Anke Stelling

Portrait Anke Stelling
© Rottkay

 

Anke Stelling was born in Ulm in 1971. She grew up in Stuttgart, studied at the German Institute for Literature in Leipzig, and has published several novels. Her novel »Bodentiefe Fenster« (2015; tr: Floor-to-Ceiling Windows) was on the long list for the German Book Prize and was described as »a deeply sarcastic and deeply sad reckoning with the ideals of the West German post-war period« (Zeit Online). This was followed by »Fürsorge« (2017; tr: Caring), a story about a mother who enters into a relationship with her son who had grown up with his grandmother. In 2018, she released »Schäfchen im Trockenen« (tr: Sheep in the shed), in which the main character Resi describes the breakup of her group of friends: thanks to a family inheritance, the old friends are able to build their own home while Resi is left to figure out what to do. The novel was awarded the Leipzig Book Fair Prize.

Stelling’s first children’s book »Erna und die drei Wahrheiten« (2017; tr: Erna and the Three Truths« is a story about 11-year-old Erna, who lives with her family in a community housing project and goes to an alternative school in Berlin. Although everyone around them is friendly and tolerant, Erna exposes injustices and the double standards of the adult world. Deutschlandfunk selected the novel for the list of the best seven books for young readers. Additionally, the book was included in the 2017 »White Ravens« catalogue, which annually highlights two hundred international picture, children’s, and young adult books, based on their innovative literary and visual design as well as their ability to convey universal topics to a wide audience. »Freddie und die Bändigung des Bösen« (2020; tr: Freddie and the Taming of Evil) is her second children’s novel. Stelling’s book follows Freddie and Mattis, who have been friends since preschool. The story picks up after their preschool days, after they have been going to school for quite some time. Mattis is cheeky and thinks only of jokes. Freddie is rather reserved but, if Mattis does something, he still participates. But even the oldest of friendships have their limits.

In 2019 Stelling received the Friedrich Hölderlin Prize of the City of Bad Homburg for her literary work. The selection committee praised her work by stating that »Anke Stelling’s prose analyzes contemporary middle-class society in a highly sensitive way … Just as curious as sometimes angry, but above all with the actual forms of knowledge of the poetic: with accuracy, sensitivity and wit.« The author lives in Berlin with her family.

Anke Stelling

Portrait Anke Stelling
© Rottkay

Anke Stelling, geboren 1971 in Ulm und in Stuttgart aufgewachsen, studierte am Deutschen Literaturinstitut in Leipzig und veröffentlichte mehrere Romane. »Bodentiefe Fenster« (2015), »eine zutiefst sarkastische und tieftraurige Abrechnung mit den Idealen der westdeutschen Nachkriegszeit« (Zeit Online), stand auf der Longlist des Deutschen Buchpreises. Es folgten »Fürsorge« (2017) über eine Mutter, die ein Verhältnis mit ihrem bei der Großmutter aufgewachsenen Sohn beginnt, und »Schäfchen im Trockenen« (2018), dessen Hauptfigur Resi den Zerfall ihrer Clique beschreibt: Während die alten Freund*innen dank elterlichem Erbe ein Eigenheim bauen können, muss Resi sehen, wo sie bleibt. Der Roman wurde mit dem Preis der Leipziger Buchmesse ausgezeichnet.

Stellings erstes Kinderbuch »Erna und die drei Wahrheiten« (2017) dreht sich um die elfjährige Erna, die mit ihrer Familie in einem gemeinschaftlichen Wohnprojekt lebt und ein alternatives Schulprojekt in Berlin besucht. Zwar geben sich in ihrem Umfeld alle sozial und tolerant, doch Erna deckt Ungerechtigkeiten auf und entlarvt die Doppelmoral der Erwachsenenwelt. Der Roman wurde vom Deutschlandfunk auf die Liste der besten sieben Bücher für junge Leser*innen gewählt und 2017 in den Buchempfehlungskatalog »White Ravens« aufgenommen, der alljährlich zweihundert internationale Bilder-, Kinder- und Jugendbücher vorstellt, die wegen ihrer innovativen literarischen und bildgestalterischen Qualität oder wegen ihrer universellen Themen für ein breites Publikum interessant sind. »Freddie und die Bändigung des Bösen« (2020) ist ihr zweiter Roman für Kinder. Im Mittelpunkt stehen Freddie und Mattis, die seit der Kita befreundet sind. Inzwischen gehen sie längst zur Schule. Mattis ist vorlaut und hat Flausen im Kopf, Freddie ist eher zurückhaltend. Wenn Mattis etwas anstellt, macht er trotzdem mit – doch auch die älteste Freundschaft hat ihre Grenzen.

2019 erhielt Stelling für ihr literarisches Schaffen den Friedrich-Hölderlin-Preis der Stadt Bad Homburg. »Anke Stellings Prosa analysiert auf hoch sensible Weise die Mittelstandsgesellschaft der Gegenwart«, so die Begründung der Jury. »Ebenso neugierig wie mitunter zornig, vor allem aber mit den eigentlichen Erkenntnisformen des Poetischen: mit Genauigkeit, Feinfühligkeit und Witz.« Die Autorin lebt mit ihrer Familie in Berlin.