23. ilb 06. – 16.09.2023

Patrick Ness

Born in the US, Patrick Ness, moved to the UK in 1999. He is the author of two novels and a short story collection for adults, and five novels for young adults.

His »Chaos Walking« trilogy (»The Knife of Never Letting Go«, 2008, »The Ask and the Answer«, 2009, »Monsters of Men«, 2010) has won the Guardian Children’s Fiction Prize, the Costa Children’s Book Awards, the Booktrust Teenage Prize and the Carnegie Medal. His novel »A Monster Calls« (2011) won him a second Carnegie Medal in a row and also won the Deutschen Jugendliteraturpreis.

His most recent novel for adults »The Crane Wife« and his most recent novel for young adults »More Than This« were published in 2013.

He has written the screenplay for »A Monster Calls«, which begins production in September 2014, directed by J. A. Bayona (»The Orphange«, »The Impossible«) and starring Liam Neeson as the Monster.


The Crash of Hennington

Fourth Estate

London, 2014

(originally published 2003)

Topics About Which I Know Nothing

Fourth Estate

London, 2014

(originally published 2004)

The Knife of Never Letting Go


London, 2008

The Ask and the Answer


London, 2009

Monsters of Men


London, 2010