23. ilb 06. – 16.09.2023
Portrait Barry Lopez
© Hartwig Klappert

Barry Lopez

Barry Lopez was born in New York State in 1945.  He was raised in Southern California and New York City and studied Aeronautical Engineering, English, American culture, Theatre and Journalism. In 1968 he moved to Oregon, where he continues to live now, and began writing essays, short stories and nonfiction full-time.

Preoccupation with nature and culture, indigenous peoples, myths and landscapes runs throughout Lopez’s extensive works.  »Giving Birth to Thunder, Sleeping with his Daughter« (1977) is a re-telling of nearly 70 stories about the mythological and dazzling Native American trickster figure, Coyote. In 1978 »Of Wolves and Men« was published. Both a respectful and rigorous scientific report and an insightful cultural portrait, the book helped change the prevalent attitude towards the »predatory wolf«. Lopez’s best known book is »Arctic Dreams« (1986), for which he received the National Book Award.  A fine understanding of the diversity of this far northern habitat and a history of its exploration are interwoven with the author’s experiences travelling with anthropologists, archaeologists, and native peoples.

Prolonged, painstaking and inquisitive observation is an important feature of Lopez’s books.  A former landscape photographer, the author has travelled to nearly fifty countries, including China, India, and Brazil; trekked in remote parts of Africa and Australia with indigenous people; and made several journeys into the interior of Antarctica.  His elegant nonfiction about the places he visits is not only travel journalism, however, his books and essays are succinct, unadorned narratives of wonder and appreciation that arguably define what he has referred to as »a literature of hope«.

Dominant throughout his most recent essays and short stories is a concern for the fate of Western culture.  »Resistance« (2004), a work of fiction, tells the story of nine individuals who studied together and later struggled to lead meaningful lives in different parts of the world.  When they each receive a threatening letter from an ominous office called »Inland Security«, they learn that their artistic and scholarly activities have been classified as a threat to »democracy«, and they decide to go underground.  What can be read as a contemporary parable of the paranoid notions of state-run institutions and their consequences after 9/11, is presented by Lopez as a story of hope and determination by the institution’s targets.

Among the awards that Lopez has received are Guggenheim, Lannan and National Science Foundation fellowships and the John Burroughs, John Hay and Christopher medals.  He recently published »Home Ground«, a literary guide to American landscape terms with original contributions by more than forty American poets and prose writers.

© international literature festival berlin

Bibliographie

Krähe und Wiesel
Verlag an der Este
Buxtehude, 1993
Übersetzung: Michel Mundhenk
Ill: Tom Pohrt

In der Wüste. Am Fluss
Klett-Cotta
Stuttgart, 1995
Übersetzung: Hans-Ulrich Möhring

Of Wolves and Men
Touchstone
New York, 1995

Der listige Coyote
Lamuv
Göttingen, 1996
Übersetzung: Hans-Ulrich Möhring

Lessons from the Wolverine
University of Georgia Press
Athens, 1997
Ill: Tom Pohrt

About This Life
Vintage Books
New York, 1998

Arktische Träume
Goldmann
München, 2000
Übersetzung: Ilse Strasmann

Light Action in the Caribbean
Vintage Books
New York, 2001

Field Notes
Vintage Books
New York, 2004

Resistance
Alfred A. Knopf
New York, 2004

Home Ground: Language for an American Landscape [Hg.]
Trinity University Press
San Antonio, 2006

Übersetzer: Hans-Ulrich Möhring, Ilse Strasmann, Peter Torberg

23. ilb 06. – 16.09.2023

Barry Lopez

Barry Holstun Lopez wurde 1945 im Staat New York geboren. Er wuchs in Südkalifornien und New York auf und studierte Aeronautik, Englisch, Theater, Amerikanische Kulturgeschichte und Journalismus. 1968 zog er nach Oregon, wo er bis heute lebt, und begann, Essays, Kurzgeschichten und Sachbücher zu verfassen.

Die Beschäftigung mit Natur und Kultur, mit indigenen Völkern, Mythen und Landschaften durchzieht Lopez’ umfangreiches Werk von Anfang an. »Giving Birth to Thunder, Sleeping With His Daughter« (1977; dt. »Der listige Coyote. Was sich Indianer am Lagerfeuer erzählen«, 1996) ist eine Nacherzählung indianischer Geschichten um die mythische Gestalt des Trickster Coyote. 1978 erschien »Of Wolves and Men« (Ü: Von Wölfen und Menschen), gleichzeitig wissenschaftliche Studie und einfühlsames kulturhistorisches Portrait, welches die damalige vorherrschende Einstellung zum »räuberischen Wolf« nachhaltig veränderte. Lopez’ bekanntestes Buch ist »Arctic Dreams« (1986; dt. »Arktische Träume«, 2000), für das er den National Book Award erhielt. Es verbindet mit feinem Gespür für die Vielfalt dieses Lebensraumes Fakten und Geschichten über Geologie, Tier- und Pflanzenwelt, wie sie der Autor auf Reisen mit Anthropologen, Archäologen und Ureinwohnern erfahren hat.

Genaue, geduldige und neugierige Beobachtung ist ein konstitutives Element von Lopez’ Büchern. Lopez, der auch als Landschaftsfotograf arbeitete, hat bislang beinahe fünfzig Länder bereist, darunter China, Indien und Brasilien; er zog mit Einheimischen durch entlegene Regionen Afrikas und Australiens und war wiederholt in der Antarktis. Seine elegante Prosa ist dennoch kein bloßer Reisejournalismus, sondern überhöht prägnante, schnörkellose Beschreibungen zu einer nahezu enigmatischen lyrischen Intensität. Das damit verbundene Gefühl reinen Staunens gehört wohl zu dem, was Lopez als »Literatur der Hoffnung« bezeichnet.

In seinen neuesten Essays und Kurzgeschichten steht die Sorge um die westliche Kultur und deren Zukunft im Vordergrund. »Resistance« (2004; Ü: Widerstand) erzählt von neun Personen, die gemeinsam studiert haben und in verschiedenen Teilen der Welt damit kämpfen, ein sinnvolles Leben zu führen. Als sie eines Tages von einem ominösen Büro der »Inland Security« drohende Briefe bekommen, in denen ihre bisherigen künstlerischen und wissenschaftlichen Tätigkeiten als Gefahrenquellen für die Demokratie eingestuft werden, beschließen sie, in den Untergrund zu gehen. Was als aktuelle Parabel auf paranoide Auswüchse staatlicher Institutionen nach dem 11. September gelesen werden kann, ist bei Lopez eine Geschichte über Hoffnung und Entschlossenheit der ins Visier der Behörde geratenen Personen.

Unter den Preisen, mit denen Lopez ausgezeichnet wurde, sind Stipendien der Guggenheim, Lannan sowie der National Science Foundation und die John-Burroughs-, John Hay- und Christopher-Medaillen. Zuletzt gab er »Home Ground« heraus, einen literarischen Führer durch die Begrifflichkeit der amerikanischen Landschaft mit Beiträgen von mehr als vierzig amerikanischen Dichtern und Schriftstellern.

© internationales literaturfestival berlin