22. ilb 07. - 17.09.2022

Ana Penyas

Spanish illustrator Ana Penyas was born in Valencia in 1987. She has a degree in industrial design and fine arts from the Universidad Politécnica de Valencia. She has shown her work at solo exhibitions in places such as Lisbon and Valencia, but also at group exhibitions. She worked as an illustrator for »Pikara Magazine« and numerous print and online media outlets. Her series »Viaje al interior« [tr: Journey to the Interior] received an honorable mention at the Iberoamérica Ilustra award ceremony in 2015. A year later she won the VII. Catálogo Iberoamericano Ilustra for »Buscando un sitio« [tr: Looking For a Place]. She received the Premio Internacional de Novela Gráfica Fnac-Salamandra Graphic in 2016, which gave her the opportunity to publish her first graphic novel.

»Estamos todas bien« [2017; tr: We Are All Fine] is a tribute to post-war women from a feminist perspective. She was inspired after talking to her own grandmothers: »The women of this generation, whom we do not take care of the way they took care of us, have always been secondary roles in the lives of others: the wife of, the mother of or the grandmother of. Like Maruja and Herminia. Their anecdotes, their ideas and their world are here in this book, a small tribute that wants to make them protagonists.« In terms of design, warm tones dominate, particularly a rosy red, which the author associates with her own grandmother. Gradually, the power of this color gives way to other colors such as ocher, gray, and maroon, all of which convey warmth, everyday life, and maturity as well as wisdom and patience. For her graphic novel, which primarily visualizes personal and generational memories, Penyas became the first woman to win Spain’s most prestigious comic award, the Premio Nacional del Cómic, in 2018. In 2017, she illustrated Alberto Haller’s »En Transición«, which tells of Spain’s transition to democracy after Franco. The work addresses the social fractures, obliviousness, and dissonances by highlighting the conflicts of ordinary people in the neighborhood, which arise when memory and silence clash.

She also illustrated the children’s book »Mexique. El nombre del barco« [2017] for children aged five and older, in which María José Ferrada tells the true story of 456 unaccompanied children who were sent to Mexico via ocean liner during the Spanish Civil War. Her most recent graphic novel, »Todo bajo el sol« [2021; tr: Everything Under the Sun], explores the process of transforming the Levant coast into a place of mass tourism in the early 1960s through the story of a family that suffers from its devastating consequences. The book received the IV. Premio ACDCómic for best national work. Nowadays she is working on an exhibition »En una casa. Genealogía del trabajo del hogar y los cuidados« [tr. In a house. Genealogy of housework and care] in the Institute of Modern Art of Valencia IVAM with the social researcher Alba Herrero. The exhibition, a genealogy about the domestic workers in the area of Valencia, will take place in november 2023.

Penyas lives in Sevilla.

Date: 2022

22. ilb 07. - 17.09.2022

Ana Penyas

Die spanische Illustratorin Ana Penyas wurde 1987 in Valencia geboren. Sie hat einen Abschluss in Industriedesign und in Bildender Kunst von der Universidad Politécnica de Valencia. Ihre Arbeiten zeigte sie auf Einzelausstellungen, zum Beispiel in Lissabon und in Valencia, aber auch bei diversen Gruppenausstellungen. Sie arbeitete als Illustratorin für das »Pikara Magazine« und für zahlreiche Print- und Internetmedien. Ihre Serie »Viaje al interior« [Ü: Reise ins Innere] erhielt 2015 eine besondere Erwähnung bei der Verleihung des Iberoamérica Ilustra. Ein Jahr später gewann sie den VII. Catálogo Iberoamericano Ilustra mit »Buscando un sitio« [Ü: Auf der Suche nach einem Ort]. 2016 erhielt sie den Premio Internacional de Novela Gráfica Fnac-Salamandra Graphic, was ihr die Möglichkeit zur Veröffentlichung einer ersten Graphic Novel gab.

»Estamos todas bien« [2017; Ü: Uns allen geht es gut] ist eine Hommage an die Nachkriegsfrauen aus feministischer Sicht. Inspiriert wurde sie dazu durch die Gespräche mit ihren eigenen Großmüttern: »Die Frauen dieser Generation, um die wir uns nicht so kümmern, wie sie sich um uns gekümmert haben, waren schon immer ein Anhängsel im Leben anderer: die Frau von, die Mutter von oder die Großmutter von. Wie Maruja und Herminia. Ihren Anekdoten, ihren Ideen und ihrer Welt widmet sich diese Hommage, ein Buch, das sie zu Protagonisten machen will.« In gestalterischer Hinsicht dominieren warme Töne, vor allem ein rosiges Rot, das die Autorin mit ihrer eigenen Großmutter assoziiert. Nach und nach weicht die Kraft dieser Farbe vor eine Reihe anderer Farbtöne wie Ocker, Grau, Kastanienbraun, was Wärme, Alltag und Reife vermittelt sowie Weisheit und Geduld. Für ihre Graphic Novel, die vor allem persönliche und generationenbezogene Erinnerungen visualisiert, wurde Penyas 2018 als erste Frau mit dem höchsten spanischen Comicpreis Premio Nacional del Cómic ausgezeichnet. 2017 schuf sie die Illustrationen zu Alberto Hallers »En Transición«, in dem von der Zeit des Übergangs zur Demokratie in Spanien nach der Zeit Francos erzählt wird. Gezeigt werden die gesellschaftlichen Brüche, das Vergessen und die Dissonanzen anhand von Konflikten einfacher Menschen in der Nachbarschaft, wenn sich die Erinnerung dem Schweigen entgegenstellt.

Penyas illustrierte außerdem das Kinderbuch »Mexique. El nombre del barco« [2017] für Kinder ab fünf Jahren, in dem María José Ferrada die wahre Geschichte von 456 Kindern erzählt, die im Spanischen Bürgerkrieg unbegleitet mit einem Ozeandampfer nach Mexiko geschickt wurden. Ihre jüngste Graphic Novel »Todo bajo el sol« [2021; dt. »Sonnenseiten«, 2022] widmet sich thematisch dem Prozess der Umwandlung der Levante-Küste in einen Ort des Massentourismus Anfang der 1960er-Jahre anhand der Geschichte einer Familie, die unter deren verheerenden Folgen zu leiden hat. Das Buch erhielt 2021 den IV. Premio ACDCómic für das beste nationale Werk. Gegenwärtig arbeitet sie am Institute of Modern Art of Valencia IVAM gemeinsam mit der Sozialwissenschaftlerin Alba Herrero an der Ausstellung »En una casa. Genealogía del trabajo del hogar y los cuidados«, einer Genealogie der Hausangestellten in Valencia, die im November 2023 eröffnet wird.

Ana Penyas lebt in Sevilla.

Stand: 2022