23. ilb 06. – 16.09.2023

Abdulrazak Gurnah

Portrait Abdulrazak Gurnah
Abdulrazak Gurnah [© Mark Pringle]

Abdulrazak Gurnah was born in Zanzibar [now Tanzania] in 1948. He went to Great Britain at the age of eighteen after the Zanzibar Revolution in 1964. He first studied at Christ Church College in Canterbury and then at the University of Kent, where he earned his doctorate in 1982 with a thesis on West African literature. He taught at Bayero University Kano in Nigeria from 1980 until 1983, when he became Professor of English and Postcolonial Literature at the University of Kent.

Gurnah began writing after his relocation to Britain. Homesick, he first noted down his thoughts in a diary, then his reflections developed into fictional stories, which eventually became his first novel, »Memory of Departure« [1987]. This novel set the thematic tone of his subsequent texts – the confrontation with the traumas of colonialism, war, and expulsion. He made English his literary language, but also integrated Swahili, Arabic, and German into his texts. His stories are often set on the coast of East Africa, his protagonists often uprooted and lonely.

The plot of »Paradise« [1994] is set in East Africa at the end of the 19th century. In the coming-of-age story, twelve-year-old Yusuf, named after the prophet Yusuf in the Koran, is sent to live with an uncle in the city after his father falls into debt. He tries to make his way in the subtle mix of African Muslims, Christian missionaries, and Indian moneylenders. Returning from a risky caravan journey, he is finally confronted with a new reality – German colonial rule. Gurnah’s novel »By the Sea« [2001] is a story of love and betrayal, of loss of home, and of foreignness: two men from Zanzibar who have sought asylum in Great Britain and whose families were involved in a decades-long exhausting dispute over a house in their homeland exchange memories from their youth and flight and attempt to reconcile. Gurnah’s latest novel »Afterlives« [2020] tells the story of three young people, who fight for their integrity in the shadow of a colonial world order. Discriminately, Abdulrazak Gurnah sheds light on the role of German settlers and soldiers in the colonization of East Africa.

Gurnah was elected a Fellow of the Royal Society of Literature in 2006, was nominated several times for the Booker Prize, and received the Nobel Prize in Literature in 2021 »for his uncompromising and compassionate penetration of the effects of colonialism and the fate of the refugee in the gulf between cultures and continents«. The author lives in Canterbury.

Date: 2022

23. ilb 06. - 16.09.2023

Abdulrazak Gurnah

Abdulrazak Gurnah wurde 1948 in Sansibar [dem heutigen Tansania] geboren. Mit achtzehn Jahren floh er während der Sansibar-Revolution nach Großbritannien. Dort studierte er zunächst am Christ Church College in Canterbury und dann an der University of Kent, wo er sich 1982 mit einer Arbeit über westafrikanische Literatur promovierte. Von 1980 bis 1983 lehrte er an der Bayero University Kano in Nigeria, dann wurde er Professor für Englische und Postkoloniale Literatur an der University of Kent.

Mit dem Schreiben begann Gurnah nach seiner Übersiedlung nach Großbritannien. Aus Heimweh notierte er zunächst seine Gedanken in einem Tagebuch, dann entwickelten sich seine Reflexionen zu fiktiven Geschichten, aus denen schließlich sein erster Roman »Memory of Departure« [1987] entstand. Bereits hier schlägt er das Thema aller folgenden Werke an – die Auseinandersetzung mit den Traumata von Kolonialismus, Krieg und Vertreibung. Dabei machte er das Englische zur Sprache seiner Literatur, integrierte jedoch auch Suaheli, Arabisch und Deutsch in seine Texte. Vielfach sind seine Geschichten an der Küste Ostafrikas angesiedelt, seine Protagonisten oft entwurzelt und einsam.

Die Handlung von »Paradise« [1994; dt. »Das verlorene Paradies«, 1996/2021] spielt in Ostafrika Ende des 19. Jahrhunderts. In der Coming-of-Age-Geschichte wird der zwölfjährige Yusuf, benannt nach dem Propheten Yusuf im Koran, zu einem »Onkel« in die Stadt geschickt, da sein Vater sich verschuldet hat. In der fein abgestuften Gemengelage aus afrikanischen Muslimen, christlichen Missionaren und indischen Geldverleihern versucht er sich zurechtzufinden. Zurückgekehrt von einer riskanten Karawanenreise, wird er schließlich mit einer neuen Realität konfrontiert – der deutschen Kolonialherrschaft. Gurnahs Roman »By the Sea« [2001; dt. »Ferne Gestade«, 2002] ist eine Geschichte über Liebe und Verrat, über Heimatverlust und Fremdheit: Zwei Männer aus Sansibar, die in Großbritannien Asyl gesucht haben und deren Familien in der Heimat in einen jahrzehntelangen zermürbenden Streit um ein Haus verwickelt waren, tauschen Erinnerungen an ihre Jugend und die Flucht aus und bemühen sich um eine Versöhnung. Gurnahs jüngster Roman »Afterlives« [2020; dt. »Nachleben«, 2022] erzählt die Geschichte von drei jungen Menschen, die im Schatten der kolonialen Weltordnung um ihre Unversehrtheit kämpfen. Differenziert beleuchtet Abdulrazak Gurnah dabei auch die Rolle deutscher Siedler und Soldaten bei der Kolonialisierung Ostafrikas.

Gurnah wurde 2006 zum Fellow der Royal Society of Literature gewählt, war mehrfach für den Booker Prize nominiert und erhielt 2021 den Nobelpreis für Literatur »für sein kompromissloses und mitfühlendes Durchdringen der Auswirkungen des Kolonialismus und des Flüchtlingsschicksals in der Kluft zwischen Kulturen und Kontinenten«. Der Autor lebt in Canterbury.

Stand: 2022