23. ilb 06. – 16.09.2023

Boris Khersonsky

Boris Grigorievich Khersonsky was born in 1950 in Chernivtsi, Ukraine and studied medicine in Ivano-Frankivsk and Odessa. He initially worked as a neurologist before becoming a psychologist and psychiatrist at the state hospital in Odessa. In 1996 Khersonsky took on an appointment at the department of psychology at Odessa National University, before becoming chair of the department of clinical psychology in 1999.

In addition to writing scientific articles on topics such as depth psychology and the use of psychoprophylaxis in family conflicts, Khersonsky also continued a family literary tradition begun by his grandfather, a pediatric neurologist who wrote satirical verse under the pseudonym »Ro«, and continued by his father, the poet Grigory.

Boris Khersonsky published his first poems while still at university. Before and during perestroika he was part of the Samizdat movement, which disseminated alternative, nonconformist literature through unofficial channels.

His works were published both in Odessa’s municipal press and abroad in literary journals and anthologies. Khersonsky’s formal literary debut came in 1993 with »Vos’ma častka« [tr: The Eighth Part]. Four years later he published »Semejnyj Archiv«, a story in poetic form that also appeared in German in 2010 as »Familienarchiv« [Eng. »Family Archive« 2006]. The author tells the story of a Russian-Jewish family against the backdrop of the tragedies of the 20th century.

The influence of Khersonsky’s training as a psychologist is evident not only in his clear, poetic diagnoses, but also in his primary focus on people. Numerous other publications were followed by the 2014 volume of poetry »Missa in tempore belli/Messa vo vremena vojny« [tr: Mass in Times of War] in which Khersonsky describes his impressions of the Maidan revolution. It was followed a year later by »Otkrytyj dnevnyk«, a »public diary« about the Ukraine crisis that focuses particularly on Odessa. »Odesskaya intelligenciya« [2018; tr: The Intellectuals of Odessa] is a declaration of love to the port city and its poets and thinkers.

In the second part, a collection of Khersonsky’s poems is also dedicated to the city. »Vklonytysja derevu« [2019] is a collection of texts by the author in either Ukrainian or translated by others. The two-volume bilingual edition »Raspečatka / Rozdrukivka« [2020], a cross-section of his work, was published on his 70th birthday.

His literary work has won Khersonsky much recognition, including being named laureate of the Kievskie lavry Poetry Festival [2008], being awarded the Jury Special Prize at the Literaris Festival for East European Literature [2010] as well as the Maksym Kyrijeno-Voloshyn Literature Prize [2019] for his »Odessa Diary«. Khersonsky lives in Odessa.

Date: 2022

22. ilb 07. - 17.09.2022

Boris Chersonskij

Boris Grigorowitsch Chersonskij wurde 1950 in Czernowitz, Ukraine, geboren und studierte Medizin in Iwano-Frankiwsk sowie Odessa. Danach arbeitete er zunächst als Nervenarzt, bevor er Psychologe und Psychiater an der Landesklinik von Odessa wurde. Ab 1996 war Chersonskij am Lehrstuhl für Psychologie der National-Universität Odessa tätig; 1999 wechselte er an den Lehrstuhl für Klinische Psychologie.

Neben wissenschaftlichen Veröffentlichungen, u. a. zur Tiefenpsychologie sowie zu Familienkonflikten, folgte Chersonskij auch der schriftstellerischen Familientradition, die sein Großvater, der als Kinder-Nervenarzt unter dem Pseudonym Ro satirische Verse verfasst hatte, begründet und sein Vater Grigorij Chersonskij als Lyriker weitergeführt hatte. Boris Chersonskij publizierte seine ersten Gedichte bereits während des Studiums.

Vor und während der Perestroika war er Teil der Samisdat-Bewegung, die alternative, nicht systemkonforme Literatur auf nichtoffiziellen Kanälen verbreitete. Seine Werke wurden sowohl in der lokalen Presse in Odessa als auch im Ausland in Literaturzeitschriften und -anthologien abgedruckt.

Offiziell gab Chersonskij 1993 mit »Vos’ma častka« [Ü: Der achte Teil] sein literarisches Debüt. Vier Jahre später veröffentlichte er »Semejnyj Archiv«, eine Erzählung in Gedichtform, die 2010 unter dem Titel »Familienarchiv« auch auf Deutsch erschien. Der Autor erzählt darin eine russisch-jüdische Familiengeschichte entlang den Tragödien des 20. Jahrhunderts. Der Einfluss von Chersonskijs Tätigkeit als Psychologe zeigt sich nicht nur in seinen klaren poetischen Diagnosen, sondern auch darin, dass er den Menschen ins Zentrum seiner Dichtung stellt.

Zahlreichen weiteren Veröffentlichungen folgte 2014 der Lyrikband »Missa in tempore belli / Messa vo vremena vojny« [Ü: Messe in Zeiten des Krieges], in dem Chersonskij seine Eindrücke von der Maidan-Revolution verarbeitete. Ein Jahr später erschien mit »Otkrytyj dnevnyk« ein »offenes Tagebuch« über die Ukraine-Krise mit besonderem Blick auf Odessa.

»Odesskaja intelligencija« [2018; Ü: Die Intellektuellen von Odessa] ist eine Liebeserklärung an die Hafenstadt und ihre Dichter und Denker sowie im zweiten Teil eine Sammlung von Chersonskijs Gedichten, die der Stadt gewidmet sind. »Vklonytysja derevu« [2019] versammelt Texte, die vom Autor auf Ukrainisch verfasst oder von anderen übersetzt wurden. Die zweibändige, zweisprachige Ausgabe »Raspečatka / Rozdrukivka« [2020], ein Querschnitt durch sein lyrisches Werk, erschien zu seinem 70. Geburtstag.

Für sein literarisches Schaffen wurde Chersonskij vielfach geehrt, u. a. mit dem Preis des Kievskie lavry-Poesiefestivals [2008], mit dem Sonderpreis der Jury beim Literaris-Preis für osteuropäische Literatur [2010] sowie dem Maksym Kyrijeno-Woloschyn-Literaturpreis [2019] für sein »Odessaer Tagebuch«. Der Autor lebt in Odessa.

Stand: 2022