22. ilb 07. - 17.09.2022

Bernardine Evaristo

Bernardine Evaristo was born as the fourth of eight children to an English mother and Nigerian father in London in 1959. She studied drama at Rose Bruford College of Theatre and Performance and gained a PhD in Creative Writing at Goldsmiths, University of London. She was a co-founder of the Theatre of Black Women, the first company of its kind in the UK to be made up entirely of black women, for which she also wrote plays and performed. Since the beginning of her career, Bernardine Evaristo has been committed to the inclusion of writers and artists of color. In the 1990s, she organized the first major British conferences on Black theater and Black writing.

She made her literary debut in 1994 with the publication of the poetry collection »Island of Abraham«. Subsequent books, verse novel and novels, highlighted Evaristo’s interest in the African diaspora. They were always well received by critics, and won several awards. Her international breakthrough came with »Girl, Woman, Other« [2019], for which Evaristo was the first Black British writer to be awarded the Booker Prize. Set in contemporary London, the novel depicts the lives and histories of twelve characters, primarily black and female, from different generations and backgrounds. It was acclaimed for its complexity as well as for its experimental style: the prose is written in what Evaristo terms »fusion fiction«, a fiction-poetry hybrid that creates a unique rhythm while reading. The German radio station DLF Kultur stated that »Evaristo’s novel traverses the history of England as a successive postcolonial liberation movement that addresses issues of gender and race and even Brexit«.

Bernardine Evaristo also used the success of her novel and the resulting interest in her as a person to draw attention to her political concerns. Most recently, she published »Manifesto: On Never Giving Up« [2021], a memoir in which Evaristo tells of her life in a way that is »racy and funny, brutal and touching, mostly self-ironic, and above all: uninhibitedly honest« [»DIE ZEIT«].

Bernardine Evaristo is Professor of Creative Writing at Brunel University London, President of Rose Bruford College of Theatre and Performance and President of the Royal Society of Literature [2022–2026]. She was made an Officer of the Order of the British Empire [OBE] for her services to literature. The author lives in London.

Date: 2022

23. ilb 06. – 16.09.2023

Bernardine Evaristo

Bernardine Evaristo wurde 1959 als viertes von acht Kindern einer englischen Mutter und eines nigerianischen Vaters in London geboren. Sie studierte Schauspiel am Rose Bruford College of Theatre and Performance und promovierte in Kreativem Schreiben am Goldsmiths, University of London. Sie war Mitbegründerin des Theatre of Black Women, dessen Ensemble als Erstes seiner Art in Großbritannien ausschließlich aus Schwarzen Frauen bestand und für das sie selbst auch Stücke schrieb und als Schauspielerin tätig war. Seit Beginn ihrer Karriere engagiert sich Bernardine Evaristo für die Inklusion von Schriftsteller:innen und Künstler:innen of Color. In den 1990er-Jahren organisierte sie die ersten großen britischen Konferenzen über Schwarzes Theater und Schwarzes Schreiben.

Ihr literarisches Debüt legte sie 1994 mit dem Gedichtband »Island of Abraham« [Ü: Abrahams Insel] vor. Es folgten mehrere Bücher, die Bernardine Evaristos Interesse an der afrikanischen Diaspora offenbarten, von der Kritik stets wohlwollend aufgenommen und mit einer Vielzahl an kleineren Preisen ausgezeichnet wurden. Der internationale Durchbruch gelang ihr mit »Girl, Woman, Other« [2019; dt. »Mädchen, Frau etc.«, 2021], für den Bernardine Evaristo als erste Schwarze britische Schriftstellerin mit dem Booker Prize ausgezeichnet wurde. Angesiedelt im London der Gegenwart, schildert der Roman das Leben und die Herkunftsgeschichte von zwölf Charakteren, die meisten von ihnen Schwarz und weiblich, aus unterschiedlichen Generationen und Milieus. Er wurde für seine Vielschichtigkeit ebenso gelobt wie für seinen experimentellen Stil: Es handelt sich um »fusion fiction«, wie Evaristo es selbst nennt, eine Hybridform aus Fiktion und Dichtung, die bei der Lektüre einen ganz eigenen Rhythmus entfaltet. »Evaristos Roman durchmisst die Geschichte Englands als sukzessive postkoloniale Befreiungsbewegung, die Fragen von Gender und Race und sogar den Brexit thematisiert«, so DLF Kultur.

Den Erfolg ihres Romans und das damit verbundene Interesse an ihrer Person nutzte Bernardine Evaristo auch, um auf ihre politischen Anliegen aufmerksam zu machen. Zuletzt erschien mit »Manifesto: On Never Giving Up« [2021; dt. »Manifesto. Warum ich niemals aufgebe«, 2022] ein Memoir, in dem Bernardine Evaristo »rasant und komisch, brachial und anrührend, meistens selbstironisch und vor allem: hemmungslos ehrlich« [»DIE ZEIT«] von ihrem Leben erzählt.

Bernardine Evaristo ist Professorin für Kreatives Schreiben an der Brunel University London, Präsidentin des Rose Bruford College of Theatre and Performane und Präsidentin der Royal Society of Literature [2022–2026]. Für ihre Verdienste um die Literatur wurde sie zum Officer of the Order of the British Empire [OBE] ernannt. Die Autorin lebt in London.

Stand: 2022