23. ilb 06. – 16.09.2023
Portrait Adam Haslett
© Ali Ghandtschi

Adam Haslett

Adam Haslett, born in Rye, New York in 1970, is the author of the short story collection »You Are Not a Stranger Here« (2002) and the novel »Union Atlantic« (2009). His story collection was a finalist for a Pulitzer Prize and a National Book Award and was a »New York Times« Bestseller. In these nine stories, characters suffering from grief and loss seek human intimacy across the boundaries of fear and internal isolation. It was one of the most widely acclaimed debuts of that decade. His novel, »Union Atlantic«, centers on a conflict over a piece of land between a young banker, Doug Fanning, who is at the center of a financial scandal, and Charlotte Graves, a retired school teacher who is offended by his crass new mansion. The novel was finished the week that the financial crisis began, and is the portrait of the culture of impunity than led to the current recession. It was shortlisted for the Commonwealth Prize and received the Lambda Literary Award. Haslett’s two books have been translated into eighteen languages.
His journalism and fiction have appeared in »The Financial Times«, »Esquire«, »The New Yorker«, »The Nation«, and »The Atlantic Monthly«, among others. He has received fellowships from the Guggenheim Foundation, the Rockefeller Foundation, and the Fine Arts Work Center, and in 2006, he won the PEN/Malamud Award for accomplishment in short fiction. A graduate of Swarthmore College, the Iowa Writers’ Workshop, and Yale Law School, he has been a visiting professor at the Iowa Writers’ Workshop and Columbia University.
He is currently a fellow at the American Academy in Berlin, where he is working on his second novel. His permanent residence is in New York City.

© internationales literaturfestival berlin


Das Gespenst der Liebe
München, 2003
[Ü: Pocaio u. Roberto de Hollanda]
Taschenbuch u. d. T.

u. d. T. Hingabe
Rowohlt Taschenbuch
Reinbek b. Hamburg, 2010
[Ü: Pocaio u. Roberto de Hollanda]

Union Atlantic
Reinbek b. Hamburg, 2009
[Ü: Uda Strätling]