24th ilb
5 – 14 Sep 2024 Program
9 – 18 Sep 2024 Young Program

Christoph Rieger appointed to the jury of the German Children´s Literature Award

© Sydney Smith / AKJ
© Sydney Smith / AKJ

Christoph Rieger, head of the International Children´s and Youth Literature section of the international literature festival berlin since 2011, was appointed to the special jury of the German Children´s Literature Award 2022 by Franziska Giffey, then Federal Minister for Family Affairs, Senior Citizens, Women and Youth and now Governing Mayor of Berlin. Together with graphic designer, illustrator and author Rotraut Susanne Berner and Dr. Kirsten Winderlich, Professor of Aesthetic Education in Childhood at the Berlin University of the Arts, Rieger will decide on the winners in the illustration category. The illustration prizes are awarded for a lifetime achievement (endowment: 12,000 euros) and for a new talent (endowment: 10,000 euros). The winners in both categories will be announced on October 21, 2022. The New Talent shortlist will be announced on March 17, 2022. The German Children´s Literature Award is the only German state prize for literature.