23. ilb 06. – 16.09.2023

Andreas Martin Widmann

born in Mainz in 1979, is an award-winning writer and literary scholar. After studying German, English, and Theatre Studies in his hometown, which he completed with a doctorate on »Kontrafaktische Geschichtsdarstellung« (2009, tr: Counterfactual Representation of History) using examples by Philip Roth, Thomas Pynchon and Günter Grass, among others, he worked for several years as a DAAD lecturer at University College London.

As an author, he has published essays and novels. For his debut novel »Die Glücksparade« (2012, tr: The Wheel of Fortune), he received the Robert Gernhardt Award in 2010 and the Mara-Cassens Award for the best German-language debut in 2012. In his novel, he tells the story of fifteen-year-old Simon, who is stranded with his parents among permanent campers in a kind of trailer park, the »Ferienanlage Aue«, after his father takes a job there as a groundskeeper. The jury of the Mara-Cassens Award praised how Widmann »depicts the small world of the relegated with calm and sensitive language and thus a milieu to which few have access.« In this he shows himself to be a »master of empathy«. »Die Glücksparade« has been placed in the tradition of Bruce Springsteen’s songwriting. It has also been compared to the heroes of J.D. Salinger and Charles Dickens.

In between, Widmann earned his money as a copywriter in a Frankfurt advertising agency, which provided him with the material for his second novel, »Messias« (2018, tr: Messiah). Set in the summer of 2012, it describes Paul Helmer’s move to London to advertise for Oman Airlines, in a language shaped by the Anglophone narrative tone and rich in precise observations. Paul’s wife Inge stays at home in a Frankfurt suburb while he waits for an Arab billionaire named Faisal. Inge falls for an esoteric guru. The daughter Judith flees from a Danish hippie commune back to the parental home. »Everything is in this many-voiced social novel: the de-individualisation and the moulding of the employee into an efficient and self-optimised being. The real theme, however, is the permanent search of all characters for redemption.« [Der Tagesspiegel]

The themes of counterculture, bon vivants and outsiders also feature prominently in Widmann’s award-winning essays. In the magazines Merkur. Zeitschrift für europäisches Denken, Lettre International, German Quarterly and Edit, for example, he has written about the digital archives of the band Grateful Dead, the cinema of Roland Klick and the question of how Google Street View changes the perception of nature.

Widmann teaches German language and literature at Bard College Berlin and is a member of the summer school faculty at Middlebury College Vermont. The author lives in Berlin.

23. ilb 06. – 16.09.2023

Andreas Martin Widmann

geboren 1979 in Mainz, ist ein mehrfach ausgezeichneter Schriftsteller und Literaturwissenschaftler. Nach dem Studium der Germanistik, Anglistik und Theaterwissenschaft in Mainz, das er mit einer Promotion über »Kontrafaktische Geschichtsdarstellung« (2009) u.a. am Beispiel von Philip Roth, Thomas Pynchon und Günter Grass abschloss, arbeitete mehrere Jahre als DAAD-Lektor am University College London.

Als Autor veröffentlichte er Essays und Romane. Für seinen Debütroman »Die Glücksparade« (2012) erhielt er 2010 den Robert-Gernhardt-Preis und 2012 den Mara-Cassens-Preis des Literaturhauses Hamburg für das beste deutschsprachige Debüt. Er erzählt darin vom fünfzehnjährigen Simon, der mit seinen Eltern zwischen Dauercampern in einer Art Trailerpark, der »Ferienanlage Aue«, gestrandet ist, nachdem sein Vater dort eine Stelle als Platzwart angenommen hat. Die Jury des Mara-Cassens-Preises lobte, wie Widmann »mit gelassener und einfühlsamer Sprache die kleine Welt der Abgestiegenen [schildert] und damit ein Milieu, zu dem die wenigsten Zugang haben.« Hierin zeige er sich als »Meister der Empathie«. »Die Glücksparade« wurde in die Tradition des Songwriting von Bruce Springsteen gestellt sowie mit den Helden J.D. Salingers und Charles Dickens verglichen.

Zwischendurch verdiente Widmann sein Geld als Werbetexter in einer Frankfurter Werbeagentur, was ihm das Material lieferte für den zweiten Roman »Messias« (2018). Dieser spielt im Sommer 2012. Er schildert in einer am anglophonen Erzählton geschulten Sprache, die reich ist an präzisen Beobachtungen, wie Paul Helmer nach London zieht, um Werbung für Oman Airlines zu machen. Seine Frau Inge bleibt zuhause in einem Frankfurter Vorort, während Paul auf einen arabischen Milliardär namens Faisal wartet. Inge verfällt einem esoterischen Guru. Die Tochter Judith flieht aus einer dänischen Hippiekommune zurück ins Elternhaus. »Alles ist drin in diesem vielstimmigen Gesellschaftsroman: die Entindividualisierung und die Zurichtung des Angestellten hin zu einem effizienten und selbstoptimierten Wesen. Das eigentliche Thema ist jedoch die permanente Suche aller Figuren nach Erlösung.« [Der Tagesspiegel]

Auch in seinen vielfach ausgezeichneten Essays hat Widmann sich mit Gegenkulturen, Lebenskünstler*innen und Außenseiter*innen beschäftigt. In den Zeitschriften Merkur. Zeitschrift für europäisches Denken, Lettre International, German Quarterly und Edit etwa erschienen Texte über die digitalen Archive der Band The Grateful Dead, das Kino des Roland Klick sowie die Frage, wie sich Naturwahrnehmung durch Google Street View verändert.

Widmann unterrichtet am Bard College Berlin deutsche Sprache und Literatur und ist Mitglied der Summer School Faculty am Middlebury College Vermont. Der Autor lebt in Berlin.