23. ilb 06. - 16.09.2023

Alvin Pang

Alvin Pang, born 1972, is an author, poet, translator, editor and essayist whose writing has been published worldwide in more than twenty languages, including Swedish, Macedonian, Croatian and Slovene. A Fellow of the Iowa International Writing Program, he has appeared in the »Oxford Companion to Modern Poetry in English« (2nd Edition, 2013), and the »Penguin Book of the Prose Poem« (2018). Pang was Singapore’s Young Artist of the Year (Literature) in 2005. For his national and international contributions, he was also conferred the Singapore Youth Award (Arts and Culture) in 2007, and the JCCI Foundation Education Award in 2008. He was a founder and coordinator of WORDFEAST 2004, Singapore’s first international poetry festival.

A consulting editor with over 12 years’ experience leading research and practitioner-oriented publications, particularly in the public sector, Pang is Editor-in-Chief of the public policy journal »Ethos«. Among other appointments, he also sits on the advisory boards of the International Poetry Studies Institute, and »Rabbit« journal for non-fiction poetry. As a literary editor, he has curated several seminal anthologies of Singaporean literature, beginning with »No Other City« an Anthology of Urban Poetry in 2000. In 2002 he published »Love Gathers All«, an anthology of love poems between Singapore and the Philippines in collaboration with a quartet of bilateral editors. The anthology was awarded the Global Filipino Literary Award for Poetry. Pang also curated an anthology of the poetry of Singapore and Australia, »Over There« (2008), with John Kinsella, and a bilingual anthology of works by Italian and Singaporean poets entitled »Double Skin« (2009) with Tiziano Fratus. In 2009, he curated »Tumasik«, an anthology of Contemporary Writing from Singapore. He also co-edited »Union«: a collaboration between writers in Singapore and the US, in 2015.

His own volumes of creative work include: »City of Rain« (2003), »When the Barbarians Arrive« (2012), »What Happened: Poems 1997–2017« (2017), and the chapbook of poetic prose portraits, »What Gives Us Our Names« (2011), which has sold over 12,000 copies in Singapore. Alvin’s latest book is »Uninterrupted Time« (2019).

Pang completed a PhD in Creative Writing Practice with RMIT University in 2020. He is currently working on a volume of non-fiction vignettes, and a novel exploring oceanic perspectives on desire, language, memory and confluent futures.

 

Watch Alvin Pang and Yvonne Adhiambo Owuor at the 20th ilb on our YouTube-Channel: https://youtu.be/vCyTbutwCfo

22. ilb 07. - 17.09.2022

Alvin Pang

Alvin Pang, 1972 geboren, ist Schriftsteller, Dichter, Übersetzer, Herausgeber und Essayist, dessen Werke weltweit in mehr als zwanzig Sprachen publiziert wurden, u. a. in Schwedisch, Mazedonisch, Kroatisch und Slowenisch. Fellow beim International Writing Program der University of Iowa, wurde er in den »Oxford Companion to Modern Poetry in English« (2. Aufl., 2013) und das »Penguin Book of the Prose Poem« (2018) aufgenommen. Er war Young Artist of the Year (Literature) in Singapur 2005 und wurde für seine nationalen und internationalen Verdienste mit dem Singapore Youth Award (Arts and Culture) 2007 und dem JCCI Foundation Education Award 2008 ausgezeichnet. 2004 gründete er WORDFEAST, das erste internationale Poesiefestival Singapurs.

Mit über zwölf Jahren Erfahrung als beratender Herausgeber im Bereich Forschungs- und praxisorientierter Publikationen, vor allem im öffentlichen Sektor, ist er Chefredakteur der Fachzeitschrift »Ethos« und sitzt u. a. im Beirat des International Poetry Studies Institute sowie der Zeitschrift für Non-Fiction-Dichtung »Rabbit«. Als literarischer Herausgeber hat er mehrere einflussreiche Anthologien mit Literatur aus Singapur verantwortet, beginnend mit der Urban-Poetry-Anthologie »No Other City« (2000; Ü: Keine andere Stadt). 2002 veröffentlichte er in Zusammenarbeit mit einem Quartett bilateraler Redakteur*innen »Love Gathers All« (Ü: Liebe vereint alles), eine Anthologie von Liebesgedichten zwischen Singapur und den Philippinen, die mit dem Global Filipino Literary Award for Poetry ausgezeichnet wurde. Außerdem gab Pang mit John Kinsella eine Anthologie der Lyrik Singapurs und Australiens »Over There« (2008; Ü: Da drüben) sowie mit Tiziano Fratus eine zweisprachige Anthologie mit Werken italienischer und singapurischer Dichter »Double Skin« (2009; Ü: Zweite Haut) heraus. 2009 erschien auch die Anthologie »Tumasik« mit zeitgenössischer Dichtung aus Singapur, 2015 war er Mitherausgeber von »Union« mit singapurischen und US-amerikanischen Autor*innen.

Zu seinen eigenen schriftstellerischen Arbeiten zählen »City of Rain« (2003; Ü: Stadt des Regens), »When the Barbarians Arrive« (2012; Ü: Wenn die Barbaren kommen), »What Happened: Poems 1997–2017« (2017; Ü: Was passiert ist. Gedichte 1997–2017) und das Heft »What Gives Us Our Names« (2011; Ü: Was uns unsere Namen gibt) mit lyrischen Prosaporträts, das sich mehr als 12 000 Mal in Singapur verkauft hat. Zuletzt erschien »Uninterrupted Time« (2019; Ü: Ununterbrochene Zeit).

Pang erwarb 2020 einen Doktortitel in Creative Writing Practice der RMIT University. Gegenwärtig arbeitet er an einem Band mit Non-Fiction-Vignetten und an einem Roman, mit dem er die ozeanischen Blickwinkel auf Sehnsucht, Sprache, Erinnerung und konfluente Zukunftsperspektiven auslotet.

Unter folgendem Link können Sie sich die Veranstaltung mit Alvin Pang und Yvonne Adhiambo Owuor auf dem 20. ilb auf unserem YouTube-Kanal ansehen: https://youtu.be/vCyTbutwCfo