23. ilb 06. – 16.09.2023

Carmen Posadas

Carmen Posadas was born in Montevideo, the capital of Uruguay, in 1953. She moved to Madrid at the age of twelve as her father was appointed ambassador to Spain. She also spent parts of her childhood in Buenos Aires, London and Moscow. At the age of nineteen she discontinued her studies at Oxford to get married. Following a ten-year period as a housewife and mother of two daughters she embarked on a literary career, writing children’s books. »El señor Viento Norte« (1983; Eng. »Mister North Wind«, 1986) was awarded a prize by the Ministry of Culture as the most beautifully edited children’s book of 1984. Since then she has published around twenty titles in this genre.

Posadas’ rise to fame, however, was thanks to her humorous novels that are full of suspense and which show the influence of Anglo-Saxon literature as well as being entertaining and literary in quality. »It’s important to establish two levels of reading. Thus, for instance, the narrative threads of intrigue and other complex elements such as social satire or character studies. Those are my ingredients, as if it were a recipe for cooking«, pr ofessed Posadas in an interview. Her first novel, »Cinco moscas azules« (1996; Eng. »The Last Resort«, 2005), is an ironic portrait of high society and tells of gossip and schmooze, intrigues and murder. A penniless bon vivant who wishes to bring an end to his life after his last vacation at a luxury hotel is infected with a new joie de vivre by his adventurous niece. Posadas received the renowned Premio Planeta for her next novel, »Pequeñas Infamias« (1998; Eng. »Little indiscretions«, 2003). In the manner of Agatha Christie, it describes a gathering at a wealthy art dealer’s summerhouse that ends with the murder of the celebrity chef, whose expertise is not only to be found in the art of cooking but also in the explosive secrets of the pr esent guests. The novel »La Bella Otero« (2001; t: The beautiful Otero) which tells the story of a dancer, successful in the twenties and enjoyed in the most important theatres of Europe and America, is being made into a feature film.

Posadas herself has written several scripts for film and television. She presented the programme »Entrelíneas« on Spanish TV and has written essays, newspaper articles, plays for children and last but not least a large number of short stories, including the collection »Nada es lo que parece« (1997; t: Nothing is what it seems). Her work has been translated into over twenty languages and has appeared in around fifty countries.

Following her latest novel, »Juego de niños« (2006; t: Children’s game), Posadas recently published a collected volume of nineteen short stories from the past thirty years. The author has been living in Madrid since 1986.

© internationales literaturfestival berlin

22. ilb 07. - 17.09.2022

Carmen Posadas

Carmen Posadas wurde 1953 in Uruguays Hauptstadt Montevideo geboren. Als ihr Vater Botschafter in Spanien wurde, zog sie im Alter von zwölf Jahren nach Madrid. Sie wuchs außerdem in Buenos Aires, London und Moskau auf. Ein Studium an der University of Oxford brach sie ab, als sie mit 19 Jahren heiratete. Nach zehnjähriger Tätigkeit als Hausfrau und Mutter zweier Töchter begann sie ihre schriftstellerische Laufbahn mit Kinderbüchern. »El señor Viento Norte« (1983; Ü: Herr Nordwind) wurde 1984 mit dem Preis des Kultusministeriums für das schönst-edierte Kinderbuch des Jahres geehrt. Inzwischen liegen von ihr rund zwanzig Titel in diesem Genre vor.
Bekannt wurde Posadas jedoch mit humorvollen und spannenden Romanen, die den Einfluss angelsächsischer Literatur erkennen lassen und sowohl der Unterhaltung dienen als auch höheren Ansprüchen genügen. »Es ist wichtig, zwei Ebenen der Lektüre zu etablieren. Also beispielsweise den Handlungsfaden einer Intrige und einen anderen, komplexeren – wie eine Gesellschaftssatire oder eine Charakterstudie. Das sind meine Zutaten, es ist, als sei es ein Kochrezept«, verrät Posadas in einem Interview. Ihr erster Roman, »Cinco moscas azules« (1996; dt. »Fünf blaue Fliegen«, 1999), ist ein ironisches Porträt der High Society und erzählt von Klatsch und Tratsch, Intrigen und Morden. Ein mittelloser Lebemann, der nach einem letzten Urlaub in einem Luxushotel seinem Leben ein Ende setzen will, wird von seiner unternehmungslustigen Nichte mit neuem Lebensmut angesteckt. Für den folgenden Roman »Pequeñas Infamias« (1998; dt. »Kleine Infamien«, 2004) wurde Posadas mit dem renommierten Premio Planeta ausgezeichnet. In der Manier Agatha Christies wird von einer Zusammenkunft im Sommerhaus eines begüterten Kunsthändlers erzählt, an deren Ende die Ermordung des Starkochs steht, der nicht nur im Besitz kulinarischer Kniffe war, sondern auch die brisanten Geheimnisse der anwesenden Gäste kannte. Der Roman »La Bella Otero« (2001; dt. »La Belle Otero«, 2003) erzählt die Geschichte einer Tänzerin, die im zwanzigsten Jahrhundert an den wichtigsten Theatern Europas und Amerikas Triumphe feierte, und wird derzeit als Spielfilm realisiert.
Posadas selbst schrieb mehrere Drehbücher für Film und Fernsehen. Sie war Moderatorin der Sendung »Entrelíneas« im spanischen Fernsehen und verfasste Essays, Zeitungsartikel, Theaterstücke für Kinder und nicht zuletzt eine Vielzahl von Kurzgeschichten, darunter die Sammlung »Nada es lo que parece« (1997; Ü: Nichts ist, wie es scheint). Ihre Werke wurden in mehr als zwanzig Sprachen übersetzt und erschienen in rund fünfzig Ländern.
Nach ihrem neuesten Roman, »Juego de niños« (2006; Ü: Kinderspiele), veröffentlichte Posadas zuletzt einen Sammelband mit 19 ihrer Kurzgeschichten aus den letzten dreißig Jahren. Die Schriftstellerin lebt seit 1986 in Madrid.

© internationales literaturfestival berlin