23. ilb 06. – 16.09.2023

Floortje Zwigtman

Floortje Zwigtman was born in 1974 in Terneuzen in the Netherlands, and was already a talented storyteller as a child, whose tales delighted her friends and relatives. Although she also has a passion for illustration, she decided to focus on a career as a writer.

Zwigtman has to date published 11 books, of which five have been translated into German. Her début was the historical young adult novel »Spelregels« (2001; t: The Rules of the Game) followed shortly by »Wolfsroedel« (2002; t: Wolf pack). »Wolfsrudel« is set in 19th century Romania, and is the story of the farm boy Ion, who, together with his friends, joins a gang of robbers called the »wolf pack«. The author interlaces this plot with the history of the 15th century Romanian noble brothers, Radu cel Frumos und Vlad III. Drăculea. Zwigtman dances between the centuries with virtuoso control, joining the thrilling stories and ignoring typical genre restrictions, making »Wolfsroedel« a furious melange of gripping adventure novel, complex historical fiction and over-the-top horror fairytale. With this book Floortje Zwigtman managed »a real narrative coup,« according to »Die Welt«. Her real breakthrough in the German children’s book market came in 2005 with »Schijnbewegingen« (t: Tricks of the trade). This is the story of 16-year-old Adrian Mayfield, who came out in Victorian London in 1894 and has to struggle to find his own path in the artistic and intellectual circles surrounding Oscar Wilde. Floortje Zwigtman delights in throwing fictional and historical characters together in a historically accurate, precisely constructed and very atmospheric portrait of a long-gone age. In equal parts a coming-of-age novel and a fiction of society and history, the book earned Zwigtman the affectionate nickname »the female Charles Dickens«. Reviewers were also enchanted by the novel: »authentic and poetic, earthy and decadent« (»FAZ«), »a joy for the intellect and sense« (»Welt«), »confident style, powerful imagery, fascinating scenes« (»Süddeutsche Zeitung«). »Tegenspel« (2007, t: Antagonists) and »Spiegeljongen« (2010, t: The boy in the mirror) complete Floortje Zwigtman’s trilogy about Adrian Mayfield.

Floortje Zwigtman has received numerous awards for her literary work, including the Goldenen Eule, the Silver and the Gold Kiss, as well as a nomination for the German National Youth Literature Prize. Floortje Zwigtman lives in Middelburg.

© internationales literaturfestival berlin


Wie Sonne und Mond
Nagel und Kimche
Zürich, 2002
[Ü: Monica Barendrecht, Thomas Charpey]

Hildesheim, 2006
[Ü: Rolf Erdorf]

Ich, Adrian Mayfield
Hildesheim, 2008
[Ü: Rolf Erdorf]

Adrian Mayfield – Versuch einer Liebe
Hildesheim, 2009
[Ü: Rolf Erdorf]

Adrian Mayfield – Auf Leben und Tod
Hildesheim, 2011
[Ü: Rolf Erdorf]