23. ilb 06. – 16.09.2023

Abdellatif Laâbi

Abdellatif Laâbi was born in Fez, Morocco in 1942. He grew up speaking Arabic and at school learned the language of the French colonialist rulers, from whom the country gained its independence in 1956. He then studied Romance language and literature in Rabat, where he later worked as a French teacher and took an active part in the political as well as literary shaping of the recently regained national freedom.

Already as a student he was co-founder of a university theatre and he later joined various left-wing parties. Above all, Laâbi is known for co-founding the cultural and political journal »Souffles« in 1966. Through its strong renunciation of all ideological dogmas and established literary forms, it paved the way for new influences and lent a voice to young writers such as Abdelkebir Khatibi, Tahar Ben Jelloun and Rachid Boudjedra. As a forum for cultural revival within the Arabic realm »Souffles« found a readership beyond the borders of its country and influenced a whole generation of writers, artists and intellectuals. Following the publication of the first twenty-two editions in French and bilingually, the newspaper was published under the name »Anfas« and featured texts only in Arabic. It was banned in 1972 and Laâbi, due to his political stance, was imprisoned, tortured and sentenced to ten years imprisonment. Even during this time he published »L’arbre de fer fleurit« (1974; t: The iron tree blooms) and »Le Règne de barbarie« (1976; t: The cruel rule), poems he smuggled out from the jail in Kénitra. In 1978 a selection of letters written in prison, »Chroniques de la citadelle d’exil« (t: Chronicles of the citadel of exile; an extended version appeared in 1983), was published. After eight years Laâbi was finally released thanks to international protests. His early years of freedom are described in the novel »Le Chemin des ordalies« (1982; t: The road of ordeals). Laâbi has been living in France since 1985, working as a freelance writer and translator. He has written a number of collections of poems as well as several novels, plays and books for young readers. Works translated into German include the collection of poems »Die Sonne stirbt« (2000; »Le Soleil se meurt«, 1992) and »Die Umarmung der Welt« (2002; »L’Etreinte du monde«, 1993 and »Le Spleen de Casablanca«, 1996), poetry that is unpretentious, rhymeless and rich in imagery, whose softness and irony resolutely defend the dream of human dignity against barbaric forces.

Laâbi was made Commandeur of the Ordre des Arts et des Lettres in 1985. He is a member of the Académie Mallarmé and has a seat on the board of the Maison des écrivains. Among his many awards are the Prix de la liberté of French PEN, the Fonlon Nichols Prize of the African Literature Association, the Prix de poésie Wallonie-Bruxelles, the Prix Albert Droin of the Société des gens de lettres de France and the Prix de l’Afrique méditerranéenne de l’ADELF. Laâbi lives in Créteil, near Paris.

© international literature festival berlin

23. ilb 06. – 16.09.2023

Abdellatif Laâbi

Abdellatif Laâbi wurde 1942 im marokkanischen Fès geboren. Mit dem Arabischen aufgewachsen, lernte er in der Schule die Sprache der französischen Kolonialherren, die 1956 das Land in die Unabhängigkeit entließen. Laâbi studierte Romanistik in Rabat, wo er später als Französischlehrer arbeitete, und beteiligte sich politisch wie literarisch intensiv an der Gestaltung der wiedergewonnenen nationalen Freiheit.

Bereits als Student war er Mitbegründer eines universitären Theaters. Später gehörte er verschiedenen linken Parteien an. Bekannt ist Laâbi vor allem durch die Mitbegründung der kulturpolitischen Zeitschrift »Souffles« im Jahr 1966. In dezidierter Abkehr von jedem ideologischen Dogmatismus und den etablierten Formen der Literatur öffnete sie sich für neue Einflüsse und verlieh jungen Autoren wie Abdelkebir Khatibi, Tahar Ben Jelloun und Rachid Boudjedra erstmals eine Stimme. Als Forum einer kulturellen Erneuerung im arabischen Raum fand »Souffles« über die Landesgrenzen hinaus Gehör und beeinflusste eine ganze Generation von Schriftstellern, Künstlern und Intellektuellen. Nach 22 erst französisch-, dann zweisprachigen Ausgaben veröffentlichte die Zeitung unter dem arabischen Namen »Anfas« schließlich nur noch Texte auf Arabisch. 1972 wurde sie verboten, Laâbi aufgrund seiner politischen Haltung verhaftet, gefoltert und zu einem zehnjährigen Freiheitsentzug verurteilt. Aus dem Gefängnis von Kénitra geschmuggelte Gedichte erschienen noch während seiner Haft unter den Titeln »L’arbre de fer fleurit« (1974; Ü: Der Eisenbaum blüht) und »Le Règne de barbarie« (1976; Ü: Das Reich der Barbarei). 1978 erschien eine Auswahl seiner Briefe aus dem Gefängnis, »Chroniques de la citadelle d’exil« (Ü: Chronik aus der Zitadelle des Exils; erweiterte Fassung 1983). Nach acht Jahren wurde Laâbi aufgrund internationaler Proteste freigelassen. Die erste Zeit in Freiheit schildert seine Erzählung »Le Chemin des ordalies« (1982; dt. »Kerkermeere«, 1990). Seit 1985 lebt er als freier Schriftsteller und Übersetzer in Frankreich. Er verfasste zahlreiche Lyrikbände und mehrere Romane, Theaterstücke und Bücher für junge Leser. Ins Deutsche übersetzt wurden die Gedichtsammlungen »Die Sonne stirbt« (2000; OT: »Le Soleil se meurt«, 1992) und »Die Umarmung der Welt« (2002; OT: »L’Etreinte du monde«, 1993, und »Le Spleen de Casablanca«, 1996), unprätentiöse, bildreiche, reimlose Lyrik, die mit Sanftheit und Ironie den Traum der menschlichen Würde gegen die Kräfte der Barbarei entschieden verteidigt.

Laâbi wurde 1985 zum Commandeur des Ordre des Arts et des Lettres ernannt. Er ist Mitglied der Académie Mallarmé und hat einen Sitz im Vorstand der Maison des écrivains. Unter seinen Auszeichnungen sind der Prix de la liberté des französischen PEN, der Fonlon Nichols Prize der African Literature Association, der Prix de poésie Wallonie-Bruxelles, der Prix Albert Droin der Société des gens de lettres de France und der Prix de l’Afrique méditerranéenne de l’ADELF. Laâbi lebt in Créteil bei Paris.

©  internationales literaturfestival berlin