23. ilb 06. – 16.09.2023

Anuk Arudpragasam

Anuk Arudpragasam was born in 1988 to a Tamil family in Colombo, Sri Lanka. He graduated with a doctorate in philosophy from Columbia University in New York.

He published his debut novel »The Story of a Brief Marriage« in 2016. The novel is set in an unspecified refugee camp over the course of just one day and one night during the Sri Lankan civil war and follows the story of Dinesh, a young man whose mother died while fleeing, and Ganga. Bound together by an arranged marriage, they do not have much time together – as the title of the novel already suggests.

Without discussing political details, the novel concentrates on the vivid depiction of everyday life during war, focusing repeatedly on moments of humanity. According to the »FAZ«, »The richness of this astonishing debut lies in the precise perception and description of details.« The book was awarded the DSC Prize for South Asian Literature in 2017, was shortlisted for the Dylan Thomas Prize, and has been translated into several languages.

Arudpragasam’s second novel, »A Passage North« [2021], is set in Sri Lanka after the end of the war that marked the country from 1983 to 2009. Krishan, a highly educated young man from the middleclass, travels north from Colombo to attend the funeral of his grandmother’s nurse, whom he suspects has taken her own life. This is the starting point for a reflection that oscillates between memory, daydream, and free association in order to explore the history of Sri Lanka, the impact of violence on the lives of individuals and, finally, the feelings of guilt that come with having been spared from the horrors.

Critics once again praised Arudpragasam’s precise powers of observation. The »New York Times« wrote that »He is equally gifted at atmospheric, sensory description that transports the reader to Sri Lanka and India and at examining the emotions – elation, fear, impatience, satisfaction, shame – that simmer below the surface of our everyday lives.« The book was shortlisted for the Booker Prize in 2021.

Arudpragasam does not deny the influence literary models such as Virginia Woolf, Marcel Proust, and Robert Musil have had on his work; on the contrary, he sees each book as a kind of traineeship with the authors he wants to emulate. While he drew on Samuel Beckett and Péter Nádas for his first novel, especially regarding the connection between body and consciousness, Thomas Bernhard and Javier Marías’ play with digression and rhythm provided the inspiration for his second novel.

Anuk Arudpragasam has been selected as a 2022 guest of the DAAD Artists-in-Berlin Program. He currently lives in Berlin.

Date: 2022

22. ilb 07. - 17.09.2022

Anuk Arudpragasam

Anuk Arudpragasam wurde 1988 als Sohn einer tamilischen Familie in Colombo, Sri Lanka, geboren. Sein Studium der Philosophie an der Columbia University in New York schloss er mit einer Promotion ab.

2016 erschien sein Debütroman »The Story of a Brief Marriage« [dt. »Die Geschichte einer kurzen Ehe«, 2017], dessen Handlung lediglich einen Tag und eine Nacht während des Bürgerkriegs in Sri Lanka umspannt. In einem nicht genauer verorteten Flüchtlingslager treffen Dinesh, ein junger Mann, dessen Mutter auf der Flucht gestorben ist, und Ganga aufeinander. Durch eine arrangierte Ehe miteinander verbunden, bleibt ihnen – der Titel des Romans verrät es bereits – nicht viel Zeit miteinander.

Ohne politische Details zu erörtern, konzentriert der Roman sich auf die eindringliche Schilderung des Kriegsalltags und fokussiert dabei immer wieder auf Momente der Menschlichkeit. »Der Reichtum dieses erstaunlichen Debüts liegt in der präzisen Wahrnehmung und Beschreibung von Einzelheiten«, so die »FAZ«. Das Buch wurde mit dem DSC-Preis für südasiatische Literatur 2017 ausgezeichnet, stand auf der Shortlist für den Dylan Thomas Prize und wurde in mehrere Sprachen übersetzt.

Anuk Arudpragasams zweiter Roman »A Passage North« [2021; dt. »Nach Norden«, 2022] spielt in Sri Lanka nach dem Ende des bewaffneten Konflikts, der das Land von 1983 bis 2009 geprägt hat. Krishan, ein hochgebildeter junger Mann aus der Mittelschicht, reist von Colombo aus Richtung Norden zur Beerdigung der Pflegerin seiner Großmutter, von der er vermutet, dass sie sich das Leben genommen hat. Dies ist der Ausgangspunkt für eine sich zwischen Erinnerungen, Tagträumen und freier Assoziation bewegenden Reflexion über die Geschichte Sri Lankas, die Auswirkungen der Gewalt auf das Leben der Einzelnen und nicht zuletzt über das Schuldgefühl, das damit einhergeht, von allem Übel verschont worden zu sein.

Kritiker:innen hoben erneut Anuk Arudpragasams genaue Beobachtungsgabe hervor. »Er ist ebenso begabt für atmosphärische, sinnliche Schilderungen, welche die Leser:innen nach Sri Lanka und Indien entführen, wie für die Untersuchung der Emotionen – Euphorie, Angst, Ungeduld, Befriedigung, Scham –, die unter der Oberfläche unseres Alltagslebens brodeln«, befand die »New York Times«.

Das Buch stand auf der Shortlist für den Booker Prize 2021. Anuk Arudpragasam verschweigt nicht den Einfluss literarischer Vorbilder wie Virginia Woolf, Marcel Proust und Robert Musil auf sein Werk; im Gegenteil sieht er jedes Buch als eine Art Ausbildung bei den Autor:innen, denen er nacheifern möchte. Während er bei seinem ersten Roman, speziell was die Verbindung von Körper und Bewusstsein angeht, Samuel Beckett und Péter Nádas heranzog, sind es bei seinem zweiten Roman Thomas Bernhard und Javier Marías, deren Spiel mit Abschweifungen und Rhythmus ihn inspiriert haben.

Für 2022 wurde Anuk Arudpragasam zum Fellow des Berliner Künstlerprogramms des Deutschen Akademischen Austauschdienstes ausgewählt. Er lebt derzeit in Berlin.