23. ilb 06. – 16.09.2023

Aram Pachyan

Aram Pachyan was born in Vanadzor, the capital of Armenia’s Lori province in 1983. From 1999 to 2004, he studied at the Law Faculty of Yerevan State University. In 2002 he was honored by the British East-West Centre and the Centre for Comparative Law for his active participation in the seminars »Case Law – European Convention on Human Rights«. He participated in the Philip C. Jessup International Law Moot Court Competition in 2003 and received a recognition as the best speaker. From 2008 to 2009 he practiced law, after which he left his firm and devoted himself to literary writing.

His texts appeared regularly in literary magazines such as »Grakan Tert«, »Eghitsi Luys«, and »Narcis«. After winning the Gretert Prize twice for the best short story, his works were included in the collection of modern Armenian prose »Anthology 18–33« in 2009. In 2010, his first book, a collection of short prose, was published under the title »Robinson: Short Stories« [Eng. 2020]. This was followed by his first novel »Goodbye, Bird« [2012; Eng. 2017], which became a bestseller in Armenia. The protagonist is a 28-year-old former army man who falls into his memories of his ex-girlfriend, childhood friends, and comrades from the army, barely finding his way back to civilian life. The novel was adapted for the stage under the title »I am Vegetarian« in 2017. The premiere of Armenian composer Arsen Babajanyanʼs chamber opera based on the novel released in Munich 2021. The anthology »Ocean« [2014] contains short stories and essays about art, music, as well as reading experiences. His novel »P/F«, about the old and the new Yerevan, the disappeared streetcar, and a man trying to find his way in the city of his fading memories was published in 2020. The experimental text maintains the style of fragmentary storytelling with modulations typical of the Kōans of Zen Buddhism. The parts of the book can be read in any order, while the main character appears in different situations, ending the narrative with a monologue about the river Getar as a symbol of life. Based on the still unpublished novel, the musical piece »Pachyan Fragments« by Aram Hovhannisyan was composed in 2015. The book was awarded the EU Prize for Literature 2021. Aram Pachyan thus became the first Armenian author to receive this honor.

In 2018, he participated in the International Writing Program at the University of Iowa, and he was a fellow of the Villa Waldberta artists’ house in 2019. He has received the Armenian President’s Prize for Literature, among other awards. Pachyan works as a journalist at the newspaper »Hraparak«, writes for the radio, and had his own program in 2012 entitled »In the Library with Aram Pachyan«. In 2016 he participated in the Dutch documentary »Offline Is The New Luxury«.

Date: 2022

23. ilb 06. - 16.09.2023

Aram Pachyan

Aram Pachyan wurde 1983 in Wanadsor, der Hauptstadt der armenischen Provinz Lori, geboren. Von 1999 bis 2004 studierte er an der juristischen Fakultät der Staatlichen Universität Jerewan. 2002 wurde er vom British East-West Centre und dem Centre for Comparative Law für seine aktive Teilnahme an den Seminaren »Case Law – European Convention on Human Rights« ausgezeichnet. 2003 beteiligte er sich an der Philip C. Jessup International Law Moot Court Competition und erhielt eine Anerkennung als bester Redner. Von 2008 bis 2009 war er als Rechtsanwalt tätig, danach verließ er die Kanzlei und widmete sich dem literarischen Schreiben.

Seine Texte erschienen regelmäßig in Literaturzeitschriften wie »Grakan Tert«, »Eghitsi Luys« und »Narcis«. Nach seiner zweimaligen Auszeichnung mit dem Gretert-Preis für die beste Kurzgeschichte wurden seine Werke 2009 in die Sammlung moderner armenischer Prosa »Anthologie 18–33« aufgenommen. 2010 erschien sein erstes Buch, eine Sammlung von Kurzprosa, unter dem Titel »Robinson und 13 Geschichten«. Es folgte sein erster Roman »Goodbye, Bird« [2012], der in Armenien zum Bestseller wurde. Protagonist ist ein 28-jähriger ehemaliger Armeeangehöriger, der in seinen Erinnerungen an seine Ex-Freundin, an Kindheitsfreund:innen und Kameraden aus der Armee versinkt und kaum ins Zivilleben zurückfindet. Der Roman wurde unter dem Titel »Ich bin Vegetarier« 2017 für die Bühne adaptiert, die Kammeroper des armenischen Komponisten Arsen Babajanyan auf Grundlage des Romans feierte 2021 in München Premiere. Der Sammelband »Ozean« [2014] enthält Kurzgeschichten und Essays über Kunst, Musik sowie Lektüreerfahrungen. 2020 erschien sein Roman »P/F« über das alte und das neue Jerewan, die verschwundene Straßenbahn und einen Mann, der versucht, sich in der Stadt seiner verblassenden Erinnerungen zurechtzufinden. Der experimentelle Text pflegt den Stil des fragmentarischen Geschichtenerzählens mit Modulationen, die typisch für die Kōans des Zen-Buddhismus sind. Die Teile des Buches können in beliebiger Reihenfolge gelesen werden, während die Hauptfigur in verschiedenen Situationen auftaucht, und das Narrativ mit einem Monolog über den Fluss Getar als Symbol des Lebens beendet. Basierend auf dem noch unveröffentlichten Roman entstand 2015 das Musikstück »Pachyan Fragments« von Aram Hovhannisyan. Das Buch wurde mit dem EU-Literaturpreis 2021 ausgezeichnet. Aram Pachyan war damit der erste armenische Autor, dem diese Ehre zuteilwurde.

2018 nahm er am International Writing Program an der University of Iowa teil, 2019 war er Stipendiat des Künstlerhauses Villa Waldberta. Er erhielt u. a. den Literaturpreis des armenischen Präsidenten. Pachyan arbeitet als Journalist bei der Zeitung »Hraparak«, schreibt außerdem für das Radio und hatte 2012 dort eine eigene Sendung mit dem Titel »In der Bibliothek mit Aram Pachyan«. 2016 beteiligte er sich an der niederländischen Dokumentation »Offline Is The New Luxury«.

Stand: 2022