23. ilb 06. – 16.09.2023

André Alexis

Portrait André Alexis
© Hannah Zoe Davison

André Alexis was born in Port of Spain (Trinidad and Tobago) in 1957. His parents left Trinidad for Canada in the late 1950s, followed in 1961 by Alexis and his younger sister. He spent his childhood in Ottawa. Alexis began his artistic career in theater as playwright-in-residence at the Canadian Stage Company (CanStage).

His first drama »Lambton, Kent« was produced and preformed in 1995. The drama revolves around a Nigerian anthropologist and his observations of southern Ontario. Alexis was nominated for the Commonwealth Prize (Canada and the Caribbean region) for his first collection of short prose: »Despair, and Other Stories of Ottawa« (1994). The texts examine the depths of the human psyche, and also paint a surreal picture of the Canadian capital. In his debut novel »Childhood« (1998), Alexis tells the story of a middle-aged man who reflects on his childhood, stressing the inherent subjectivity of any retrospective. In an interview, Alexis described the influence of his origin on his writing: »… how to speak in Trinidad, the narrative rhythms, the repetitions, the simplicity of the language. […] My ideal is the simplicity and beauty of the fairy tale.« The novel was nominated for the Scotiabank Giller Prize. In »Asylum« (2008), Alexis uses ingenious satire to tell a story based in Ottawa at the time of Mulroney to explore intertwined lives and destinies, politics and vanities, the construction of a supposedly ideal prison, human fallibility, the search for refuge, love, and the home. »Pastoral« was published in 2014 and was the first of a planned series of five philosophical novels, followed by »Fifteen Dogs« (2015), »The Hidden Keys« (2016), and »Days by Moonlight« (2019). This fourth part of the series, which was awarded the Rogers Writers’ Trust Fiction Prize, tells of a botanist named Homer, who goes on a trip to southern Ontario with a professor of literature to collect material for a book about a mysterious poet, gaining healing abilities along the way.

In addition to his novels, Alexis also wrote the children’s book »Ingrid and the Wolf« (2005) and a series of libretti, among others for James Rolfesʼ opera »Aeneas and Dido« (2007), which premiered in the Masque Theater Toronto the year it was created. Alexis has received numerous awards, including the Windham-Campbell Literature Prize 2017. He currently resides in Toronto and works as a moderator for CBC Radio, writes as a literary critic for »The Globe and Mail«, and teaches English and creative writing at the university. He is a 2020 guest of the DAAD Artists-in-Berlin Program.

André Alexis

Portrait André Alexis
© Hannah Zoe Davison

André Alexis wurde 1957 in Port of Spain, Trinidad und Tobago, geboren. Seine Eltern verließen Trinidad Ende der 1950er Jahre, 1961 folgten ihnen Alexis und seine jüngere Schwester nach Kanada. Er verbrachte seine Jugend in Ottawa. Alexis begann seine künstlerische Laufbahn im Theater als Dramaturg bei der Canadian Stage Company (CanStage).

1995 wurde sein erstes Drama »Lambton Kent« uraufgeführt, das von einem nigerianischen Anthropologen und seiner Sicht auf Süd-Ontario handelt. Mit seiner ersten Sammlung von Kurzprosa »Despair, and Other Stories of Ottawa« (1994; Ü: Verzweiflung und andere Ottawa-Erzählungen) war Alexis für den Commonwealth-Preis (Kanada und karibische Region) nominiert. Die Texte untersuchen die Tiefen der menschlichen Psyche und zeigen ein surreales Abbild der kanadischen Hauptstadt. In seinem Debütroman »Childhood« (1998; dt. »Kindheit«, 2000) erzählt Alexis von einem Mann mittleren Alters, der zurückblickt auf seine Kindheit, und macht die Subjektivität jeglicher Retrospektion deutlich. In einem Interview sagte Alexis, der Einfluss seiner eigenen Herkunft auf sein Schreiben liege darin, »wie man in Trinidad spricht, die erzählerischen Rhythmen, die Wiederholungen, die Einfachheit der Sprache. […] Mein Ideal ist die Einfachheit und Schönheit des Märchens.« »Childhood« war u. a. für den Scotiabank Giller Prize nominiert. In »Asylum« (2008) erzählt Alexis in einer scharfsinnigen Satire, angesiedelt in Ottawa zur Zeit von Mulroney, von miteinander verflochtenen Leben und Schicksalen, von Politik und Eitelkeiten, vom Bau eines vermeintlich idealen Gefängnisses, von menschlicher Fehlbarkeit, von der Suche nach Zuflucht, Liebe und Heimat. 2014 erschien »Pastoral«, der erste einer geplanten Serie von fünf Romanen zu philosophischen Themen, gefolgt von »Fifteen Dogs« (2015; dt. »Fünfzehn Hunde«, 2016), »The Hidden Keys« (2016; Ü: Die versteckten Schlüssel) und »Days by Moonlight« (2019; Ü: Mondlichttage), der mit dem Rogers Writersʼ Trust Fiction Prize ausgezeichnet wurde. In diesem vierten Teil der Serie wird von einem Botaniker namens Homer erzählt, der mit einem Literaturprofessor zu einer Reise ins südliche Ontario aufbricht, um dort Material für ein Buch über einen mysteriösen Dichter zu sammeln, und dabei heilende Fähigkeiten erlangt.

Neben seinen Romanen schrieb Alexis auch das Jugendbuch »Ingrid and the Wolf« (2005; Ü: Ingrid und der Wolf) sowie eine Reihe von Libretti, darunter für James Rolfes Oper »Aeneas und Dido« (2007), die im Entstehungsjahr im Masque Theatre Toronto uraufgeführt wurde. Alexis erhielt zahlreiche Preise, darunter den Windham-Campbell Literature Prize 2017. Er arbeitet er als Moderator für CBC Radio, schreibt als Literaturkritiker für »The Globe and Mail« und lehrt Englisch und Creative Writing an der Universität Toronto. 2020 ist er Gast des Berliner Künstlerprogramms des DAAD.