22. ilb 07. - 17.09.2022

C.K. Williams

C.K. (Charles Kenneth) Williams was born in Newark, New Jersey, in 1936. He began writing poems while a student at the University of Pennsylvania. Much later, in 1969, his first volume of poetry, »Lies«, was published. The opening poem, »A Day for Anne Frank«, arose from the outline for a letter on human rights infractions which Williams had written to a newspaper editor. Since then, his preoccupation with suffering, violence and injustice have remained unaltered at the centre of his highly productive output. His second volume of poetry, »I am the Bitter Name« (1972), castigates America’s military industry and the blindness of the powerful. Despite fundamental and emphatic compassion, William’s poetry goes beyond mere »littérature engagée«. »Poetry is part of the moral resonance of the world’s urgency. It adds to the moral repository of the human conscience and is part of the existence of moral resonance in the world.«

Williams has been the editor of the »American Poetry Review« since 1972. He is considered an important and distinctive voice of American poetry, and has been honoured with numerous prizes. His collection »Flesh and Blood« (1987) won the National Critics Circle Award, and »The Singing« (2003) won the National Book Award. In 2000 he won the Pulitzer Prize for »Repair« (1999). In 2005 he received the Ruth Lilly Poetry Prize of the Poetry Foundation for his complete works. A typical stylistic feature of William’s poetry is uncommonly long lines of verse. With great forcefulness he evokes the suppressed tragic quality of everyday life through complex sentence structures, yet without surrendering to despondency. Joachim Sartorius writes: »He presents ethical questions to a dense, dark world that is commonplace and only glimpses mercy at rare moments. A secret lies within this exchange between the poet and the world, a secret which Williams searches to orbit, entwine, and finally to fathom, with the help of long, meandering sentences. The poem comes close to something like a prayer, a strange, terrified prayer, that lays hope in the dispensation of mercy in the face of all fatality, violence and brutality.«

Alongside his poetry Williams has also worked as translator of Sophocles, Euripides, Francis Ponge and Adam Zagajewski. In 2002 he participated in the debate triggered by Martin Walser about German »Normalization«, with the essay »The Symbolic Nation of Culprits«. In this essay he declared that the symbolic nature of history does not obey the models of compensation and forgiveness. Williams is a member of the American Academy of Arts and Sciences and of the American Academy of Arts and Letters. His poems have been translated into German and appeared in magazines such as »Neue Rundschau«, »Akzente« and »Lettre International«. He lives half the year in the country in France, and half the year in Princeton where he teaches Creative Writing and Translation.

Translator: Walter Thümler

© international literature festival berlin

C.K. Williams

Portrait C.K. Williams
© Hartwig Klappert

C.K. (Charles Kenneth) Williams wurde 1936 in Newark, New Jersey, geboren. Während seiner Ausbildung an der University of Pennsylvania begann er Gedichte zu schreiben. Viel später, 1969, erschien sein erster Gedichtband, »Lies« (Ü: Lügen). Das Eröffnungsgedicht »A Day for Anne Frank« (Ü: Ein Tag für Anne Frank) war aus einem Entwurf zu einem Brief über Menschenrechtsverletzungen entstanden, den Williams an einen Zeitungsherausgeber geschrieben hatte. Die Beschäftigung mit Leid, Unrecht und Gewalt steht seitdem unverändert im Mittelpunkt seines nunmehr höchst produktiven Schaffens. Sein zweiter Gedichtband »I Am the Bitter Name« (1972; Ü: Ich bin der bittere Name) geißelt die amerikanische Militärindustrie und die Blindheit der Mächtigen. Trotz des grundsätzlichen und empathischen Mitleidens steht Williams‘ Lyrik jenseits von bloß engagierter Literatur. »Dichtung ist Teil des moralischen Widerhalls der Not dieser Welt. Sie kommt zu dem moralischen Verwahrungsort des menschlichen Gewissens hinzu.«

Seit 1972 ist Williams Herausgeber der »American Poetry Review«. Er gilt als wichtige und unverwechselbare Stimme der amerikanischen Lyrik und wurde mit zahlreichen Preisen geehrt. Für seinen Gedichtband »Flesh and Blood« (1987; Ü: Fleisch und Blut) erhielt er den National Book Critics Circle Award, für »The Singing« (2003; Ü: Das Singen) wurde er mit dem National Book Award ausgezeichnet. 2000 wurde ihm für »Repair« (1999; Ü: Wiederherstellung) der Pulitzer-Preis verliehen. Für sein Gesamtwerk erhielt er 2005 den Ruth Lilly Poetry Prize der Poetry Foundation. Zum kennzeichnenden Stilmittel seiner Lyrik sind die ungewöhnlich langen Gedichtzeilen geworden. Mit großer Eindringlichkeit evoziert er durch komplexen Satzbau das verdrängte Tragische des Alltags, ohne sich der Verzweiflung auszuliefern. Joachim Sartorius schreibt: »Er stellt ethische Fragen an eine dunkle und derbe Welt, die gewöhnlich ist und nur in seltenen Momenten Schonung kennt. In diesem Austausch zwischen Dichter und Welt ist ein Geheimnis, das Williams in seinen langen gewundenen Sätzen zu umkreisen, zu umschlingen, letztlich zu ergründen sucht. Das Gedicht nähert sich dem Gebet, einem merkwürdigen, fürchtenden Gebet, das in all dem Verhängnis, in der Gewalt und Rohheit der Welt auf die Verteilung von Gnade hofft.«

Neben seiner Lyrik trat Williams auch als Übersetzer von Sophokles, Euripides, Francis Ponge und Adam Zagajewski hervor. 2002 beteiligte er sich mit dem Essay »Das symbolische Volk der Täter« an der von Martin Walser ausgelösten Debatte um eine deutsche »Normalisierung«. Darin vertrat er die Position, dass der Symbolcharakter der Geschichte nicht den Mustern von Wiedergutmachung und Vergebung folgt. Williams ist Mitglied der American Academy of Arts and Sciences und der American Academy of Arts and Letters. Seine Gedichte sind in deutscher Übersetzung in der »Neuen Rundschau«, in »Akzente« und »Lettre International« erschienen. Er verbringt die Hälfte des Jahres auf dem Land in Frankreich und lebt in Princeton, wo er Kreatives Schreiben und Übersetzung lehrt.

© internationales literaturfestival berlin