Andrej Kurkow

Portrait Andrej Kurkow
© Hartwig Klappert

Andrey Kurkov was born in Budugošč’ near Leningrad [St. Petersburg today] in 1961. He has lived in Kyiv since his early childhood and Russian is his mother tongue. He graduated from the National Pedagogical Institute for Foreign Languages in Kyiv in 1983 and since pursued various activities.

Kurkov already started writing as a schoolboy and has written many novels and children’s books. His early works, such as »»Smert’ postoronnego« [1996; Eng. »Death and the Penguin«, 2010], »Dobryj angel smerti« [2000; Eng. »The Good Angel of Death«, 2009], and »Milyj drug, tovarišč pokojnika« [2001; Eng. »A friend of the deceased«, 1997] are detective novels that paint a picture of the Kyiv of the post-perestroika period. Animals and lonely marginal figures are often the heroes of these stories about failure in a demoralized and egoistic society. The narrative flow – contrary to many thrillers – is mostly calm and the mood predominantly melancholic. Kurkov also writes social novels that raise political and philosophical questions. »Poslednjaja ljubov’ presidenta« [2005; Eng. »The President’s Last Love«, 2009] is about the fictitious Ukrainian president Bunin, who increasingly becomes the plaything of his advisors. With this twisted story, Kurkov refers to shady figures in recent Ukrainian history – Viktor Juščenko and Julia Timošenko. Kurkov’s novel »Nočnoj moločnik« [2007, Eng. »The Milkman in the Night«, 2011] again reflects the absurdities of everyday life in Kyiv by depicting the life of the Ukrainian middle class, which keeps its head above water in the capital’s suburbs with services of all kinds. In »Skazanie ob istinno narodnom kontrolere« [tr: The People’s Controller], oscillating between reality and fantasy, he tells the story of Pavel Dobrynin, who is unexpectedly elected »People’s Controller for Life for the entire Soviet Union« and encounters colorful characters on his travels, including a deserted angel in search of a righteous Soviet citizen, for one does not yet exist in heaven. Through the prism of his surreal and satirically exaggerated prose, Kurkov casts a time-diagnostically precise, at times even prophetic glance at the conditions in his post-Soviet homeland. In 2014, his »Ukrainian Diaries: Dispatches from Kiev« reported on the revolution in the Ukrainian capital where he lives. In his period novel »Samson i Nadežda« [2021; tr: Samson and Nadežda], he tells a crime story from revolutionary-era Kyiv. His 2022 » Vermessung des Krieges« [tr: Surveying the War] is a very personal diary with reflections on how the war changes and reinterprets everything.

Kurkov has also written over twenty screenplays and worked for the State Film Studio A. Dovženko in Kyiv. His awards include the Nikolai Gogol Prize [Rome] and the Readers’ Prize of the European Literature Festival [Cognac]. In 2014, he was made a Chevalier de la Légion d’Honneur in France.

23. ilb 06. - 16.09.2023

Andrej Kurkow

Andrej Kurkow wurde 1961 in Budugoschtsch in der Nähe von Leningrad [heute Sankt Petersburg] geboren. 1983 schloss er sein Studium am Kiewer Staatlichen Pädagogischen Fremdspracheninstitut ab und ging danach verschiedenen Tätigkeiten nach.

Bereits als Schüler hatte er angefangen zu schreiben. Bis heute verfasste er zahlreiche Romane und Kinderbücher. Seine frühen Werke wie »Smert’ postoronnego« [1996; dt. »Picknick auf dem Eis«, 1999], »Dobryj angel smerti« [2000; dt. »Petrowitsch«, 2000] und »Milyj drug, tovarišč pokojnika« [2001; dt. »Ein Freund des Verblichenen«, 2001] sind Kriminalromane, die ein Sittenbild vom Kiew der Nach-Perestroika-Zeit zeichnen. Zumeist sind Tiere und einsame Randfiguren die Helden dieser Geschichten, die in einer demoralisierten und egoistischen Gesellschaft gescheitert sind. Dabei ist der Erzählfluss – ganz anders als üblicherweise in Thrillern – meist ruhig und die Stimmung vorwiegend melancholisch. Kurkow schreibt zudem Gesellschaftsromane, die politische und philosophische Fragen aufwerfen. In »Poslednjaja ljubov’ presidenta« [2005; dt. »Die letzte Liebe des Präsidenten«, 2005] geht es um den fiktiven ukrainischen Präsidenten Bunin, der immer mehr zum Spielball seiner Berater wird. Mit dieser Groteske verweist Kurkow auf zwielichtige Figuren der jüngsten ukrainischen Geschichte – Viktor Juščenko und Julia Timošenko. Kurkows Roman »Nočnoj moločnik« [2007; dt. »Der Milchmann in der Nacht«, 2009] spiegelt erneut die Absurditäten des Kiewer Alltags, indem er das Leben der ukrainischen Mittelschicht schildert, die sich in den Vororten der Hauptstadt mit Dienstleistungen aller Art über Wasser hält. In »Skazanie ob istinno narodnom kontrolere« [2007; dt. »Der wahrhaftige Volkskontrolleur«, 2011] erzählt er, zwischen Realität und Fantasie changierend, von Pawel Dobrynin, der unerwartet zum »Volkskontrolleur auf Lebenszeit für die ganze Sowjetunion« gewählt wird und auf seinen Reisen den schillerndsten Figuren begegnet, u. a. einem desertierten Engel auf der Suche nach einem gerechten Sowjetbürger, denn den gibt es im Himmel noch nicht. Durch das Prisma seiner surreal und satirisch überhöhten Prosa wirft Kurkow einen zeitdiagnostisch präzisen, bisweilen gar prophetischen Blick auf die Verhältnisse in seiner postsowjetischen Heimat. 2014 berichtete er in seinem »Ukrainischen Tagebuch. Aufzeichnungen aus dem Herzen des Protests« von der Revolution in der ukrainischen Hauptstadt, wo er selbst lebt. In seinem Retro-Roman »Samson i Nadežda« [2021; dt. »Samson und Nadjeschda«, 2022] erzählt er eine Kriminalgeschichte aus dem Kiew der Revolutionszeit. »Vermessung des Krieges« [2022] ist ein sehr persönliches Tagebuch mit Reflexionen, wie der Krieg alles verändert und umdeutet.

Kurkow schrieb außerdem über zwanzig Drehbücher und arbeitete für das Staatliche Filmstudio A. Dovženko in Kiew. Zu seinen Auszeichnungen zählen der in Rom verliehene Nikolai-Gogol-Preis sowie der Leserpreis des Europäischen Literaturfestivals in Cognac. 2014 wurde er in Frankreich zum Chevalier de la Légion d’Honneur ernannt.

Stand: 2022