnahen, dialogischen Poetik, in der es so viele lyrische Ichs gibt wie existentiell relevante Begegnungen: »manchmal fühle ich dass mir jemand gestorben ist / im kopf / dann umarme ich mich und wache auf / und nach drei tagen / spucke ich ein erfrorenes körperchen aus / ein winziger fötus / mit blauen heiteren / augen / ein menschlein mit dem kopf in den händen«.
Sociu tat sich bei zahlreichen Lesungen in Rumänien sowie im Ausland als charismatischer und vom Publikum geschätzter Lyriker hervor. Er veröffentlichte zunächst Gedichtzyklen und Übersetzungen in rumänischen Literaturzeitschriften. Bereits als Mitglied der Iaşier Literaturgruppe »Club 8«, die sich gegen das rumänische Kultur-Establishment richtete, hatte er sich einen Namen gemacht. 2002 debütierte er mit dem Band »borcane bine legate, bani pentru încă o săptămînă« (Ü: gut zugebundene einweckgläser, geld für eine weitere woche), der 2003 mit dem nationalen Förder pr eis »Mihai Eminescu« ausgezeichnet wurde. Ein Jahr darauf publizierte er seinen zweiten Gedichtband, »fratele păduche« (Ü: bruder laus), und 2005 gelang ihm der Durchbruch mit dem vom rumänischen Schriftstellerverband als »Bestes Buch des Jahres« ausgezeichneten Lyrikband »cântece eXcesive« (Ü: eXzessive lieder).
Eine Auswahl von Socius Gedichten wurde für eine deutsche und eine englische Anthologie übersetzt. Übertragungen seiner Lyrik erschienen auch in der österreichischen Literaturzeitschrift »Wienzeile«. Er selbst trat als Übersetzer von Charles Bukowski hervor und veröffentlichte eine Lyrikanthologie des Schriftstellers. Zurzeit arbeitet Sociu an seinem ersten Roman, »Urbancolia«, dessen Erscheinen für 2008 vorgesehen ist. Er lebt in Bukarest.

© internationales literaturfestival berlin