23. ilb 06. – 16.09.2023

Antonio Ungar

Antonio Ungar was born in Bogotá in 1974 and made the universe of books his world at an early age, since his grandparents ran one of Colombia’s oldest bookstores. Before studying architecture Ungar lived one year in Manchester. He later lived in the jungle around the Orinoco River, Mexico City, Barcelona and Jaffa, working as a part time journalist, and publishing in various international newspapers and magazines. In 2005, he was awarded the Premio Nacional de Periodismo Simón Bolívar for Colombian journalists.

He debuted as a writer in 1999 with the publication of the short stories book »Trece circos comunes« (tr: Thirteen Ordinary Circuses), unsettling narrations between reality and delusion, absurdity and illusion. Commenting on his first book, the author stated that »All of life can be a game. Maybe we can play it better if we understand that we are playing and also what we are playing«. His second book, »De ciertos animals tristes« (2001; tr: On certain sad animals), deals with the issue of memory and friendship. In Ungar’s first novel »Zanahorias voladoras« (2004; tr: Flying Carrots) the hero, a Colombian migrant in Barcelona, describes his ongoing physical and mental deterioration. In 2006 Ungar published the novel »Las orejas del lobo« (tr: The Ears of the Wolf), which describes the world of adults as seen from the perspective of a little red-haired boy, who does not talk much, but clearly depicts the shortcomings of the grown-ups. The loss of his father is an experience he has to cope with. The restless life of his mother is another problem he has to overcome. Ungar is also interested in the political situation of Latin America. He was awarded the prestigious Premio Herralde and was short listed for the Rómulo Gallegos Prize for »Tres ataúdes blancos« (2010; tr: Three White Coffins), a thriller that has been translated into seven languages and is currently being adapted into a movie. Lorenzo, an overweight and not really presentable loner adopts the identity of an opposition leader who has been killed. The story is set in Miranda, a fictive Latin American country. Dark humor is the essential tool Ungar uses to describe Lorenzo’s fight against the ruling totalitarian regime. His style is direct and unfussy, and the novel criticizes the political conditions not only in Colombia but also in other countries on the continent. In his 2018 thriller »Mírame« (tr: Look At Me), Ungar reflects on immigration and xenophobia. Two years prior, Ungar made his debut as a children’s book author when he published »Corazón de león« (2016; tr: Lion’s Heart), a story about a child’s outlook on order and disorder.

Antonio Ungar was chosen in 2005 to represent Colombia in the writer’s residence of the IWP (University of Iowa) and in 2007 was voted as to the »Bogotá 39«, the 39 best Latin American writers under 39. From autumn of 2020 he will be living in Berlin.

22. ilb 07. - 17.09.2022

Antonio Ungar

Antonio Ungar, 1974 in Bogotá geboren, entdeckte schon früh das Universum der Bücher für sich, da seine Großeltern eine der ältesten Buchhandlungen des Landes führten. Bevor er Architektur studierte, ging er für ein Jahr nach Manchester. Später lebte er im Urwald am Orinoco, in Mexiko-Stadt, Barcelona und Jaffa. Er arbeitete nebenbei als Journalist und veröffentlichte in internationalen Zeitungen und Zeitschriften. 2005 erhielt er den Journalistenpreis Premio Nacional de Periodismo Simón Bolívar.

Schriftstellerisch debütierte Ungar 1999 mit dem Erzählband »Trece circos comunes« (Ü: Dreizehn gewöhnliche Zirkusse) – beunruhigenden Geschichten an der Grenze zwischen Realität und Wahn. »Das ganze Leben kann ein Spiel sein. Vielleicht können wir besser spielen, wenn wir verstehen, dass wir spielen und auch was gespielt wird«, schrieb der Autor über sein Debüt. »De ciertos animals tristes« (2001; tr: Über bestimmte traurige Tiere) handelt von Erinnerung und Freundschaft. In seinem ersten Roman »Zanahorias voladoras« (2004; Ü: Fliegende Mohrrüben) schildert der Protagonist, ein kolumbianischer Emigrant in Barcelona, seinen fortschreitenden körperlichen und mentalen Verfall. 2006 folgte der Roman »Las orejas del lobo« (Ü: Die Ohren des Wolfs), der aus der Perspektive eines kleinen rothaarigen Jungen, der wenig redet, die Welt der Erwachsenen beschreibt und ihre Unzulänglichkeiten bloßstellt. Als einschneidendes Erlebnis muss von dem Jungen der Verlust des Vaters verarbeitet werden, und auch das unstete Leben seiner Mutter setzt ihm zu. Ungars Interesse gilt aber auch den politischen Gegebenheiten in Lateinamerika. In »Tres ataúdes blancos« (2010; dt. »Drei weiße Särge«, 2012) – einem Thriller, der mit dem renommierten Premio Herralde geehrt, für den Premio Rómulo Gallegos nominiert, in sieben Sprachen übersetzt wurde und gegenwärtig verfilmt wird – nimmt Lorenzo, einzelgängerisch, übergewichtig und wenig gesellschaftsfähig, die Identität eines ermordeten Oppositionsführers an; die Geschichte spielt in Miranda, einem fiktiven Land in Lateinamerika. Mit schwarzem Humor als wesentlichem Merkmal wird Lorenzos Kampf gegen das herrschende totalitäre Regime erzählt. Der vielschichtige Roman, den ein direkter und schnörkelloser Stil prägt, erweist sich als Anklage der politischen Verhältnisse nicht nur in Kolumbien, sondern auch in anderen Ländern seines Heimatkontinents. In seinem Thriller »Mírame« (2018; Ü: Schau mich an) reflektiert Ungar über Einwanderung und Fremdenfeindlichkeit, nachdem er 2016 mit »Corazón de león« (Ü: Herz des Löwen), einer Geschichte über die kindliche Sicht auf Ordnung und Unordnung, auch als Kinderbuchautor debütiert hatte.

Antonio Ungar wurde 2005 für ein Stipendium an der University of Iowa ausgewählt und 2007 auf die Liste »Bogotá 39« der 39 besten lateinamerikanischen Schriftsteller unter 39 Jahren gewählt. Von Herbst 2020 an lebt er in Berlin.