23. ilb 06. - 16.09.2023

Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie

Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie was born in 1977 in Enugu, Nigeria, as the daughter of a professor of mathematics and a university administrator, and grew up in the university town of Nsukka. She first studied medicine and pharmacy in Nigeria for a year and a half and then moved to the USA, where she graduated from Drexel University in Philadelphia in 2001 with degrees in communications and political science, completed a course in creative writing at Johns Hopkins University, was a Hodder Fellow at Princeton University, a Radcliffe fellow at Harvard University, and completed a master’s in African studies at Yale University in 2008.

In 1998 she wrote the play »For Love of Biafra«. In 2002 she won the BBC World Short Story Awards for »That Harmattan Morning«. Shortly thereafter, Adichie débuted as a novelist with »Purple Hibiscus« (2003), which begins with a quote from Chinua Achebe’s »Things Fall Apart« and was praised by »DIE ZEIT« as a small masterpiece »that can bring the African continent and especially the nation of Nigeria into the consciousness of European readers«. The story, told from the perspective of an adolescent girl, is about the life of a well-to-do family, although the father appears to the outside world as critical of the system, but harasses his own family with religious obsessions and threatens them with violence. In her award-winning second novel »Half of a Yellow Sun« (2006), whose title alludes to the flag of the short-lived nation Biafra, she deals with the time before and during the civil war in Nigeria in the 1960s. The material was filmed by Biyi Bandele in 2014. Adichie’s third novel »Americanah« (2013; German 2014) tells of a love story in Nigeria in the 1990s. Adichie made her name as a feminist with the TED talk »We Should All Be Feminists« (2012), which pop singer Beyoncé Knowles used in her song »Flawless«. The central proposition is: »Feminist: A person who believes in the social, political and economic equality of the sexes.« Her manifesto, together with four short stories, was translated into German under the title »Mehr Feminismus!« (2016).

Adichie’s novels have been translated into 37 languages and received numerous awards. She received honorary doctorates from various US universities, was named an honorary member by the American Academy of Arts and Letters in 2017, and was elected to the American Academy of Arts and Sciences. The author lives in Nigeria, where she teaches creative writing, and in the USA.

23. ilb 06. – 16.09.2023

Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie

Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie wurde 1977 in Enugu, Nigeria, als Tochter eines Mathematikprofessors und einer Verwaltungsangestellten an der Universität geboren und wuchs in der Universitätsstadt Nsukka auf. Sie studierte zunächst anderthalb Jahre Medizin und Pharmazie in Nigeria und zog dann in die USA, wo sie 2001 an der Drexel University in Philadelphia ihr Studium der Kommunikations- und Politikwissenschaften abschloss, einen Kurs in Kreativem Schreiben an der Johns Hopkins University absolvierte, Hodder Fellow an der Princeton und Radcliffe Fellow an der Harvard University war und 2008 an der Yale University einen Masterstudiengang in Afrikanistik abschloss.

1998 schrieb sie das Theaterstück »For Love of Biafra«. 2002 gewann sie den BBC World Short Story Award für »That Harmattan Morning«. Kurz darauf debütierte Adichie als Romanautorin mit »Purple Hibiscus« (2003; dt. »Blauer Hibiskus«, 2015), das mit einem Zitat aus Chinua Achebes »Things Fall Apart« beginnt und von der »ZEIT« als kleines Meisterwerk gelobt wurde, »das den afrikanischen Kontinent und insbesondere den Staat Nigeria im Bewusstsein europäischer Leser aufzuwerten vermag«. Erzählt wird aus der Perspektive eines heranwachsenden Mädchens vom Leben einer gutsituierten Familie, wobei der Vater zwar nach außen als Systemkritiker auftritt, jedoch die eigene Familie mit religiösen Zwangsvorstellungen drangsaliert und mit Gewalt bedroht. In ihrem preisgekrönten zweiten Roman »Half of a Yellow Sun« (2006; dt. »Die Hälfte der Sonne«, 2007), dessen Titel auf die Flagge der kurzlebigen Nation Biafra anspielt, behandelt sie die Zeit vor und während des Bürgerkriegs in Nigeria in den sechziger Jahren. Der Stoff wurde von Biyi Bandele 2014 verfilmt. Adichies dritter Roman »Americanah« (2013; dt. 2014) erzählt eine Liebesgeschichte im Nigeria der neunziger Jahre. Als Feministin profilierte sich Adichie mit dem TED-Talk »We Should All Be Feminists« (2012), der von der Popsängerin Beyoncé Knowles in ihrem Song »Flawless« verarbeitet wurde. Der zentrale Satz darin lautet: »Feminist(in): Eine Person, die an die politische, soziale und wirtschaftliche Gleichheit der Geschlechter glaubt.« In deutscher Übersetzung liegt ihr Manifest zusammen mit vier Kurzgeschichten unter dem Titel »Mehr Feminismus!« (2016) vor.

Adichies Romane wurden in 37 Sprachen übersetzt und vielfach ausgezeichnet. Sie erhielt an verschiedenen US-amerikanischen Universitäten die Ehrendoktorwürde, wurde 2017 von der American Academy of Arts and Letters als Ehrenmitglied aufgenommen und in die American Academy of Arts and Sciences gewählt. Die Autorin lebt in Nigeria, wo sie Kreatives Schreiben unterrichtet, sowie in den USA.