22. ilb 07. - 17.09.2022

Amir Hassan Cheheltan

Amir Hassan Cheheltan was born in Tehran in 1956. After the Islamic Revolution, he traveled to Britain to complete his studies. During the war between Iran and Iraq, for which he was conscripted after his return, he wrote his first novel, »The Mourning of Qassem«. The book was only published in 2003, 20 years after it was completed. After receiving a grant from the International Parliament of Writers, he fled Iran in 1999 to avoid the wave of violence against intellectuals and lived in Italy for two years.

Cheheltan has published many novels, some of which are banned in Iran, and many of which have been translated into English, German, Italian, Norwegian, Lithuanian, Arabic, and Hebrew. His work often comes into conflict with censors and has been subject to numerous restrictions and re-publications. In his works, everyday life in Iran is a central theme set against the background of the country’s history and the interactions between religion, the state, and modernization. The novel »Tehran, City Without a Sky« [2001] tells of the rise of a man from brutal crony of a brothel-owner to a businessman who supports the Islamic Revolution and makes money on the black market. The protagonist in »Iranian Dawn« [2005] is an Iranian Communist who emigrates to the Soviet Union. The novel was nominated for the Iranian National Book Award, which Cheheltan refused because of the hard censorship in the country.

»Tehran, Revolution Street« [2009] was his first major work to be published in German. The protagonist is a surgeon who specializes in hymen repair. The rift between tradition and modernity that divides Iran also affects his clinic, where operations are carried out to eliminate traces of sexual intercourse in order to satisfy the traditional sense of honor still present in society. Cheheltan’s 2015 historical novel »The Calligrapher of Isafahan«, set in 1722, tells of the downfall of the Safavids and the siege of Isfahan by the Afghans. According to the »FAZ«, Cheheltan proves himself to be a »master at letting his characters plunge into a modern no-man’s-land and confronting them with their untenability and naked carnality«. In »The Circle of Literature Lovers« [2020], Cheheltan reminisces about the evenings he spent in his parents’ house delving into classical Persian literature. Cheheltan describes the role of literature when life was under the spell of a repressive state and social constraints.

»A Love in Cairo« [2022] is about an Iranian ambassador in Cairo who falls in love with a Jewish woman who has converted to Islam. The novel examines the roots of the Middle East conflict.

Cheheltan has received numerus scholarships [DAAD, Heinrich Böll Foundation, Villa Aurora, Ledig House, and others] and was a board member of Iran Writers Association. He teaches creative writing, publishes regularly in newspapers, and now lives with his wife in Tehran.

Date: 2022

22. ilb 07. - 17.09.2022

Amir Hassan Cheheltan

Amir Hassan Cheheltan wurde 1956 in Teheran geboren. Bereits während seines Studiums der Elektrotechnik machte er sich mit seinem zweiten Erzählband einen Namen als Schriftsteller. Nach der Islamischen Revolution ging er zum Abschluss seines Studiums nach Großbritannien.

Während des Iran-Irak-Kriegs, zu dem er nach seiner Rückkehr einberufen worden war, verfasste er seinen ersten Roman »Rouse-ye Qāsem« [Ü: Die Klage um Qassem]. Das Buch durfte erst zwanzig Jahre später, 2003, erscheinen. Ein Stipendium des internationalen Schriftstellerparlaments ermöglichte ihm 1999 die Flucht vor einer Welle der Gewalt gegen Intellektuelle im Iran, und er lebte zwei Jahre in Italien.

Cheheltan veröffentlichte zahlreiche Romane, die in beständiger Auseinandersetzung mit den Zensurbehörden verschiedene Verbote und Neuerscheinungen erlebten und von denen viele ins Englische, Deutsche, Italienische, Norwegische, Litauische, Arabische oder Hebräische übersetzt wurden. Darin thematisiert er den Alltag im Iran vor dem Hintergrund der wechselhaften Geschichte und des Zusammenspiels von Religion, Staat und Moderne. »Tehran, schahr-e bi-āsemān« [2001; dt. »Teheran, Stadt ohne Himmel«, 2012] erzählt die Geschichte vom Aufstieg des brutalen Handlangers eines Bordellbesitzers zum Kaufmann, der die Islamische Revolution unterstützt und am Schwarzhandel verdient. »Sepidedame irāni« [2005, dt. »Iranische Dämmerung«, 2015] handelt von einem iranischen Kommunisten, der in die Sowjetunion emigriert. Gegen den Willen des Autors wurde dieser Roman für den Staatlichen Buchpreis nominiert.

»Achlāgh-e mardom-e chiābān-e enghelāb« [dt. »Teheran. Revolutionsstraße«, 2009] ist Cheheltans erstes in deutscher Übersetzung erschienenes Werk. Protagonist ist ein zwielichtiger Hymenoplastiker. Der Riss zwischen Tradition und Moderne, der den Iran durchzieht, geht auch durch die Klinik, in der mit chirurgischen Mitteln die Spuren vorehelichen Geschlechtsverkehrs beseitigt werden, um einem überkommenen Ehrbegriff Genüge zu leisten. In seinem historischen Roman »Der Kalligraph von Isfahan« [2015], der im Jahr 1722 angesiedelt ist und von der endenden Herrschaft der Safawiden sowie der Belagerung von Isfahan durch die Afghanen erzählt, zeigt sich Cheheltan als »Meister darin, seine Figuren in ein moralisches Niemandsland laufen zu lassen und sie mit ihrer Haltlosigkeit und nackten Fleischlichkeit zu konfrontieren« [»FAZ«]. In »Der Zirkel der Literaturliebhaber« [2020] erinnert sich Cheheltan an die Literaturabende im Haus seiner Eltern mit ihren Exkursen in die klassische persische Literatur. Er schildert die Rolle der Literatur, wenn das Leben im Bann eines repressiven Staates und gesellschaftlicher Zwänge steht.

Sein jüngster Roman »Eine Liebe in Kairo« [2022] spielt diesmal nicht im Iran, sondern erzählt vom iranischen Botschafter in Kairo, der sich in eine zum Islam konvertierte Jüdin verliebt. Der Roman beleuchtet zudem die Wurzeln des Nahost-Konflikts.

Cheheltan erhielt zahlreiche Stipendien [DAAD, Heinrich-Böll-Stiftung, Villa Aurora, Ledig House u. a.] und war Vorstandsmitglied der Iranischen Schriftstellervereinigung. Er unterrichtet Kreatives Schreiben, veröffentlicht regelmäßig in internationalen Zeitungen und lebt heute mit seiner Frau in Teheran.

Stand: 2022