23. ilb 06. – 16.09.2023
Portrait Salman Rushdie
© Hartwig Klappert

Salman Rushdie


Salman Rushdie is the author of twelve novels, »Grimus«, »Midnight’s Children« (which won the Booker Prize in 1981), »Shame«, »The Satanic Verses«, »Haroun and the Sea of Stories«, »The Moor’s Last Sigh«, »The Ground Beneath Her Feet«, »Fury«, »Shalimar the Clown«, »The Enchantress of Florence«, »Luka and the Fire of Life« and »The Golden House«, and »Quichotte«, an homage to Cervantes. He has also written short story collections, non-fiction books, as well as his memoirs entitled »Joseph Anton«.

A Fellow of the British Royal Society of Literature, Rushdie has received, among many other honors, the Whitbread Prize for Best Novel, the Writers’ Guild Award, the James Tait Black Prize, and the European Union Aristeion Prize for Literature. Rushdie was Author of the Year in both the United Kingdom and Germany and received the French Prix du Meilleur Livre Étranger, the Budapest Grand Prize for Literature, the Premio Grinzane Cavour in Italy, the Crossword Book Award in India, the Austrian State Prize for European Literature, the London International Writers’ Award, the James Joyce award of University College Dublin, the St Louis Literary Prize, the Carl Sandburg Prize of the Chicago Public Library, the Freedom of the City Award in Mexico City, Strasbourg, und El Paso, as well as the Edgerton Prize of the American Civil Liberties Union und a U.S. National Arts Award. He holds honorary doctorates and fellowships at six European and six American universities, and is an Honorary Professor in the Humanities at M.I.T. and University Distinguished Professor at Emory University. He holds the rank of Commandeur in the Ordre des Arts et des Lettres. From 2004 to 2006 he served as President of the PEN American Center, and also helped to establish the PEN World Voices International Literary Festival. He has been a member of the American Academy of Arts and Letters since 2008 and was named a Library Lion of the New York Public Library.

Salman Rushdie is also co-editor of the anthology of modern Indian literature »Mirrorwork« and the collection »Best American Short Stories« (2008). His works have been translated into over forty languages. In 2004, the opera »Haroun and the Sea of Stories« premiered at the New York City Opera at Lincoln Center. »Midnight’s Children« was named Best of the Booker as the best winning title in the forty-year history of the literature prize, staged by the Royal Shakespeare Company in London and New York, and was shown in cinemas in 2012 under the direction of Deepa Mehta. The screenplay was written by the author himself.


München, 1983
[Ü: Karin Graf]

Die Satanischen Verse
Artikel 19 Verlag
Hamburg, 1989

Shalimar der Narr
Reinbek, 2006
[Ü: Bernhard Robben]

Die bezaubernde Florentinerin
Reinbek, 2009
[Ü: Bernhard Robben]

Luka und das Lebensfeuer
Reinbek, 2011
[Ü: Bernhard Robben]

Joseph Anton
Die Autobiografie
C. Bertelsmann
München, 2012
[Ü: Bernhard Robben u. Verena von Koskull]

Zwei Jahre, acht Monate und achtundzwanzig Nächte
C. Bertelsmann
München, 2015
[Ü: Sigrid Ruschmeier]

Golden House
C. Bertelsmann
München, 2017
[Ü.: Sabine Herting]

C. Bertelsmann
München, 2019
[Ü.: Sabine Herting]